We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lower your expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rundle Mountain Lodge
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lower your expectations”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Needed a cheap place to stay in Canmore while we ran in the 5 Peaks trail race. We got it! $63/$73 a night. But we got what we paid for. Stayed in the old part of the hotel (almost 50 years old). The outside is well maintained. Newer roof, exterior painting etc. Property looks okay. Rooms are rustic log cabin, and smell like other old log cabins in the Rockies. Room was pretty dirty, but okay. Coffee maker didn't work. Heater didn't work (needed pilot light to be lit). No hairdryer, and the one we got from reception blew up on the second day. Glasses (wrapped in paper) were filthy - obviously not washed. Could hear people in next room talking etc till 2am. Hot Tub shut down (health hazard?!?) David seems a little uncomfortable with his notoriety on Trip Advisor LOL! Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicletSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    42
    37
    40
    44
See reviews for
64
66
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The park was nice for the kids to play. The front desk staff were helpful and kind. However the room I stayed in was dirty, I bumped the lamp and was covered in dust. There were cob webs in the corners. The taps in the shower did not work but it matched the shower head that did not spray. The bed was old and I banged my leg on a two by four sticking out of the bed. There were several lights burn out in the facility. Unless you are rained out i.e., the campsite floated away stay somewhere else

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canmore hotels

Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I booked a room for a flop having read glowing reviews that suggested the place could be trusted for the basics. What I got was a dusty room that stunk like a Little Tree air freshener.

The room hasn't gotten anything other than a quick once-over with a vacuum in a very long time. There was a thick layer of dust on most ledges and around the perimeter of the room and its furnishings. The bed was on top of a carpeted pedestal with planks protruding from under the mattresses.

The bedding was poor with only two loftless pillows, well worn sheets and a pilled comforter. The electric fan provided required assembly.

Location is poor, with the busy Canadian Pacific Raiiway transcontinental main line on one side, Bow Valley Trail on another. The bathroom window opened onto the Best Western parking lot while the front window opened onto the Lodge parking lot.

The Rundle Mountain Lodge is at best a $50 flop house that gets to charge well above its worth simply because of its location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kraddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

My family went there for my brother's wedding, price was great, David was wonderful, even helping in finding us some more tablecloths as we had not brought enough. Thoroughly enjoyable and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdneufeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We had a wonderful stay in the coziest little cabin ever. The fellow who checked us in was very welcoming and helpful. The price was super, bed was comfortable, room was clean and the pool and hot tub were very nice to relax in after a long day of hiking. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Book a cabin, you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Errock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We loved the hotel and had a great stay! Our room was fantastic (Rm 131) with a fire place, double jacuzzi bath, double shower, fresh coffee maker and the bed was wonderful - huge and super comfy! Slept like a log and really enjoyed coming back to our room after a day exploring. The rate was fantastic and David, the Manager, is SO friendly and showed us places to visit. Ignore all the bad reviews (some people are just miserable what ever) - I couldn't say a bad word about our stay - we loved it, would go back again and would defiantly recommend it!

Room Tip: Be nice, goes a long way to get you a good room any where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Very friendly service, David the Manager was briliant. We had a superb nights sleep, the bed was so comfy! We stayed 2 days in one of the suites and have no complaints.
Canmore is a pretty town and a good base for Banf and Lake Louise.
This is a great value motel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.3 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.1 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
0.0 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.6 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 28 in Canmore
932 reviews
1.4 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#19 of 28 in Canmore
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundle Mountain Lodge

Property: Rundle Mountain Lodge
Address: 1723 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rundle Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rundle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundle Mountain Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing