We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the wild party crowd. Terrible for families or sleeping.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rundle Mountain Lodge
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The first room we checked into had a smoke detector hanging by wires from the ceiling, heating system didn't work, someone had smoked in there so reeked of smoke. We found blood on the bed sheets.

We moved to a 2nd room that was quite a bit better, simulating a log cabin style, and had a gas furnace to heat the room. Someone had vandalized the bathroom wall (written on it).) We didn't leave a tip for the maid since they didn't refill the sugar for the coffee maker. For some reason the bed was supported on a permanently installed frame that had 6 inch pieces of wood sticking out of it that clearly were not supposed to do so.

The deal breaker for this place for us is that the front lobby clerk goes off duty at 11 pm, after which time you cannot get service or ice (the ice machine is inside a locked lobby at night). Apparently they turned off the cable tv as well, as it stopped working a few minutes after 11 pm, and came back on in the morning. 11:15 pm is when the noise starts with the party crowd.

Conclusion: This place is great for people who like to party, as there is no one there after 11 pm to curb the noise. If you are coming for a good night's sleep, or with family forget about it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

Good location but it needs some reno. It's great for budget trippers because we tried a few places in town and it's more than Banff would charge. WHY?

The bed sheets were dirty. I just wonder if they change them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Friendly staff, clean room, same as it was 30 years ago. Property needs some serious upgrades Too many years of just getting by. I would stay again as price was great. Restaurant (Craigs) 100 yds from hotel was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I would not recommend this hotel unless there is no where else to stay. We stayed in an old room. It was dark, dirty and run down. The windows don't open and close very well, there was a tea bag lodged in the bathroom sink. We complained but they didn't do anything. They had to light the pilot for heat. There was not enough p,ug ins to run the old swag lamp and coffee pot at the same time. The mini fridge was rotten. Smelled like something dide in it. We had to clean it to use it. the pillows were flat and lumpy but nothing compared to the bed. That was the worse bed I ever slept in. Very hard! Actually I didn't sleep cause you could hear everything that was going on in the room next door! I mean everything. My husband and I had one towel to share! The carpet was dirty. Something, not sure what it was, stuck to my foot when I was going to the washroom! Spend the extra moneyfolks and stay somewhere else! We will never stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

If you are on a budget and looking for somewhere to stay in the Canmore area, then the Rundle Mountain Lodge will meet that purpose.
If you are looking for any kind of comfort and can afford it, book elsewhere.
There is no AC in the rooms, and furnishings are all extremely old and dated.
Cigarette butts were found strewn outside our door on the second floor exterior hallway.
The only way that the heat was bearable in the room (and it wasn't that hot out!) was to open the windows and curtains, but then we had to deal with people walking by and looking into the room.
Like I said, if you need to stay somewhere on a budget, then go for it. Otherwise you should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

the room was really hot, the lock on the door was broken, the wifi did not work, the window frame was broken in the bathroom - kleenex was stuffed in the frame. The shower knob was broken. Found it cheap on line - I guess I know why.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank dave h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I agree with what other reviewers have shared. The room is hot, no airflow, one fan helps, keeping door open helps. It did cool down by bedtime. Sat out on the walkway until it cooled off. In making the bed, noticed the mattress pad had stains. On registering, the clerk had a could care less attitude that was surprising for this little town. On asking for an ice bucket, got one that was cracked and asked for a bucket cover and she said you don't need one. Just poor cleanliness and lack of care all around. The lodge is located well, nice mountain views, and we reserved ahead of time so price was budget. But come-on -- no excuses for service and cleanliness. The hot tub is not filled to use, after a long hike we went over to use it and were sorely disappointed. I would not recommend this place to stay...and will not return.

Room Tip: Choose a different lodging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smilesback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#15 of 28 in Canmore
1,018 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
1.5 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
1.6 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#8 of 28 in Canmore
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundle Mountain Lodge

Address: 1723 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Canmore
Price Range: £43 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rundle Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rundle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundle Mountain Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing