We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed for several nights at the railroad retreat. Very comfortable and well-equipped. You do hear the trains go by just a few meters away, but with everything closed it was not bad. The kids enjoyed the pool table, the foosball table and the hot tub.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tinchote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

What a treat! We spent 4 nights there in early March, got it because of the price, but were happily surprised by many things. Friends from a much more expensive hotel came over to join us for an evening of chatting and visiting because their common spaces just could not compare – more on that later. Canmore Rocky Mtn Inn is kind of like us (a couple of young seniors, mid-60s), a bit weary looking in some respects, but doing a solid job overall. We don't need flash, just a good, quiet, comfortable place to relax after a long day of snowshoeing or hiking. The room was OK, clean and everything worked, with a good bed and shower, which works for us, because really, other than sleeping, we're almost never in the room, so prefer not to spend a lot on showy or perfect rooms. A push button gas fireplace was a nice touch. No pool, no hot tub, no problem. Free parking and power for the car, easy access to the rooms. The continental breakfast was just perfect - fresh fruit, milk, juices, tea, coffee, hot choc, good variety of muffins, breads, etc., and the do-it-yourself waffles. Daily papers, current news on a monitor mounted high. Easy chats with fellow travelers just happen. Again, just right. A great way to start our day. A jewel has got to be the big front room - what a treat - the lobby desk quietly sits at a corner of this very big room, rustically framed, with a great fireplace at the far end, furnished with big stuffed comfy chairs and sofas. This was an old antiquey kind of fireplace – you know, the kind that burns real logs, and has a 3’-4’ high fire, blasting out heat and light. In the daytime the wall of glass lets you look south onto the mountains; at night, the same glass reflects the fire light. Several games are placed around, waiting to be played, including a huge table top chess board with, mmm, maybe 6" pawns, etc. Chess we did not play - who could concentrate with the view out the window of the gorgeous mountains, which just got me lost in my thoughts in no time. Coffee & tea were always available right there. Jeffrey was our host most evenings, and could be a role model of the perfect front desk staffer. Attentive, knowledgeable, friendly, happy to help with anything he can – like starting a fresh fire for us, then putting on soft classical music for us, then taking a few pictures for me to remind us of the bliss. Seriously, we just soaked up the ambiance. The day staff was also excellent. They've all got the right stuff. Kudos to Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn for a job well done!

Room Tip: Ask the staff. Tell them what you'd like, ask what they've got, and what they would therefo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveCgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to provide such a well rounded review of our property. We’re absolutely thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you felt comfortable to enough to entertain others in our grand lobby. We hope to see you again soon. Please don’t hesitate to let us know how we can make your next trip extra special. We are here 24 hours a day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

great place, well kept, quite (stayed on the backside of the building, didn't hear any noise from the train or the highway) , beds very comfortable. gas fireplace a nice touch. management and staff very friendly and accommodating would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadHatterMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We’re pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations and welcome you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had stayed at this hotel when it was called ‘Westridge’ mainly because it was pet friendly and had returned to it under new ownership a couple of times. Jeffrey was very helpful during the reservation process. We also appreciated the hot beverages at the front desk. We had a room with double beds but found the washroom to be relatively small. The hotel is starting to show some signs of aging. They have obviously replaced some of the fixtures, but the caulking around the sink was loose and other wear and tears indicated major renovations may be needed soon. The air conditioning unit blow directly onto one bed so it may be uncomfortable and cold for those sleeping close to the unit. For other hotels with similar set up, we usually place a chair to block of direct air flow, but this unit had the bed too close to the air conditioning unit so there was nothing we could do about it. The bed sheets were quite worn out with lint balls, and pillows are lumpy. However, the beds are comfortable. The breakfast was nice and adequate. Based on the price, we may try another place the next time we are in Canmore.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NMJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We will forward your comments to the appropriate department heads so that we may have these issues tended to. We’re thrilled to hear that you found our beds to be very comfortable and our breakfast to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Good value, like the place. We were in need of a resting spot on our way through. It is close to the main road yet quite. The carpet had recently been replaced. In the morning when we wanted to leave, the girl behind the desk pointed us to a family restaurant just down the road. Great!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We’re pleased to hear how we exceeded your expectations. We hope to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We love coming to this Inn. The room is basic but the bed extremely comfortable. We loved the balcony on a warm sunny day. The best part is the lounge with a huge fireplace. So easy to settle down there in the comfortable furniture with a book, a cup of tea or coffee, which are always on, and observe the beautiful mountains out the windows. The breakfast is ample. We have stayed multiple times.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swans0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. Your kind words warm our hearts. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The room was basic, but clean and had a comfortable bed. The highlight of the stay was the friendly service followed by the nice continental breakfast. The view from the back was great, but there is a nice balcony.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your review. Please come and stay with us again where you will always find a clean and comfortable room and a warm a friendly smile.
Thanks for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.2 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.5 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 28 in Canmore
1,000 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.1 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
1.4 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn

Address: 1719 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada (Formerly Westridge Country Inn)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range: £58 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy Hotel in the Canadian Rocky Mountains, Canmore, Alberta, near Banff National Park. 3.5 stars Canada Select. Retreat for vacations and conventions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canmore Rocky Mountain Hotel Canmore
Westridge Country Hotel
Country Inn Canmore
Canmore Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing