We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ranchers The Great West Food - CLOSED

Ranchers The Great West Food
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Breakfast was good”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I have been there twice for breakfast. It was good. No problem here the waitress was a Pro and was friendly. I will be there tomorrow July 10/2014.

Helpful?
Thank Pearlieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“room for improvements”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

beans smelled like rotten eggs, meal took forever to arrive and order was incorrect, took nearly 15 minutes to pay for a group of six people (snail pace)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrace Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best eatery I have had on my travels.”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Homemade food, great portions, friendly staff and wonderful atmosphere. Pizza is the best! I travel through here several times a year and this is my favorite of all places to eat.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“frozen, reheated over priced”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

pedestrian! buffet is not sanitary, very humdrum and very pricey for the frozen, reheated, available at grocery stores type of food. The manager seems to have been in a bad mood with a waitress in the lounge when we were there and it made a very unpleasant atmosphere. won't go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Line B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Esthetically Pleasing / No Seasoning”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

The food looks nice because of the fresh vegetables and the main dishes are not greasy either, giving it a healthy appearance and mouth feel (I wish the same could be said for the other chinese restaurant in the valley, but that's another review). The fried appetizers, on the other hand, were dry, and everything we ordered came out pretty much tasteless. The beef has quite an odd taste to it and it surely can't be a flavour suited for any one wirh a decent pallet. All of the main courses, both ours and the ones around us seemed to be overwhelmed with a great volume of broccoli.

The service was slow and careless.

The restaurant's location is prime, situated right on HWY16 just as it begins to pass through Hinton on the way to wonderful Jasper National Park. There are many hotels within a short walk. While the interior is beatifully furnished, the exterior is very plain and may be easy to miss, or dismiss as just another hotel along the strip, if it wasn't for the simple signage out front.

It could have potential. All is not lost. Hopefully the owners can have the openness and clear vision that is required to change this place for the better. Obviously: happy, well-fed customers will come back - if they enjoy the service and the food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chefslagadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ranchers The Great West Food also viewed

 
Hinton, Canadian Rockies
Hinton, Canadian Rockies
 
Hinton, Canadian Rockies
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing