We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Get-away”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent two nights in a 2 bedroom luxury suite. I can't say enough about how wonderful our experience was. The rooms were well cleaned. The only thing I might ask for would be a chair in the family area instead of just the couch. The staff were all wonderful. When we returned to our suite after being out all day it had not been attended to, we phoned house keeping and it turned out that they hadn't checked back later after first finding our do not disturb sign up (we took it down about 10:30). They sent someone within 5 minutes to clean the suite. Every staff person we encountered was very friendly and helpful. They set up various tours for us smoothly and quickly. They were good to provide us with all of the proper directions for places we wanted to go and see.
The pool is not huge but big enough to accommodate the guests wanting to use it. They've two hot tubs. If you want extra pressure use the one nearest the mountains, it's got more pressure from the jets than any hot tub I've ever sat in. The other one has the jets capped.
The view from our suite was spectacular, with a view of the mountains.
The security in place on the premises made you feel confident that your car was safe parked in the underground garage.
If and when I'm ever in Canmore again this is indeed where I'll be staying!

Room Tip: The higher floor you get the better the view I'm sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrammyCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
GrammyCJ " I can't say enough about how wonderful our experience was". What a beautiful thing to say in your review of our Mountain Property. We strive to create Memorable, Legendary Experiences, and are ecstatic when a senior reviewer takes the time to let others in the TripAdvisor community know, in an honest fashion, how great their personal stay was. I am glad to see that you were able to use our 24 hour concierge service at the front desk and that your tours were booked swiftly. When you do return to Canmore in the future please do not hesitate to give us a call as we would delightedly have you back at the Blackstone. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    224
    52
    18
    16
See reviews for
368
294
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just returned after 11 days at the Blackstone mountain lodge. Had booked for Banff but at the last minute found this accommodation and what a find it was. We had a one bed apartment which was very spacious, clean, fully equipped and daily housekeeping. The communal bar-b-q was a great alternative to cooking and the outdoor pool with hot tubs very relaxing at the end of the day. Blackstone is only a 2 minute drive to the highway and 12 minutes from Banff. The town of Canmore is within walking distance with many restaurants and coffee shops.
Staff at the Blackstone were always on hand with suggestions with places to see and could not have been more helpful. Would definitely recommend Blackstone to anyone considering the Banff area and if back we would love to stay here again. Excellent value for money. Thanks to all the staff at Blackstone for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Our apartment had a great view of the mountains. All consumables were replaced on a daily basis (cof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
John S., "Thanks to all the staff at Blackstone for a memorable stay. " We attempt to make every stay at the Blackstone not only Memorable, but Legendary. What a truly honest review of the resort, and also the surrounding areas for fellow TripAdvisor members to base their decision of where to stay on their next visit. Thank you for the future recommendations, and we look forward to your next visit with us from across the water. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We recently stayed here for one night during a visit to nearby Banff. Our room was very spacious and comfortable, and exceeded our expectations. We had a room with a kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, and two balconies. For the price in the particular area, we thought we received a very good deal and were extremely satisfied with the accommodations and friendly staff. The beds were comfortable and the hotel was quiet. We would absolutely stay here again ad wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
1SF., "exceeded our expectations" is what we aim to do with every customer who stays with us at the Blackstone Mountain Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review and for choosing to stay with us. Many people choose to stay in the Canmore area when visiting Banff Park as it really creates more options in all categories of a vacation. Our friendly staff await you on your next visit to the Rocky Mountains and we also hope you can stay longer as well. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This past week we enjoyed a Calgary-Canmore-Jasper-Edmonton-Calgary 3 day loop trip with friends and family from Quebec. Thoroughly enjoyed our first overnight stop in Canmore thanks to the Blackstone. Very nicely appointed rooms ( we reserved two, 2 bedroom suites). Very spacious, Fully equipped and supplied kitchens. Plush towels and robes. Wonderful beds. Appreciated the undergrounds parking with easy access to elevators as we had a fair amount of luggage to transport. All-in-all a very pleasant experience and a Canmore location we'll be sure to consider for future stays.

Room Tip: We were on the second level facing street in front of resort. No issues with road noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Danny C., What a great 3 day loop to show your out of town friends some of the best views in the world. The Columbia ice fields road is truly majestic and is one of my personal favorite roads. Thank you for your stay with us, and for pointing out all of the benefits that await every patron at the Blackstone Mountain Lodge. We look forward to your next visit with us. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere in Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for one night in early July. This hotel and other hotels in the area do look like condominium buildings. That is fine; it gives a homey feeling. Room was nice with two double beds. Bathroom was nice and clean. The room has a small kitchenette. The hotel or other adjacent hotels did not have a restaurant where we could have our breakfast. Overall, this is a fine place, however, it cost us CAD 200/night. At that price, I do not think this is a place to stay. The secure underground parking was fine, but parking there can be tough as the parking spaces are very tight. Free-wifi was a nice feature (although that is the norm in most hotel these days). Bottom line: Save some money and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigmetrics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Sigmetrics., Thank you for the staying with us in July, which as you know is a very busy time in our beautiful Mountain town of Canmore with so many activities and attractions to see and do. I am happy to see that you found the suite clean and that "overall it is a fine place." There is a great restaurant in our sister property called the Ridge Café and I do apologise if our front desk did not make mention of it during your stay. Hoping you enjoy the rest of your summer and travels. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I travel 40 weeks a year and feel pretty qualified in making the statement that anyone who rates this a 4 star has never stayed at one. It is a solid 3.5 star though. The room was nice enough but no better than some of the Hampton Inns I've been at recently. Red Solo cups in the room? Gauche and you'd never find that at a Westin.

While billed as a Lodge it's really more like a condo building on a back street. But I noticed all the other condo buildings on the street are billed the same. The property is physically quite small, most of it taken up by the building itself.

Reasonable property amenities but no restaurant or other such things one usually sees at a true 4 star. Additionally this property seems to suffer from what I call The Priceline Paradox. People who can't usually afford a 4 star not knowing how to act at one. Tons of unsupervised kids running the halls and inundating the pools and hot tubs.

The staff was great and got us an early check-in. The underground parking was free.

I'm not saying this is a bad property. Not at all. But not a good stay for couples not wanting a lot of noise and commotion or looking for the sophistication one usually finds at a good 4 star property. Great for families who want to cut their kids loose apparently.

Room Tip: Inspect the room first. It may be much smaller and plain than you are accustomed to in a 4 star prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Michael H.,
Thank you for your recent stay during the summer holidays with us. You are correct that we are rated a 3.5 star on many of the rating systems, but we do offer 5 star service when ever we can to our guests. We are thankful that we attract many tourists and families alike of varying demographics during this period of time as Canmore is a favourite touristic area in the Canadian Rocky Mountains. We do offer red solo cups in the rooms for the convenience of guests who enjoy a Beverage by the pool side, and truthfully, it is also a quick way for us to ensure there is no glass brought in to the pool area as safety is paramount to us and our patrons. I am happy that we were able to give you an early check-in and that you felt the staff were great. We wish you safe travels and a happy summer. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

My family stayed here in early summer and loved the suite we had. It was a good find for the price - nice finishings (granite, gas fireplace, good sheets, nice showers/deep tubs and comfy beds). My only dissapointment was with the bbq set up (they are all in a row down next to the pool rather than in our patios). This seems small but who doesnt want to bbq in the summer and there were no bbq tools supplied so it was a bit weird. I was shown a servery that was dirty and had to was my own bbq tongs that I found in a pile of other dirty ones! The front desk staff didnt even blink as I asked for a clean cloth to wash their dishes with. I hink if you are a suite hotel attempting a high standard you should follow through to every detail but they dropped the ball there. I still rated this place highly because the room an service otherwise was great. One final thing: The views of the mountains are lovely - but the noise of the highway next to the hotel meant we kept the doors closed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Magoomom, Thank you for the high rating that you provided in your review and for the description of the amenities inside the rooms. Our BBQ area is a common area which enables all of our guests to share tips on recipes, grilling techniques as well as mixology lessons. I have spoken with our team on the appearance of the servery during the time of your stay and I will monitor this personally to ensure that our high standards are kept in every corner of the resort. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.2 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
4.6 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
1.4 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#11 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 29 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE

Property: Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE
Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#4 Family Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing