We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fine Accomodation”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I booked one night in the Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn. We attempted to add a second night to another Canmore hotel we had booked previously, but they did not have a vacancy available. Although we were very satisfied with the accommodations we paid about 1/3 more at the Rocky Mountain Inn than the other establishment.
We were satisfied with our room; two beds, door opening to the outside on the ground floor, a nice gas fireplace (that we did not need) There was coffee and tea in the room, but since it was provided so conveniently a few steps away in the lobby, I didn't use it. The area in which the Rocky Mountain Inn surpassed our other accommodations was in the common area and breakfast. There was nice seating, games, coffee & tea, apples, and a bright airy lobby area looking toward the mountains if you wished to spend time outside your room. Some of the decorations are a bit tired and give a little outdated feeling. Breakfast included the typical breads, muffins, and yogurt, but also had waffle maker, cold cuts and cheese. This, I believe, was a nod to the German guests whose tour group books at this hotel. It made my husband very happy.
We would stay here again. Our priority was a reasonable price for a good night sleep in a clean room with an easy breakfast in the morning. We may have received a more reasonable rate if we were able to call the hotel directly and not book through a third party provider.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan_1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to review your stay with us. We’re thrilled to hear you were pleased with the location and all of the amenities we have to offer. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our European Style breakfast and we hope that you come again and stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    121
    43
    9
    10
See reviews for
61
114
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Staff here were very helpful and welcoming. Had advised hotel we might arrive late and they had actually taken note of this and our arrival at 11.15 pm didn't phase them. Our room was spacious with two double beds, a nice sized bathroom, a fridge and microwave. We had a great view of the mountains from our ground floor window / patio (Room 111). The room was well insulated and so we didn't really hear the freight trains that pass through Canmore regularly. Continental breakfast was available in the large breakfast room and was all you needed - toast, muffins, bagels, fresh fruit,coffee, fruit juice, cereals and make your own waffles. We were great fans of the public lounge area, which was done out in a rustic style with lots of comfy sofa's and a roaring log fire. Spent some nice evenings here with a glass of wine listening to the music and watching the fire. Really recommend this hotel and we will certainly use it when we return to Canmore in the future.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are very accessible. Recommend room 111 at front of the building with direct acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to provide such a well rounded review of our property. Everything you could want in a stay you can find at The Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn. Please come for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
648 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I see that this hotel was rated at 16 out of 33 Canmore Hotels at the time I write this, so I gave it an Excellent rating to up its ranking. I stayed here because it was one of the cheapest I could find in the Banff Canmore area. It was very good and the breakfast was better than most free ones I have had, since it included waffles and eggs along with the regular fare. The room was quiet and clean and spacious. So although it was low priced it was much better than many places I have stayed in the area.

Room Tip: Street side is better than train side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMahdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitangata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights recently and enjoyed this hotel. We had two double beds in our room, a little balcony with some chairs overlooking the mountains, a good sized bathroom, fridge, microwave, tv, desk and hanging space for clothes. We booked due to a deal on Booking.com and were very pleased. The continental breakfast that was included was great and very convenient. There was a good range of things to choose from: toast, bagels, muffins, pastries, English muffins, cereal, fruit, tea, coffee and waffles...what more could you want! We also enjoyed the large 'living room' area near reception that provided comfy chairs, board games and reading material.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tatestheword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. Please come back again soon, kick back and enjoy your stay. We’re always here to help and serve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed for several nights at the railroad retreat. Very comfortable and well-equipped. You do hear the trains go by just a few meters away, but with everything closed it was not bad. The kids enjoyed the pool table, the foosball table and the hot tub.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinchote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

What a treat! We spent 4 nights there in early March, got it because of the price, but were happily surprised by many things. Friends from a much more expensive hotel came over to join us for an evening of chatting and visiting because their common spaces just could not compare – more on that later. Canmore Rocky Mtn Inn is kind of like us (a couple of young seniors, mid-60s), a bit weary looking in some respects, but doing a solid job overall. We don't need flash, just a good, quiet, comfortable place to relax after a long day of snowshoeing or hiking. The room was OK, clean and everything worked, with a good bed and shower, which works for us, because really, other than sleeping, we're almost never in the room, so prefer not to spend a lot on showy or perfect rooms. A push button gas fireplace was a nice touch. No pool, no hot tub, no problem. Free parking and power for the car, easy access to the rooms. The continental breakfast was just perfect - fresh fruit, milk, juices, tea, coffee, hot choc, good variety of muffins, breads, etc., and the do-it-yourself waffles. Daily papers, current news on a monitor mounted high. Easy chats with fellow travelers just happen. Again, just right. A great way to start our day. A jewel has got to be the big front room - what a treat - the lobby desk quietly sits at a corner of this very big room, rustically framed, with a great fireplace at the far end, furnished with big stuffed comfy chairs and sofas. This was an old antiquey kind of fireplace – you know, the kind that burns real logs, and has a 3’-4’ high fire, blasting out heat and light. In the daytime the wall of glass lets you look south onto the mountains; at night, the same glass reflects the fire light. Several games are placed around, waiting to be played, including a huge table top chess board with, mmm, maybe 6" pawns, etc. Chess we did not play - who could concentrate with the view out the window of the gorgeous mountains, which just got me lost in my thoughts in no time. Coffee & tea were always available right there. Jeffrey was our host most evenings, and could be a role model of the perfect front desk staffer. Attentive, knowledgeable, friendly, happy to help with anything he can – like starting a fresh fire for us, then putting on soft classical music for us, then taking a few pictures for me to remind us of the bliss. Seriously, we just soaked up the ambiance. The day staff was also excellent. They've all got the right stuff. Kudos to Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn for a job well done!

Room Tip: Ask the staff. Tell them what you'd like, ask what they've got, and what they would therefo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveCgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to provide such a well rounded review of our property. We’re absolutely thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you felt comfortable to enough to entertain others in our grand lobby. We hope to see you again soon. Please don’t hesitate to let us know how we can make your next trip extra special. We are here 24 hours a day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

great place, well kept, quite (stayed on the backside of the building, didn't hear any noise from the train or the highway) , beds very comfortable. gas fireplace a nice touch. management and staff very friendly and accommodating would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadHatterMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We’re pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations and welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.2 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.1 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.5 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 28 in Canmore
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 28 in Canmore
523 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.5 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn

Property: Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Address: 1719 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada (Formerly Westridge Country Inn)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy Hotel in the Canadian Rocky Mountains, Canmore, Alberta, near Banff National Park. 3.5 stars Canada Select. Retreat for vacations and conventions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canmore Rocky Mountain Hotel Canmore
Westridge Country Hotel
Country Inn Canmore
Canmore Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing