We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, Poor Security.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Econo Lodge & Suites
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Location, Poor Security.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stopped there for two days and found the location to be great for visting Jasper National Park and the Fishing areas around Hinton. Lots of shops and restaurants within easy walk or two minute drive. Reasonably priced and certainly more affordable than the accommodation costs in Jasper. I had a room in the back at ground level and this had a grassed area view with trees in the background. No noise problems. The room had a small Fridge and a Microwave Oven both of which I found usefull. Spare pillows made watching T.V. comfortable. Bedroom and bathroom/toilet were clean and well attired. Clothe hanging space was somewhat small but adequate drawers were provided. Reception Staff were polite and helpfull. The Continental Breakfast was quite adequate and had nicely laid out facilities. Security left a lot to be desired as the ground floor Exit Door (west end) was left unlocked day and night. On the second night of my stay the Parking Lot at the front of the building was quite full and I therefore chose to leave my vehicle in the S/W lot at the rear of the building which at that time was fully illuminated. I later found out that these lights were switched off in the early hours. As well, the security cameras were not working in this area. It would appear that some local Felons knew about these security weaknesses also. Enough said! Overall, the hotel would have earnt a better rating but I have to give it a failing grade due to my own personal losses.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davewall77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    50
    44
    21
    14
See reviews for
47
59
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I spent few nights in this hotel while vacationing in Jasper National Park. The room was clean, but the internet did not work except on hotel's desktop computer in lobby where people were gathering in line to check their emails. The Technitian seemed had no clue how to fix the problem, so all guests had to limit their internet use.
The bug screen on room window had big hole in the middle, so I had to put a folded napkin into it to prevent bugs to fly into the room. Such minor details usuall ruin a good impression of hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room with window looking to back of hotel: the front may be too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilko1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel was adequate for the price and well located. The breakfast had something for everyone. The staff was helpful in suggesting a good restaurant and gave us a map so we could find the beaver dams near by. We reserved 2 rooms, one with a king bed and another with 2 queens but were given 2 rooms with 2 queens, it wasn't a problem and the queen rooms actually cost more. One room faced the street and was a bit noisy but the other room faced the forested area in the back and was very quiet. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quieter. Visit the beaver dams in the evening, it was a hi-lite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We booked this hotel on Expedia. We did not get the room, with a kitchenette, as we were supposed to get. We could deal with this but the cockroach we found in the morning was a bit much. We were offered no compensation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerilync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hinton hotels

Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Breakfast did have hard boiled eggs which was nice and the hotel offered rags so we could clean our bike windshields. The room guide listed a pool and hot tub but it must have been mass produced, for when I asked the hotel staff where it was they made me feel like an idiot. The street noise was fairly loud and the bed was squeaky.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel is located on the main road in Hinton. Easy access and close to everything. However, there are no WiFi in the room and the lobby connection having problem. the front desk staffs are not knowledgeable about the issue; however, they are very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast is quite adequate for the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the back side away from the main highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeAt60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights while visiting Jasper, and found this hotel to be very satisfactory. The breakfast was much better than most Econo Lodges, with a decent selection of foods. The rooms were large and clean. The wifi was a little iffy, not working the second evening, but there was a decent lobby computer that was working.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hinton hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Hinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Hinton
Ramada Hinton
#6 of 17 in Hinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.2 mi away
BCMInns - Hinton
BCMInns - Hinton
#1 of 17 in Hinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Twin Pine Motor Inn
Twin Pine Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Hinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Hinton
Days Inn Hinton
#14 of 17 in Hinton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hinton
Holiday Inn Hinton
#4 of 17 in Hinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge & Suites
Address: 571 Gregg Ave, Hinton, Alberta T7V 1N1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Hinton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Black Bear Inn in Hinton, Alberta, we make it our job to ensure that you will wake up feeling refreshed when you stay in any of our 60 well-appointed rooms. We value the lifestyles that you are accustomed to and we have incorporated this in the design of our facilities. We are located in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, just 15 minutes from Jasper National Park and 3 hours from Edmonton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel
Econo Lodge & Suites Hinton, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing