We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mountain getaway!”
Review of Riverview & Main

Riverview & Main
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverview & Main
Ranked #14 of 31 Canmore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We've stayed at this lovely B & B in both the winter and summer season. Perfect central location - very quiet and close to the walking path along the river. It is also an easy walk to interesting little shops and restaurants along Main Street.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable with great views. We particularly like the guest sitting area on the main level - an inviting place to relax beside the fireplace after a day of hiking or skiing.

Peter and Yuki are gracious and helpful hosts and are very knowledgeable about the area. They serve a delicious hot breakfast with freshly baked bread and rolls.

We like to hike and Yuki has given us great information about local hikes - even suggesting what wildflowers we might see in bloom on particular trails.

Definitely our 'go to' place when we want a mountain getaway!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank time2travel555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverviewmain, Owner at Riverview & Main, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear time2travel555,
We are so pleased that you enjoy your stays with us. Thank you for your lovely comments.
We are filled with gratitude, and look forward to seeing again.
Yuki & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Riverview & Main
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

We were so pleased to have experienced your friendly and helpful hospitality. The room was clean and had an awe inspiring view of the majestic mountains--the sun was shining and it took my breath away. Breakfast was good and well presented. We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this B&B. There were good walking trails close by and just a short walk to unique stores. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie1234-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverviewmain, Owner at Riverview & Main, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed staying our place. We work very hard to create friendly family home environment, and hope to provide a old fashion home cooking. We look forward seeing you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Enjoyed home cooked hot breakfast made from scratch.
All my family enjoyed staing there,and relaxed ourselves.Totally separate entrance and the guests living room with a fire place,the guests are able to sit on big sofa and enjoy themselves.
Very Good!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoshi55mizu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverviewmain, Owner at Riverview & Main, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

Thank you very much for your comments!
We are happy that we are able to provide relaxed stay. We work hard to accomodate everyone's needs to be met. And your comment give us encouragement to keep running business. Thank you again!! YS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Stayed here for a night and found the room to be really nice, clean and pretty and centrally located. There was a door in the room leading to the outdoor communal patio area with patio chairs overlooking a park and super mountain views.
There were a couple of stale chocolate mints in a dish in the room on arrival and the white barcalounger in the room had pale stains on it (looked like sweat stains). The bathroom was shared (not in the room) but it was clean and adequae.
Breakfast was awful! Way worse than insipid. The coffee tasted sour and what tasted and looked like homemade thick slices of bread was served along with eggs and fruit. I tried a slice of cinammon flavored bread and when I bit into it there was a huge clump of hair in it which I promptly spit out into a napkin and tossed away.It was gross beyond words! The other slice of bread, and I kid you not, tasted like puke! It must have had some kind of sour milk or cheese in it. This was tossed into the nearby wastebasket as well.
The breakfast was a real turn off and put a real damper on my stay. I wonder how a large clump of hair got into a slice of bread. Don't recommend this place, if for the breakfast alone. Better to eat breakfast at one of the local cafes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverviewmain, Owner at Riverview & Main, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Dear Marcy,

We are very sad to read that your stay was not a favorable one.

Here at Riverview and Main Bed and Breakfast we strive to provide clean rooms, a relaxing and comfortable experience, and delicious home made hot breakfasts. We make all of our bread and hot breakfasts in our kitchen with a scarf around our heads and wear aprons at all times so as to keep hairs out of the food. We also change menus according to food allergies, sensitivities, and requests.

We regret that your breakfast was not up to our high standards. We would have been very happy and prompt to change your coffee and bread if we had known of your complaints during your meal.

We would like to add we only had one couple stay with us in all of December 2012 and the food that was described was not served that month as they had other dietary requests.

Best Regards,
Riverview and Main B and B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is a find: We had a large, clean, attractive room with a queen bed (comfortable mattress) and a private “ensuite” bath. Breakfast was good – fruit, rolls, eggs, bacon, etc., served hot and with friendly old-fashioned politeness by Japanese owners Yuki and Peter. I am baffled by otherwise comments. No nighttime noise from the highway or trains, since the house is on the other side of town. There is a private TV/sitting/breakfast room downstairs for the use of guests. Yuki has lots of information on the area which she is generous about sharing. It is a 1½ hour drive to the Calgary airport. On our last morning, we had to leave at 7am and thus miss breakfast – Yuki packed some sandwiches, etc., for us to take, which was very nice.

The town of Banff is hyped because it is in the national park, but, frankly, we found it crowded and overpriced. Canmore is 20 minutes away, just outside the park. Our room, in August 2012, was $135/night, with no taxes. We stayed here at the beginning and at the end of our trip. The local Safeway has everything you want at good prices; we stocked up at the start. And Canmore has some great restaurants and shopping. For us, it was ideal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverviewmain, Owner at Riverview & Main, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

We are delighted that you had a nice stay. Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate it. It was very lovely to meet you and we hope to see you again.
Peter & Yuki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Room was beautiful, comfortable bed, nice deck. Food.... Sad, insipid, disrepected. I could've had a better breakfast spending the night in the drunk tank in jail. Not entirely welcoming, but not unkind. If one is dedicating their interest and effort into running a bed and breakfast, please try harder.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayzues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverviewmain, Owner at Riverview & Main, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear Hayzues,
We deeply regret the experience you had with our breakfast. Our hot breakfasts change daily especially if you are staying with us for a few nights so as to not bore your tastebuds. Most breakfasts will include fresh home made bread and or home made pastries, fresh seasonal fruit from the market, eggs, and some sort of meat, with potatoes. Some days we will offer home made pancakes with maple syrup. We offer your choice of coffee or tea, and orange juice for beverages. We also try to accommodate any food allergies, or special requests from gluten free to vegetarian.
We apologize if this was not up to your standards, and welcome any recipies and or recommendations to spice up our menu.
Best Regards,
Riverview and Main B & B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We stayed at this B&B in Canmore, Alberta and were disappointed with it. The room was really pretty with an adjoining communal balcony and TV room. We stayed 4 nights and the hosts, Yuki and Peter Shimizu never once cleaned the bathroom or room or emptied the garbage. We ended up taking out our own garbage! On 2 occasions the supposed hot breakfast consisted of cold fried eggs, etc. They put the breakfast out before the guests hit the table so by the time we got there ( and we were there at the time we requested) some of the food was cold. Cold fried egg is gross!! Also, the host Peter seemed suspicious of us and watched over our shoulders as we filled out the guest registration form. They say they have been operating the b&b for 7 years. They live on the other side of the house and if you want to contact them you have to ring a bell on a table. One morning we had to contact Peter twice and he would answer "yes?' in a whiny voice, like he was fed up with us. They also have a jewellery cabinet above the dining table so we figure they want to get further money from the guests by hoping they will buy a piece of jewellery. There are no prices on the jewellery as we could see from the cabinet so I guess they are hoping for a good offer. Also the room and house was cool at night. They set the temperature at 18 degrees celsius. It is central heating that they control.There are also lots of signs all over the place telling guest what to do and what not to do. Sounds like they had a lot of trouble with other guests.

We would not stay here again unless we could not find other accomodation. We sure didn't enjoy getting served a cold breakfast by a grumpy host. Yuki was a bit more pleasant. We considered getting our own breakfast at one point but decided it was a bit more convenioent to have the breakfast there.

Room Tip: Shop around for a better deal.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverviewmain, Owner at Riverview & Main, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear Sheri S.,
We deeply regret the experience that you had with us. We try to operate in an environmentally friendly manor while respecting people’s privacy. If asked, we are more than happy to clean rooms, provide fresh towels and linen, or any other services that you may require. Breakfasts are served at the time requested by the guest and we can usually accomdodate any last minute changes within reason. In an effort to make you feel at home we have provided you with control of the thermostat in the B & B common room and extra blankets are provided upon request.
We appoligize if this wasn’t clearly communicated to you, if you have any other recommendations please let us know.
Best Regards,
Riverview & Main B & B Canmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
1.8 mi away
Monarch Bed & Breakfast
Monarch Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 31 in Canmore
4 reviews
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canmore Crossing
Canmore Crossing
#10 of 23 in Canmore
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paintbox Lodge
Paintbox Lodge
#1 of 31 in Canmore
262 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Howling Wolf
The Howling Wolf
#4 of 31 in Canmore
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview & Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview & Main

Address: 918 Main St, Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing