We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay here, great upscale accommodations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
119 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Second stay here, great upscale accommodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Just returned from our second stay at Blackstone. As with the first stay we really enjoyed our weekend and find the rooms very comfortable. The full kitchen is nice if you want to stay in and have a relaxing evening at home. There is plenty of space and separation in a 2 bedroom unit for 2 couples. As mentioned in other reviews its odd to have old TVs in what is otherwise an upscale property. Free wifi/parking is great. There was also an issue with low water pressure in the shower (room 307). Look forward to returning a 3rd time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brently55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Hello brently55,

We love being able to welcome guest back for repeat stays and I am glad to hear that you are planning on coming back for your 3rd stay. In the future, if you have any problems with your unit, like the low water pressure, please let us know at the front desk and we will get it fixed right away.

Thank you for staying with us,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    222
    52
    17
    16
See reviews for
362
287
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

To call this a hotel is a bit of a misnomer. They are individually owned condos that are rented out, similar to booking a hotel for a night. If you know an owner, you may be able to get a good deal. Otherwise, prices are comparable to a rather high end hotel, but the amenities are much better than a hotel.

We (my spouse and I) have stayed at Blackstone twice – once two years ago for four nights in a one-bedroom and then again this month, also for four nights, but this time in a two bedroom. Both places were very similar with the exception of the size and number of bedrooms & bathrooms. The first place overlooked the pool and hot tubs and was a nice view. This most recent place faced the direction of Three Sisters, but since the newer condo, Solara, was built, Blackstone no longer has the great views of the Three Sisters it once did. However, that wasn't really an issue as we could see the mountains outside.

The suite has all the amenities you need for a stay. There is a full-sized kitchen and round table that seats four; the breakfast bar provides additional seating. A washer and dryer is also there although for a short stay, it wasn't used. There are two packets of coffee (one regular, one decaf) and four or so teas. Salt and pepper are included, but that's it for food type items.

There is a rather smallish wall-mounted TV in the living area, and there is a TV (not flat panel though) in each bedroom. Each bedroom has a king sized bed that was pretty comfortable. There is also a hide-a-bed with extra linen and pillows. Each bedroom has two nice, white, fluffy bathrobes which came in handy. (Because who has room for a bathrobe when packing a suitcase?)The fireplace wasn't working on our arrival but someone came up to fix it very shortly after we contacted the front desk.

Each person we came in contact with at the front desk was helpful and personable. There are movie DVDs you can borrow from the front desk, but most were quite old.

We used the hot tub one night (one of the coldest nights so far this winter) and it was a nice, hot temperature. Most people seem to wear their bathrobes out to the hot tub. Good quality towels are provided in the change rooms when using the pool or hot tubs, and there are lockable lockers in the change rooms also.

Everything was nice and clean – both in the suite, the lobby, pool area, etc. The underground parking is very handy. You have to remember to drive on the left when entering and exiting the parking area (as you need to use your room card to access the reader to enter), but it's easy to get the hang of that.

The negatives are few and minor: The one item that could have been provided perhaps was a small container of laundry soap (as I've seen in some similar accommodations.) No one thinks to pack laundry soap and it would be expensive to buy it in town. A nightlight or two would be handy too (although I do travel with one). The shower head had very low pressure. Someone, in another post, said that it was a rain head, but if it is, it isn't like any big rain head shower I've ever used.

We thoroughly enjoyed both our stays there and would happily return there if we vacation in Canmore again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Hello Kiammo,

I am very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed all of the amenities that we offer here.

We are currently in the process of changing the amenities in the suite have a single use box of laundry soap on check in and also we are currently in the process of having the TV’s upgraded in the suites. I would greatly appreciate if you would be able to let me know which suite you stayed in so that we are able to fix the water pressure in the shower. The water pressure should not be low.

Thank you and enjoy your winter,
Kiley

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
kileyd@bellstar.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We rented a 3 bedroom in this time share and we were pleased. Spacious and comfortable, the four of us (2 adults & 2 teens) enjoyed the space and pools. It wasn't very cold (0 to -6 Celsius) so the dash from the change rooms to the hot pool was tolerable and the swimming pool was just cool enough to be refreshing, but not cold. Everything worked in the suite and my only disappointment was the small size of the tv monitor in the living room of the suite. We hardly turned it on, but it would have been a stretch to watch a movie comfortably. Simply, too small a screen for the size of the room. Oh - and I could hear the trucks on the adjacent hiway, so be aware of which side your room is on.
Other than that we had a great stay!

Room Tip: I could hear the trucks on the adjacent hiway, so be aware of which side your room is on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scorchedwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Hello scorchwood,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the suite and the resort amenities while you were staying with us. The hot tubs and pool are great to enjoy year round. We are currently in the planning stages to upgrade the suites with large TV's in the living rooms.

I do have to mention that we are not a timeshare resort. We do have owners of each unit but it is not timeshare.

I hope that you are able to come back and visit us in the future.

Thank you,

Kiley Dare
Guest Services Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

An amazing place to stay in Canmore. Excellent service and a beautiful place.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool/hot tub have a great view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brigysmalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thank you very much brigysmalls,

Most people think that our suites only have great view if they facing the Three Sisters mountains. I personally like the view that overlooks the pools and Mount Lady MacDonald (which is a great hike in the summer).

Cheers,

Kiley Dare
Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

The Blackstone Mountain Lodge is a great place to stay when you are looking for a two bedroom place to stay - the two bedroom suite has two full bathrooms and a full kitchen and is very spacious! We loved it and have stayed there twice and will probably go there again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Hello Davangela,

I love to hear that you had previously been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge a number of times in the past and you are planning on coming back in the future. If you ever need a different size suite in the future, please rember that we also offer hotel suites, 1 bedroom suites and 3 bedroom suites.

Thank you for the kind words and have a great winter,

Kiley Dare
Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite when in Canmore for my son's wedding. The suite was exceptionally clean and well appointed. The staff were very friendly and professional. We appreciated the help in printing a speech. Our friend's luggage did not arrive with her and the front desk person was very helpful in giving her shopping and dining directions. Thank you so much for making our stay a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trekkingsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Hi trekkingsenior,

It was our pleasure to help everyone in your party. If we are able to make your stay easier, especially when you are already dealing with the stress associated with a wedding, we will do anything possible.

I hope that you remeber us in the future if you come back to the Alberta Rockies.

Thank you,

Kiley Dare
Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed for one week in August 2011. Check in was adequate but they struggled if a large group arrived together and this would often make it difficult to contact the front desk if you had a query. However the staff were always friendly. We stayed in a one bedroomed suite which room was very comfortable and well equipped although decor was quite dark and the room did not get much natural light.. The pool area is very small for the size of the accommodation and it can be very difficult finding a lounger by the pool in the afternoon if the weather is hot and people are wanting to chill out. The property is in a quiet area surrounded by other similar types of property and is a short walk into the town centre.
We used Canmore as a base to see the Canadian Rockies and we really enjoyed the week.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GandTNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Hello GrandTNinja,

Thank you for the feedback. Since your stay, we have increased our number of front desk staff so that we are able to provide better level of customer service. I will most certainly see if we are able to accomodate more loungers by the pool for the summer.

Thank you for using us as your home base to explore the Rockies,

Kiley Dare
Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.2 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
0.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
4.6 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
1.4 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#10 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#8 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Property: Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#4 Family Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing