We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful restaurant with fantastic food and service”
Review of Habitat Restaurant

Habitat Restaurant
Ranked #54 of 127 Restaurants in Canmore
Price range: US$11 - US$19
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bow Valley Trail
Description: HABITAT RESTAURANT Habitat is available for private group dining only. Please contact Habitat Group Sales for inquiries.
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Sunday evening Chateaubriand special is an incredible deal which we lucked into for our dinner. I started with a delicious crabcake appetizer and my husband had oysters that he pronounced were the best he's had. The filet was perfectly cooked and came with wonderful potatoes and a vegetable medley. The Triple Chocolate dessert was superb and paired perfectly with a high quality brewed coffee. Cocktails were great. Although we didn't order wine, they have a great selection. Service was great with careful and timely attention to every detail. The courses were well-paced; we didn't feel rushed or abandoned. I highly recommend Habitat for a special evening in Canmore.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nylady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRockiesResort, Administrative Assistant at Habitat Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Habitat Restaurant & Bar Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent dining experience with us.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your meals and that your husband believes our oysters were the best he's had. Also fantastic to hear that you liked your desert and that you would recommend us for a special evening in Canmore.

It is always great to receive feedback on our guests experience and we hope we can welcome you and your husband back to Habitat Restaurant in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lisa Hoppo
Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had dinner here on a tuesday night at 7:30 and were surprised to see only one other table occupied given the high rating on Tripadvisor. The food is very good and the service was friendly and efficient, although our server was not very knowledgeable about wine selectiions. Scenic view from our table and there is a small outside patio. I had the pork tenderloin and my husband had the salmon, both were fantastic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kjw60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRockiesResort, Administrative Assistant at Habitat Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Habitat Restaurant & Bar guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent dining experience with us.

We are pleased to hear that you liked your meals and that you thought our service was friendly and efficient. Our staff do strive to ensure that every guest has a great dining experience.

We hope we can welcome you back to our restaurant in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa Hoppo
Administration Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We took friends to this restaurant last night and as usual had a fantastic meal with great service. We highly recommend this restaurant. It has a modern decor, friendly service, and great food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jan78339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRockiesResort, Administrative Assistant at Habitat Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Habitat Restaurant & Bar guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent dining experience with us.

We are glad to hear that you had another fantastic meal with us and that you like our modern decor, friendly service and great food. Our staff strive to ensure that each and every guest has a great experience.

We hope we can welcome you back to our restaurant in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa Hoppo
Administration Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a beautiful restaurant without being pretentious. The tables are arranged in such a way that you almost feel like you are one of only a few select people to be there. Relaxing yet contemporary. And the food was very good. I had halibut and my husband had duck in a port wine glaze. While I did feel the halibut could have been hotter, the flavor was fabulous. We shared a salad which was quite nice. We also shared dessert, sticky toffee pudding, which was fine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WestTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRockiesResort, Administrative Assistant at Habitat Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Habitat Restaurant Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent dining experience with us.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your meals as well as the layout/setup of our restaurant.

We hope we can welcome you back to Habitat Restaurant in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lisa Hoppo
Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have spent a wonderful 3 weeks touring BC &Alberta and have enjoyed some splendid cuisine but this rates as the best. As part of a hotel and as an almost desperation booking three nights ago we did not expect much. But it was so good we went back tonight. We shared a chateaubriand which is not as expensive as it seems as the cost includes a starter, in our case piquant crab cakes, and a pudding - here we chose a chocolate bomb and a grand marnier creme brûlée. All were freshly cooked and to perfection. The Italian head waiter remembered us from 2 nights previously which always helps the ego. We had two different but efficient and attentive waiters John and Christian and to be honest for us it was just about perfect. Maybe soon they will get an up to date payment system to complete the perfect package!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Avante540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRockiesResort, Administrative Assistant at Habitat Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Habitat Restaurant Guest,

Thank you so much for writing a review on your recent dining experience with us.

Its great to hear that you enjoyed the Chateaubriand three course dinner and that all the meals you chose were cooked to perfection and fully enjoyed. Its also great to recieve such amazing feedback on our servers. They really take pride in ensuring that each and every guest has an amazing experience.

We hope we can welcome you back to Habitat Restaurant in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lisa Hoppo
Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Habitat Restaurant also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Habitat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing