We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodations !!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great accommodations !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We booked the Blackstone for three nights during Easter holidays. It was the second time we stayed at this location, which was walking distance to downtown. We were also walking distance to the Elevation Place. The rooms are condo type which is perfect if you like to do your own cooking. The rooms are spacious, clean and cozy. The pool and hot tub are outdoors, It's quiet the view !!! The staff are extremely accommodating, friendly and helpful. The price is reasonable for what you get.

Room Tip: Pick a room that is not on the side of the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moumou233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Moumou223, "The staff are extremely accommodating, friendly and helpful." Thank you for your most positive review and for staying with us over the Easter Holiday. Canmore is a great town as everything is just a moments walk from the Blackstone, which really supports the active lifestyle we have. Please give us a call when you plan to return so that we can select a room for you as a preferred guest. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    222
    52
    17
    16
See reviews for
362
288
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Blackstone was nice enough but I have stayed in better. Staff are a bit snooty. One of the 2 hot tubs was under repair for our whole stay. Parking is a challenge if you have a ski pod on the roof of your vehicle and can't fit underground. Suite was good though.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 68paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
68Paul, Thank you for the review that you provided and for your stay. I am glad that you were able to make use of the Outdoor Hot tub. As we have the highest regard for guest satisfaction, I do hope that you would give me a call directly at the resort to provide more information to your comment regarding the staff. I am happy that your suite was to your liking as well. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have stayed here twice now, once in a 2 bedroom suite and once in a hotel room and both times had a wonderful stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the outdoor hot tubs and pool are a treat apres ski day and the rooms were very clean. They offer great deals in January which were far better than what we could find in Jasper at the same time. The only thing we didn't like was the strong fragrance in the room which we will request to not use next time we book as suggested by the staff. We will be back again next time we are in the area!
.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Kathleen W, Repeat guests are what we love to see to see at the Blackstone as it shows that we have succeeded in creating a memorable experience to our guests. We do offer great deals in January and other months and the best way to find these are by giving us a call or on our website. Please let us know your next visit and we will note your sensitivity to the fragrance that we use in the rooms. Thank you once again for the repeat patronage, and for the time you have taken for the review. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband, children (3&9yrs) and myself stayed at the Blackstone Easter weekend April 17-20, and had a great time! We've stayed here before, and other similar resorts in Canmore. We visit the area 6-8 times per year, usually choosing the property by price point. The Blackstone is great value for what you get! Definitely not disappointing! Has everything we needed.
Check-in was quick and very professional. Our room was clean, super comfy bed. We went down to the pool right away and the hot tub was perfect temp and the large pool was lukewarm, not unbearably cold. The decor in and out of the condo is warm and really cozy, keep in mind the hotel isn't brand new though its not showing wear and tear like some of the other ones in the vicinity.
We cooked most of our meals in the fully-equipped kitchen (stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, tile flooring). Nice robes to wear to the pool. We had extremely efficient cleaning service, daily, which is great since some condos only offer every other day.
I made good use of the washer and dryer, simply threw the pool towels and robes in the dryer during swimming breaks, and washed the kids clothes they spilled on as not to perm. stain. Very convenient!
You can hear the Trans-Canada traffic but it didn't bother us, we are used to it living near a very busy road.
One of the hot tubs was under repair, and the dresser top drawer kept falling open. Wish the King Suite had two bathrooms, but we know for next time. Other than that we were very happy with everything.
We will definitely return soon.

Room Tip: 4th Floor ask for pool view, if you want to see how busy pool is. Pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Sandra s, it is always refreshing to read an honest detailed review and for that we are gracious at the Blackstone lodge. I am elated that you were able enjoy everything from the outdoor hot tubs to the in suite washer and dryers. The beautiful kitchens, also enable you to maximize your stay by giving you the choice to eat in or out, depending on the day. I do hope the children were able to take part in the colouring contest and the Easter egg hunt which was a great time especially with all of Canmore's Easter bunnies. If you have a moment please contact me so that I can tighten the top drawer to keep the building in full function. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to your next stay with us. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a very well maintained and clean lodge offering accommodation that feels like home. We like the concept of having a condo with fully equipped kitchen. Outdoor hot tubs and the swimming pool offer a relaxing time after a day of skiing. We have been coming with our friends for three years and plan to continue staying here in the future.

Room Tip: We like rooms on the north side for better views of the mountain peaks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Josip L, Thank you for the continued business and for noticing the cleanliness and repair of the resort as this is very important to us. The Alberta Hotel and Lodging Association also noticed the cleanliness of the Blackstone as well and awarded the Housekeeping award of Excellence to us for the 2014 year and we are so proud of this accomplishment. There is still time to be skiing this year as we have had some great snow recently to keep the ski resorts open for a little bit longer. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We recently booked the Blackstone Mountain Lodge for a family retreat (4 people) for a weekend in April and although the weather was cold and snowy outside, it was cosy inside with everything you needed for a relaxing time. Robes were supplied and also towels for the hot tub. The rooms including the beds were cosy and clean - a real home from home. From the balcony we had a fantastic view of the 3 Sisters Mountains. We would have no hesitation in booking this accommodation again. Really great place!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moorseya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Moorseya, Fantastic weekend in Canmore is so pleasing to see from your review. We are always very happy when people can enjoy the views in the town and have even more enjoyment when they return to the lodge. We look forward to your return and we have asked the weather to bring out the sunshine and heat for the next few months so it will be a great time for you to visit again. The only thing that is better than an Outdoor Hot tub in the winter is an outdoor pool in the summer. See you soon. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I booked a three night stay months before our arrival with the hotel directly. Being proactive, I expected a decent one bedroom suite for a family of four. The day we arrived (mid-July) around 4 pm after a hot hike, the room wasn't ready. We were supposed to check-in, shower, etc before meeting family for dinner. Room wasn't ready for hours - I think we checked in at 7 pm finally, so kind of blew the "relaxing glass of wine before dinner" aspect of a vacation as instead we waited around for several hours, hot and dirty, for our room. When we finally got in,the suite itself was absolutely tiny. When the hide-abed in the living room opened up, there was literally NO WAY around it. The balcony off the living room opened up onto.....Freeway noise. LOUD freeway noise. Your pick, fresh air or relative quiet. The bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen, no room to put anything anywhere. Whoever designed this suite was temporarily insane. Possibly ok for one couple, spending the night and moving on, since the living room could be then just be used for a living room, but NOT for a family of four. With out luggage in, there was no room to walk. There is more room in your average Best Western or motel 6. I complained and the next day we were moved to an extravagantly large two bedroom suite with many closets, room to walk around etc. It was beautiful, had a lovely view of the mountains, not next to freeway etc. Gorgeous stocked kitche, lots of seating etc etc. So after that, we were all happy. The thing I wonder is why give SO MUCH room to a two bedroom suite *really, more than anyone would EVER need on vacation, and in the same building, have a suite so small it makes the whole experience of vacation just the opposite??? Makes no sense to me - whoever designed the building should be notified to think before laying out rooms. And those tiny suites over there facing the freeways (or any others in the hotel) should never be given to any parties of more than two,, period. Seriously though should just redesign, and improve the experience for your guests. Even parties of two want someplace to put down there personal items in the bathroom other than on top of the toilet tank. Thank you thought for giving us the nice suite later - we had a great time there. But as vacations are generally short, every day counts, so guests make sure your room is big enough before you commit to it.

Room Tip: sleep poor if in room next to freeway otherwise great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckyb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
beckyb4, Thank you for posting your review from the past summer as we are excited that this season will be upon us again very shortly. I do apologize that you found our one bedroom suite too small for 4 people and that we were able to offer a solution of an upgrade to a great two bedrooms suite. Many of our suites are very unique in sizing due to the configuration of the building and one size certainly does not entertain all. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the views of the mountains and make use of the amenities and would ask that if you are coming to the Canmore region again in the future please give me a call at the resort so that I can ensure the perfect room is selected for your needs. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.2 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
0.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
4.6 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
1.4 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#10 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#8 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Property: Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#4 Family Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing