We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really Good Value”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Canmore was our first stop in the Rockies on a recent Canadian road trip. The Rocky Mountain Inn is conveniently situated for the town's main facilities, and it stood out very positively amongst the dozen or so hotels we stayed in during our trip. Large, comfortable room, very clean, airy and well appointed. The buffet breakfast offered a wide variety of good quality food and, unlike some places we stayed in, there was always space in the breakfast room. An original and very welcome feature was the large sitting room with open fire, a variety of board games, and complimentary coffee. The front desk staff were absolute stars, particularly Geoffrey, who was incredibly helpful, and a colleague of his who gave us detailed local wildlife information. The whole place had a very positive, friendly and comfortable vibe to it AND it was excellent value for money. Canmore is charming and unspoilt and being just outside the national park, it is not prone to the crowds and inflated prices of Banff and Jasper.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 899Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
I have to agree with you that the Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn is a special property. Thank you very much for your kind words. You are welcome at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    113
    40
    8
    10
See reviews for
58
108
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our trip. A friendly welcome by staff desk, clean comfortable rooms and a good breakfast-big waffles. Canmore is a lovely town, beautiful setting with all that you could need.Staff gave us ideas on where to go and see the local wildlife and we saw lots of bears.Good value for money.The Safeway must have one of the best views from its car park.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. I am very happy you found our staff friendly and informative. It must have been exciting to see some bears!
Come and visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The front desk staff is great. As mentioned in other reviews, the foyer with 24/7 coffee, tea and the wood-burning fireplace with a view of the mountains is very welcoming. Wifi is good throughout. The continental breakfast has cereal, apple juice and OJ, muffins, bagels, fruit, cinnamon bread, hardboiled eggs, and a waffle maker with blueberry topping!

Check in was easy and quick. The room was large and relatively clean (definitely acceptable, although the bathroom had a few hairs here and there). Rooms have a small balcony with two chairs.

Overall the value of this hotel, for about $100/night is excellent and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joddypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to review your stay. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the overall value of the hotel as “Excellent”.
Please come again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
153 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

All of the people in our belgian group regretted we had to stay there for 3 nights. Rooms very old, but especially dirty. Bed linen urgently needs replacement. Towels in the bathroom with black, blue and brown stains, horrible. When we placed the towels in the bath (in all hotels meaning you want to have them replaced), they were put back again in the bathroom with the dirty stains. No body wash in the rooms, though there were dispensers which had not been filled for centuries. Curtains falling down from the window and pigeon sh...... on the windows. Carpets in room dirty!
Breakfast a real disaster. Fruit juice had to be delivered during breakfast and machine did not function. No milk available for cereals, after having asked several times, milk finally arrived. Coffee to be asked for several times. Staff always replied that is not my responsibilty! Plates and cups dirty. The worst hotel during our USA/CANADA trip. Will advise our tour operator accordingly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YolandeRousseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
I have to admit that I was absolutely shocked by your comments. We have been receiving very good comments about our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. (See below)

I called a general meeting to figure out what went wrong during your stay. The executive housekeeping has been working on the floors since to fix all the issues. The front desk manager had a training session with his staff.

The tour company you used has been coming to our property for years. It is the very first time that they reported any issues. I would like to apologize if your stay was less than perfect and we have made a commitment to your tour operator that it will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrison, NY
Level Contributor
80 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Check in was friendly and quick; room was very large and clean. Although we faced the main street, we had a lovely view and it was quiet at night. The wifi was free and quite fast, and we very much enjoyed the continental breakfast, which had lots of options and plenty of seating. We would suggest, however, that the breakfast server try to keep the coffee and orange juice full! If we are in Canmore we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
We will forward your comments to the kitchen manager and we look forward to your next visit. Call us anytime we are here 24 hours a day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brimpton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

If staff can sell a room then Canmore rocky mountain inn fits the bill. The front desk staff were so helpful and friendly that we decided to stay based on that alone. Once we got into the room we were very pleasantly surprised clean,nice mountain view and a great breakfast. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. Please contact us directly for your next reservation and do not hesitate to inform us of how we may make your stay even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Decided on a last-minute trip to Canmore over Easter weekend, so accommodations were somewhat limited. This hostelry turned out to be a real surprise. Okay, it lacks the basic facilities that so many other hotels in the area boast but it is warm and inviting, the staff are very friendly and it is spotlessly clean. They even throw in a continental breakfast at no extra charge. But the best bit: we rented a twin room for four of us (2 adults, 2 small children) for under $100 per night. Highly recommended if you're planning on a short stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor offer best views and have small balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for your review. We invite you to return anytime and please expect the same great service and friendly staff each and every time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.2 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.1 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 29 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.5 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 29 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
1.3 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#19 of 29 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn

Property: Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Address: 1719 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada (Formerly Westridge Country Inn)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy Hotel in the Canadian Rocky Mountains, Canmore, Alberta, near Banff National Park. 3.5 stars Canada Select. Retreat for vacations and conventions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canmore Rocky Mountain Hotel Canmore
Westridge Country Hotel
Country Inn Canmore
Canmore Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing