We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and cozy mountain retreat”
Review of Riverview & Main

Riverview & Main
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverview & Main
Ranked #15 of 31 Canmore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Our stay at Riverview and Main B & B was very comfortable and relaxing with evenings by the fire and a delicious and hearty breakfast every morning. Thank you to Peter and Yuki for their wonderful hospitality and beautiful accommodation. The attention to detail was excellent and advice on attractions was very helpful. We thoroughly recommend this accommodation to anyone staying in the Canmore area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverviewmain, Owner at Riverview & Main, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

We are very happy to hear that your family had a good trip! And thank you for being nice guests!! We hoped we were able to assist your trip more memorable for all of you.
Thank you very much for your kind comments, and hope to see you and your family again someday. Enjoy Canadian experience!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

I enjoyed staying this B&B for four days last summer.My host Peter and Yuki are very kind.The room is clean and lovely.It is like Ann's room of Green Gables.I got a wonderful view of the mountain from the balcony.Breakfasts are fresh homemade bread and rools,fresh seasonal fruit,bacon,and egg.They were very delicious.The place is very convenient for shopping and walking.I had a good time there.I want to stay this B&B again.Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ぺろくん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverviewmain, Owner at Riverview & Main, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Thank you very much for taking time to write you comments!!
We are very happy that you are enjoying staying with us. We try our best, then we learn that the clients have a wonderful experience here, that make us happier! We appreciate very much for your stay.
Hope to see you soon. Have a good summer!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My husband I traveled to Canmore for a quiet getaway in the winter. After checking out a few of the B & B's in Canmore we chose the Riverview and Main to stay. We are very impressed with the spacious, clean rooms and the lovely common area to sit in the evening. Our hosts (Peter and Yuki) treated us to a delicious homemade breakfast complete with fresh rolls. The B&B is just off of the main shopping and dining area in Canmore so you can walk everywhere. After a day of cross country skiing is was wonderful to relax by the fire and reflect on the day. We are looking forward to staying at the Riverview and Main on our next trip to Canmore and hiking some of the excellent trails.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank longing2travelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverviewmain, Owner at Riverview & Main, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

We are happy to know that you are able to relax and enjoy the mountain community.
It is gratifying to know you enjoyed our home baking with your french press coffee.
Thank you very much for thoughtful comment for our B&B.
Canmore has a lots of hiking trail, and now we have the legacy trail starts from Canmore to Banff.
You are able to rent the bicycle in town and enjoy nice cycling.
The mountain flowers start blooming now. Hope to see you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We've stayed at this lovely B & B in both the winter and summer season. Perfect central location - very quiet and close to the walking path along the river. It is also an easy walk to interesting little shops and restaurants along Main Street.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable with great views. We particularly like the guest sitting area on the main level - an inviting place to relax beside the fireplace after a day of hiking or skiing.

Peter and Yuki are gracious and helpful hosts and are very knowledgeable about the area. They serve a delicious hot breakfast with freshly baked bread and rolls.

We like to hike and Yuki has given us great information about local hikes - even suggesting what wildflowers we might see in bloom on particular trails.

Definitely our 'go to' place when we want a mountain getaway!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank time2travel555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverviewmain, Owner at Riverview & Main, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear time2travel555,
We are so pleased that you enjoy your stays with us. Thank you for your lovely comments.
We are filled with gratitude, and look forward to seeing again.
Yuki & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We were so pleased to have experienced your friendly and helpful hospitality. The room was clean and had an awe inspiring view of the majestic mountains--the sun was shining and it took my breath away. Breakfast was good and well presented. We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this B&B. There were good walking trails close by and just a short walk to unique stores. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie1234-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverviewmain, Owner at Riverview & Main, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed staying our place. We work very hard to create friendly family home environment, and hope to provide a old fashion home cooking. We look forward seeing you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Enjoyed home cooked hot breakfast made from scratch.
All my family enjoyed staing there,and relaxed ourselves.Totally separate entrance and the guests living room with a fire place,the guests are able to sit on big sofa and enjoy themselves.
Very Good!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoshi55mizu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverviewmain, Owner at Riverview & Main, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

Thank you very much for your comments!
We are happy that we are able to provide relaxed stay. We work hard to accomodate everyone's needs to be met. And your comment give us encouragement to keep running business. Thank you again!! YS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Stayed here for a night and found the room to be really nice, clean and pretty and centrally located. There was a door in the room leading to the outdoor communal patio area with patio chairs overlooking a park and super mountain views.
There were a couple of stale chocolate mints in a dish in the room on arrival and the white barcalounger in the room had pale stains on it (looked like sweat stains). The bathroom was shared (not in the room) but it was clean and adequae.
Breakfast was awful! Way worse than insipid. The coffee tasted sour and what tasted and looked like homemade thick slices of bread was served along with eggs and fruit. I tried a slice of cinammon flavored bread and when I bit into it there was a huge clump of hair in it which I promptly spit out into a napkin and tossed away.It was gross beyond words! The other slice of bread, and I kid you not, tasted like puke! It must have had some kind of sour milk or cheese in it. This was tossed into the nearby wastebasket as well.
The breakfast was a real turn off and put a real damper on my stay. I wonder how a large clump of hair got into a slice of bread. Don't recommend this place, if for the breakfast alone. Better to eat breakfast at one of the local cafes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverviewmain, Owner at Riverview & Main, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Dear Marcy,

We are very sad to read that your stay was not a favorable one.

Here at Riverview and Main Bed and Breakfast we strive to provide clean rooms, a relaxing and comfortable experience, and delicious home made hot breakfasts. We make all of our bread and hot breakfasts in our kitchen with a scarf around our heads and wear aprons at all times so as to keep hairs out of the food. We also change menus according to food allergies, sensitivities, and requests.

We regret that your breakfast was not up to our high standards. We would have been very happy and prompt to change your coffee and bread if we had known of your complaints during your meal.

We would like to add we only had one couple stay with us in all of December 2012 and the food that was described was not served that month as they had other dietary requests.

Best Regards,
Riverview and Main B and B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
5.6 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,165 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
1.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.1 mi away
Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview & Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview & Main

Address: 918 Main St, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2B8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing