We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing after such good reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing after such good reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were so looking forward to our stay at Stone Ridge Mountain Resort, especially after the numerous good reviews we read. Our first disappointment was the service at the front desk. We arrived at 3pm and were abruptly told standard check in time is 4pm and to come back then. The free wifi only seemed to work when you stood in a certain spot in the kitchen and was unreliable at best. The shower in the suite above ours leaked down into our bathroom. All in all, we expected more from a four star resort. We did enjoy the pool and the hot tub, and the rooms were clean and well appointed. A warmer welcome, property maintenance and delivering the services as described would have made our stay more enjoyable. For the money, I would look to other options in future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mkneeshaw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Mkneeshaw17,

Thank you for sharing your guest experience with us here on Trip Advisor as we are very appreciative of any and all feedback from our guests!

I was grateful that I had a chance to speak with you during your stay and was able to personally address some of your concerns. The WiFi was a connection point that was offline and quickly repaired the following day and the leak you reported, although we were unable to duplicate, we are still investigating.

I was extremely disappointed to here about your experience at check in, and although I am still investigating the matter with my team, I can assure you, as well as other readers of this review, that this is not at all representative of our hard working Front Desk team and that we truly are focused on making your stay as enjoyable as possible. My sincerest apologies for the impression this left you.

I and the team truly hope we can welcome you back one day as we would very much appreciate the opportunity to provide you with a truly authentic Stoneridge experience. Please feel free to contact me directly and I will be happy to take personal charge of your stay start to finish!

Sincerely,
John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    278
    53
    21
    10
See reviews for
534
468
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We were looking for a place to stay for a few nights with a beautiful view and close to attractions like downtown Canmore and Banff. Upon arrival, we were very pleased with the cleanliness of this resort and the ample parking space for our two vehicles. The suite we stayed in was beautiful and had a comfortable space for making breakfast and relaxing in the living room after a long day of exploring. The bedrooms are in good quality and the finishing of the entire suite is rather luxurious. An important factor for us were clean bathrooms and I can say that it was definitely easy to shower in there! The resort also had an outdoor swimming pool, perfect for the sunny day we had during our stay. Staff were also responsive, both over the phone, e-mail and in person.

The location is great, you could even walk to the stores near by if you wanted, and there are some restaurants to have a good meal as well.

Any concerns we had were promptly addressed by the resort's staff members in a respectful and friendly manner.

We would definitely recommend this resort and would come back again :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank verona204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear verona204,

We are very happy to have hosted you and your family on your recent trip to the mountains and also to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much!

Certainly we put a lot of effort into maintaining our guest suite and public areas so our guests can have the best possible experience and we are very grateful to you for noticing! Indeed the shower each suite can sometimes accommodate 10, they are so huge!

Above all, thank you for mentioning our hard working staff. This is the best place to recognize them for their service as many of them read our reviews on a daily basis.

Hoping to welcome you back soon,

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlTurk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Fantastic accommodations in Canmore. I wish we would have skipped a night in Banff and stayed here. Great hotel/suite and a nicer quitter town. Canmore has many close restaurants and shops located nearby. Thanks Stoneridge.

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor, nobody above you as with any hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlTurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear OlTurk,

You are very welcome and thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to the Rockies!

A lot of our guests do exactly as you did and stay partially in Banff in a traditional hotel setting and then at our all suite resort in Canmore and they all invariably say the same thing. We are very proud of our accommodations and what we are able to offer visitors of all kinds to the Rockies!

We are also happy that you mentioned the many great restaurants that are in our town, most of which are privately owned and operated. Finding out where to dine out in Canmore, no matter what your diet, can be as easy as checking out the restaurant rankings right here on Trip Advisor or call our Front Desk for our personal recommends!

Thank you again for staying with us and it is our sincere hope that you will be back again for another mountain getaway in the near future.

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

my family and I (6 adults, 2 kids) spent a week at StoneRidge in 2 units -- 4 grown kids and grandkids in a 3-bedroom suite; we "seniors" in a separate 1-bedroom. Reservations gave us 2 suites on the same floor as requested, which made visiting and group meals possible. The resort is very convenient to the places we wanted to visit, such as Canmore, Banff, Lake Louise, Johnston Canyon, etc. We found lots of restaurant choices nearby (Iron Goat particularly nice). The staff was very professional and helpful. The resort is definitely family friendly and the kids enjoyed the pool. The units were very clean and the essentials were supplied daily (coffee, creamer, laundry detergent, etc). The free WiFi worked well and the parking garage was easily accessible by elevator. A few "minuses" included: small bedroom in the 1-bedroom unit, considerable road noise on the street side unit which had the mountain view, and very high prices at grocery & wine stores compared to USA (which of course is not a fault of the resort). We highly recommend this resort and would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stargazer7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear stargazer7777,

It is terrific to hear that all went so well for your recent family reunion in the mountains. We are truly an ideal choice for families who want to reconnect especially when you consider the size and the freedom our guest suites provide everyone.

The team is particularly happy to be recognized for their service. They really do try their very best each day to make your guest experience as memorable as possible!

We too wish the cost of living was as economical as it is in the States! Even when you take into account the fact that the province of Alberta has one of the largest oil reserves in the world, we still cannot rival the USA in this regard. We are all very jealous!

The mountains and our resort have a funny way of leaving fond and lasting memories and we have no doubt that you and your family will be back again soon one day! Thank you again for choosing the Stoneridge Mountain Resort.!

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We're a family of four Mum and Dad (35) two children (8,5). We had a two king bed mountain view suite. Discount available for AMA members and extended stays.

Stone Ridge is sheer quality. A mix of sleek modern design, a homely feel and exceptional customer care. We stayed four nights and used it as a base to explore the Rockies. Banff (20mins) Lake Louise (45mins). As a family we found Canmore far more preferable to Banff - not least because we had a beautiful kitchen and grill - and the girls could use up any spare energy in the pool. The town is smaller, quieter and more gentile. It's easier on the wallet too!
As a marker for service the hotel worked out it was my wife's birthday and left a wonderful surprise for us on the day - totally unexpected and genuine.

The best mark of a hotel is if you would rebook. We have two years here in Canada and are keen to travel. But on the strength of our stay we cancelled Christmas at a big hotel in The Rockies and New Year in the States in favour of Stone Ridge. We can now stay 10 instead of 7 days taking in Christmas and New Year because of the rate. So don't just pass through - stop a while - highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Rob P,

It was wonderful to have hosted you and your family and even better to hear this wonderful feedback from you! We have many avid followers among our staff of our Trip Advisor page here because they love to hear how they did and how they were able to help create a fond family memory of the Canadian Rockies. The team loves your pictures too!

We are extremely flattered that you have even gone as far as rearranging your plans for your next trip and chose to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back at Christmas. Be ready to do lots of skiing/snowboarding, dog sledding and ice skating! Thank you again for staying with us.

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in Aug 2014. Absolutely fantastic facilities and immaculate rooms. Staff very friendly and extremely helpful. General hotel also very well maintained and all surroundings kept in pristine condition. Would say, there are only a few rooms with the stunning rooms advertised... it would appear more rooms look onto the courtyard or other buildings opposed to the advertised views on the web page, however this did not make the stay any less enjoyable. Super in-room facilities with a separate kitchen/living area. All rooms come with a barbecue on the balcony and suites are well equipped to host for many. Very spacious and WiFi available throughout the hotel. Underground parking free of charge - this comes in very handy as the parking is very restricted in surrounding streets. Fantastic stay - would recommend to all. Very family friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McS1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear McS1992,

Thank you for taking the time to share your guest experience with fellow travelers her on our page on Trip Advisor.

With occupancy very high in the summer months, our team works especially hard at keeping the resort in tip top shape for our guests' enjoyment. In particular, I want to thank you for recognizing their engaging service as they really do put their heart and soul into providing the best experience possible for our guests!

We hope that we can expect you back again one day, perhaps for a ski adventure! Thank you for choosing to stay with us this summer!

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We did have a good start but good turned into bad and now ugly due to issues with the management teams at StoneRidge and now Risk Assessment Team at Clique.
The good start - we arrived and the room was in order, however the TV in the living room did not work (1st maintenance call). Maintenance arrived and resolved the issue.
Day two - utilizing the hair dryer provided at the hotel, we blew the circuit. Maintenance arrived again and resolved the issue.
Day two (evening) - StoneRidge provided detergent and dryer sheets for the washer and dryer. Travelling with a family, one of the reasons we choice StoneRidge was both the kitchen and washer/dryer facilities. Unfortunately the washer was broken (the tub with our clothes filled with water - but would not spin). Upon calling maintenance, they informed us they were well aware of the broken washer and would not fix it until Day 5 of our 7 day vacation. Maintenance once again showed up and offered to WASH our clothing. They agreed due to the delicate nature of the clothing, nothing would be DRIED. Delicate, Darks, Lights, we had four loads of laundry. Unfortunately, this is where the experience gets bad, Maintenance dried all four loads of laundry. Many of the items were destroyed, we salvaged what we could.
We immediately alerted the front desk who indicated the management team would be alerted and would address the error made by maintenance.
Day 3 and parts of Day 4 - we spent the replacing our clothes - vs. enjoying our vacation. Also, no word from the management team.
Day 5-6 Finally, after numerous trips to the front desk, the management team contacted us. We filled out all the property damage forms, took picture of the damaged items, and provided all information the management team requested. We provided cell phone numbers so the issue could be immediately resolved.
Day 7 Out for the day, we alerted the front desk to contact us on our cell phone, we arrived back late in the day, to learn management left a message on the hotel phone. Of course, no resolution to our issue. We did receive a call late in the evening from Mr. John Brownlee. Mr. Brownlee apologized for the issues, took complete responsibility of the issues, and guaranteed his personal commitment to issue resolution and compensation for not only the lost articles, but lost vacation time.
We left StoneRidge the following morning, leaving all damaged clothing, etc. at the hotel per their direction.
Now, the ugly part. Mr. Brownlee acknowledged receipt of all claim forms, etc. and now, as we are going through the Risk Assessment Departments at Clique, conveniently, they are noting they have no information, no forms, no damaged items, etc. (Yes, we have the pictures (they received and have copy of via email) and copy of all claim forms, that have been provided to Clique, but for unknown reasons, even after the copied us on the claim forms, they're indicating they do not have them).
Mr. Brownlee who personally assured he would resolve the issue is indicating the issue is no longer in his hands. Clique is indicated they do not have the information we provided to Mr. Brownlee and directly to Clique. We've done everything to resolve this matter. We did reach out to the Sr. Management Team at Clique, however, they have not returned our call.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Traveler0092014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMstoneridgeresort, Manager at Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Traveler0092014,

Please accept our sincere apology for the misunderstanding regarding the request not to dry your 4 loads of laundry. The staff member misunderstood, and thought they were providing you with service excellence. For this, we are truly sorry.

The Risk Assessment office requested evidence from you, to support your claim. We requested copies of the care instructions for each article you claim was ruined, along with copies of the receipts for the damaged items you claim to have replaced while on vacation. You said that you left your receipts and damaged articles with the front desk, which is not true. Our goal is to find a fair resolution as soon as possible, and we will continue to keep your file open until such time you can provide supporting evidence for your claim.

Travelers tip: Should you ever find yourself where you feel a hotel should compensate you for a loss, remember to keep all your receipts and damaged articles to assist in processing your claim.

Sincerely,

The Stoneridge Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canmore
0.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
4.5 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.5 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#11 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort
Grande Rockies Resort
#19 of 29 in Canmore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE

Property: Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Address: 30 Lincoln Park, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#1 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#2 Family Hotel in Canmore
#3 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite luxury condominium resort hotel nestled in the Canadian Rockies. 5-minute drive to Banff National Park. All suites incl. Full gourmet kitchen, fireplace, 42" & 32" HDTV’s, Ipod stereo, electronic safe, in Suite laundry & gas BBQ. Outdoor Heated pool, Hot Tub and Fitness Center. Available Wi-Fi and heated underground parking. Meeting, Banquet and Reception rooms available. Ridge Cafe (licenced)open daily serving up light meals, baked goods and specialty coffees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoneridge Mountain Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing