We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service at the front desk and highly overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor customer service at the front desk and highly overpriced”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

First, let me share the good - the suites are very nice and the cleaning staff are friendly and helpful. The pool area is very nice.
Now the bad - front desk staff were indifferent. We arrived 1 hour earlier than the 4pm check in time, which we knew, and were greeted at the front desk with an abrupt reminder that check in is 4pm. We stated that we knew we were early and got a very frosty response. We then asked if we could go to the pool while we waited for our room and were told yes which was great but then given no directions to the pool or any further info. We had to drag it out of her. It was very unfriendly. Now, I realize that people sometimes have a bad day but every time I went up to the front desk it was very unfriendly. Sad when you are in a customer service industry and it seems like you don't like your job.
There was a leak in the ceiling from the third floor and I called the front desk to tell them. Again treated with indifference and I never knew if they even looked at it.
I would not recommend this resort. I feel like I wasted my money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Karen C,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and candor regarding your guest experience here at our resort.

I am very sorry that I was not able to speak with you directly as you had already departed for home, but I was very grateful to have had the opportunity to speak with your sister regarding your concerns.

I am still personally following up with my Front Desk team, but wanted to offer my sincerest apologies to you and your father for the less than welcoming impression our staff gave you upon arrival at the resort. I can assure you that our team is very dedicated, hard working, and very focused on filling each stay with fond memories of our resort and their getaway to the mountains.

I would very much appreciate the opportunity to speak with you regarding your other concerns. Please feel free to call me at your earliest convenience to discuss them in more detail.

Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to speaking you soon.

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    977
    294
    55
    21
    11
See reviews for
560
489
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were so looking forward to our stay at Stone Ridge Mountain Resort, especially after the numerous good reviews we read. Our first disappointment was the service at the front desk. We arrived at 3pm and were abruptly told standard check in time is 4pm and to come back then. The free wifi only seemed to work when you stood in a certain spot in the kitchen and was unreliable at best. The shower in the suite above ours leaked down into our bathroom. All in all, we expected more from a four star resort. We did enjoy the pool and the hot tub, and the rooms were clean and well appointed. A warmer welcome, property maintenance and delivering the services as described would have made our stay more enjoyable. For the money, I would look to other options in future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mkneeshaw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Mkneeshaw17,

Thank you for sharing your guest experience with us here on Trip Advisor as we are very appreciative of any and all feedback from our guests!

I was grateful that I had a chance to speak with you during your stay and was able to personally address some of your concerns. The WiFi was a connection point that was offline and quickly repaired the following day and the leak you reported, although we were unable to duplicate, we are still investigating.

I was extremely disappointed to here about your experience at check in, and although I am still investigating the matter with my team, I can assure you, as well as other readers of this review, that this is not at all representative of our hard working Front Desk team and that we truly are focused on making your stay as enjoyable as possible. My sincerest apologies for the impression this left you.

I and the team truly hope we can welcome you back one day as we would very much appreciate the opportunity to provide you with a truly authentic Stoneridge experience. Please feel free to contact me directly and I will be happy to take personal charge of your stay start to finish!

Sincerely,
John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We were looking for a place to stay for a few nights with a beautiful view and close to attractions like downtown Canmore and Banff. Upon arrival, we were very pleased with the cleanliness of this resort and the ample parking space for our two vehicles. The suite we stayed in was beautiful and had a comfortable space for making breakfast and relaxing in the living room after a long day of exploring. The bedrooms are in good quality and the finishing of the entire suite is rather luxurious. An important factor for us were clean bathrooms and I can say that it was definitely easy to shower in there! The resort also had an outdoor swimming pool, perfect for the sunny day we had during our stay. Staff were also responsive, both over the phone, e-mail and in person.

The location is great, you could even walk to the stores near by if you wanted, and there are some restaurants to have a good meal as well.

Any concerns we had were promptly addressed by the resort's staff members in a respectful and friendly manner.

We would definitely recommend this resort and would come back again :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank verona204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear verona204,

We are very happy to have hosted you and your family on your recent trip to the mountains and also to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much!

Certainly we put a lot of effort into maintaining our guest suite and public areas so our guests can have the best possible experience and we are very grateful to you for noticing! Indeed the shower each suite can sometimes accommodate 10, they are so huge!

Above all, thank you for mentioning our hard working staff. This is the best place to recognize them for their service as many of them read our reviews on a daily basis.

Hoping to welcome you back soon,

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlTurk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Fantastic accommodations in Canmore. I wish we would have skipped a night in Banff and stayed here. Great hotel/suite and a nicer quitter town. Canmore has many close restaurants and shops located nearby. Thanks Stoneridge.

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor, nobody above you as with any hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlTurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear OlTurk,

You are very welcome and thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to the Rockies!

A lot of our guests do exactly as you did and stay partially in Banff in a traditional hotel setting and then at our all suite resort in Canmore and they all invariably say the same thing. We are very proud of our accommodations and what we are able to offer visitors of all kinds to the Rockies!

We are also happy that you mentioned the many great restaurants that are in our town, most of which are privately owned and operated. Finding out where to dine out in Canmore, no matter what your diet, can be as easy as checking out the restaurant rankings right here on Trip Advisor or call our Front Desk for our personal recommends!

Thank you again for staying with us and it is our sincere hope that you will be back again for another mountain getaway in the near future.

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

my family and I (6 adults, 2 kids) spent a week at StoneRidge in 2 units -- 4 grown kids and grandkids in a 3-bedroom suite; we "seniors" in a separate 1-bedroom. Reservations gave us 2 suites on the same floor as requested, which made visiting and group meals possible. The resort is very convenient to the places we wanted to visit, such as Canmore, Banff, Lake Louise, Johnston Canyon, etc. We found lots of restaurant choices nearby (Iron Goat particularly nice). The staff was very professional and helpful. The resort is definitely family friendly and the kids enjoyed the pool. The units were very clean and the essentials were supplied daily (coffee, creamer, laundry detergent, etc). The free WiFi worked well and the parking garage was easily accessible by elevator. A few "minuses" included: small bedroom in the 1-bedroom unit, considerable road noise on the street side unit which had the mountain view, and very high prices at grocery & wine stores compared to USA (which of course is not a fault of the resort). We highly recommend this resort and would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stargazer7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear stargazer7777,

It is terrific to hear that all went so well for your recent family reunion in the mountains. We are truly an ideal choice for families who want to reconnect especially when you consider the size and the freedom our guest suites provide everyone.

The team is particularly happy to be recognized for their service. They really do try their very best each day to make your guest experience as memorable as possible!

We too wish the cost of living was as economical as it is in the States! Even when you take into account the fact that the province of Alberta has one of the largest oil reserves in the world, we still cannot rival the USA in this regard. We are all very jealous!

The mountains and our resort have a funny way of leaving fond and lasting memories and we have no doubt that you and your family will be back again soon one day! Thank you again for choosing the Stoneridge Mountain Resort.!

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We're a family of four Mum and Dad (35) two children (8,5). We had a two king bed mountain view suite. Discount available for AMA members and extended stays.

Stone Ridge is sheer quality. A mix of sleek modern design, a homely feel and exceptional customer care. We stayed four nights and used it as a base to explore the Rockies. Banff (20mins) Lake Louise (45mins). As a family we found Canmore far more preferable to Banff - not least because we had a beautiful kitchen and grill - and the girls could use up any spare energy in the pool. The town is smaller, quieter and more gentile. It's easier on the wallet too!
As a marker for service the hotel worked out it was my wife's birthday and left a wonderful surprise for us on the day - totally unexpected and genuine.

The best mark of a hotel is if you would rebook. We have two years here in Canada and are keen to travel. But on the strength of our stay we cancelled Christmas at a big hotel in The Rockies and New Year in the States in favour of Stone Ridge. We can now stay 10 instead of 7 days taking in Christmas and New Year because of the rate. So don't just pass through - stop a while - highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Rob P,

It was wonderful to have hosted you and your family and even better to hear this wonderful feedback from you! We have many avid followers among our staff of our Trip Advisor page here because they love to hear how they did and how they were able to help create a fond family memory of the Canadian Rockies. The team loves your pictures too!

We are extremely flattered that you have even gone as far as rearranging your plans for your next trip and chose to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back at Christmas. Be ready to do lots of skiing/snowboarding, dog sledding and ice skating! Thank you again for staying with us.

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in Aug 2014. Absolutely fantastic facilities and immaculate rooms. Staff very friendly and extremely helpful. General hotel also very well maintained and all surroundings kept in pristine condition. Would say, there are only a few rooms with the stunning rooms advertised... it would appear more rooms look onto the courtyard or other buildings opposed to the advertised views on the web page, however this did not make the stay any less enjoyable. Super in-room facilities with a separate kitchen/living area. All rooms come with a barbecue on the balcony and suites are well equipped to host for many. Very spacious and WiFi available throughout the hotel. Underground parking free of charge - this comes in very handy as the parking is very restricted in surrounding streets. Fantastic stay - would recommend to all. Very family friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McS1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear McS1992,

Thank you for taking the time to share your guest experience with fellow travelers her on our page on Trip Advisor.

With occupancy very high in the summer months, our team works especially hard at keeping the resort in tip top shape for our guests' enjoyment. In particular, I want to thank you for recognizing their engaging service as they really do put their heart and soul into providing the best experience possible for our guests!

We hope that we can expect you back again one day, perhaps for a ski adventure! Thank you for choosing to stay with us this summer!

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canmore
0.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
4.5 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,080 reviews
12.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.6 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.2 mi away
Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE

Property: Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Address: 30 Lincoln Park, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#1 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#2 Family Hotel in Canmore
#3 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite luxury condominium resort hotel nestled in the Canadian Rockies. 5-minute drive to Banff National Park. All suites incl. Full gourmet kitchen, fireplace, 42" & 32" HDTV’s, Ipod stereo, electronic safe, in Suite laundry & gas BBQ. Outdoor Heated pool, Hot Tub and Fitness Center. Available Wi-Fi and heated underground parking. Meeting, Banquet and Reception rooms available. Ridge Cafe (licenced)open daily serving up light meals, baked goods and specialty coffees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelClick, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoneridge Mountain Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing