We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riverview & Main
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Canmore
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampshire Inn(Canmore)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akai Motel(Canmore)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
18
4
0
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
4
0
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssome great restaurantsmain streetb bdining tableliving roomhostsprivacyguests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Room was beautiful, comfortable bed, nice deck. Food.... Sad, insipid, disrepected. I could've had a better breakfast spending the night in the drunk tank in jail. Not entirely welcoming, but not unkind. If one is dedicating their interest and effort into running a bed and breakfast, please try harder.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayzues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverviewmain, Owner at Riverview & Main, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear Hayzues,
We deeply regret the experience you had with our breakfast. Our hot breakfasts change daily especially if you are staying with us for a few nights so as to not bore your tastebuds. Most breakfasts will include fresh home made bread and or home made pastries, fresh seasonal fruit from the market, eggs, and some sort of meat, with potatoes. Some days we will offer home made pancakes with maple syrup. We offer your choice of coffee or tea, and orange juice for beverages. We also try to accommodate any food allergies, or special requests from gluten free to vegetarian.
We apologize if this was not up to your standards, and welcome any recipies and or recommendations to spice up our menu.
Best Regards,
Riverview and Main B & B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We stayed at this B&B in Canmore, Alberta and were disappointed with it. The room was really pretty with an adjoining communal balcony and TV room. We stayed 4 nights and the hosts, Yuki and Peter Shimizu never once cleaned the bathroom or room or emptied the garbage. We ended up taking out our own garbage! On 2 occasions the supposed hot breakfast consisted of cold fried eggs, etc. They put the breakfast out before the guests hit the table so by the time we got there ( and we were there at the time we requested) some of the food was cold. Cold fried egg is gross!! Also, the host Peter seemed suspicious of us and watched over our shoulders as we filled out the guest registration form. They say they have been operating the b&b for 7 years. They live on the other side of the house and if you want to contact them you have to ring a bell on a table. One morning we had to contact Peter twice and he would answer "yes?' in a whiny voice, like he was fed up with us. They also have a jewellery cabinet above the dining table so we figure they want to get further money from the guests by hoping they will buy a piece of jewellery. There are no prices on the jewellery as we could see from the cabinet so I guess they are hoping for a good offer. Also the room and house was cool at night. They set the temperature at 18 degrees celsius. It is central heating that they control.There are also lots of signs all over the place telling guest what to do and what not to do. Sounds like they had a lot of trouble with other guests.

We would not stay here again unless we could not find other accomodation. We sure didn't enjoy getting served a cold breakfast by a grumpy host. Yuki was a bit more pleasant. We considered getting our own breakfast at one point but decided it was a bit more convenioent to have the breakfast there.

Room Tip: Shop around for a better deal.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverviewmain, Owner at Riverview & Main, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear Sheri S.,
We deeply regret the experience that you had with us. We try to operate in an environmentally friendly manor while respecting people’s privacy. If asked, we are more than happy to clean rooms, provide fresh towels and linen, or any other services that you may require. Breakfasts are served at the time requested by the guest and we can usually accomdodate any last minute changes within reason. In an effort to make you feel at home we have provided you with control of the thermostat in the B & B common room and extra blankets are provided upon request.
We appoligize if this wasn’t clearly communicated to you, if you have any other recommendations please let us know.
Best Regards,
Riverview & Main B & B Canmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

WE stayed at Riverview and Main B&B, which we found quite easily at a nice quiet end of Canmore, close to all shops and restaurants. Yuki and Peter, were very good hosts and prepared delicious breakfasts. The rooms were clean and bright, we had the back bedroom with the ensuite and my sister and bro-in-law had the front room, this room had a bathroom immediately outside their room, so privacy was not an issue. We were the only couples upstairs and there was a coffee and tea set up on the first landing which was handy, plus Yuki was available for any requests. There is a sitting room donstairs where we entered the house and we had use of the television and seating, it was very relaxing. We think Canmore is a good location to use as a base and go visit all of the surrounding sites. We wthought the B&B was good value and centrally located, but quiet to sleep at night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kipmunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I had the good luck to find this lovely Bed and Breakfast for a long weekend away with my sister last weekend. We were pleased with the location, the decor and most especially the food! We were made to feel like family when we were invited to partake of birthday cake during a celebration for a friend of the hosts who was celebrating her 80th birthday! Thank you. I want to thank you so much for a most enjoyable stay and I will recommend Riverview and Main to others for sure!

Room Tip: We had The Three Sisters room because it had two beds; if we came back, we would choose the ensuite room and share a bed - just because it faces the north and might be somewhat cooler when the temperatures are very high. However, things cooled off at night quickly.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I don't understand why there are not more great reviews of this lovely place.
We have just spent 5 days in the wonderful care of Yuki and Peter. It was great. We too stayed in the room described by the other reviewers. There is a walk-in wardrobe, excellent bathroom and a lovely balcony where you can sit and have a glass of wine and watch the sun set over the mountains. Perfect!

Downstairs, is a very comfortable lounge with TV and a dining area, facilties for making tea/coffee and microwave etc. for preparing meals if required. The breakfasts were different every day and just perfect with freshly baked bread and pasteries among the offerings. We noted that Yuki was able to cater for the special dietry needs of the other guests which was great.

The location is perfect, being 2 minutes stroll from the Main St. yet in a quiet location overlooking a small park and close to the river. Canmore itself is a lovely town and very convenient for visits to Banff and Lake Louise.

All in a wonderful stay, highly recommended. Thank you Yuki and Peter.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews