We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Traverse city, MI, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Satisfactory”
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We stayed at RMSL for 7 days. The room was spacious; staff was friendly and helpful. It was unseasonably warm, however, during this week, and the air conditioner did not cool off the bedroom at all. We asked for a fan, and were told they only had two, both being used. We couldn't leave the windows open all night because we were on the ground floor. It was too hot to sleep several nights. The bed/pillows were quite hard We were also on the road side of the motel, and the train/road noise kept us awake, as well. If we return, we would ask for a unit in the back of the building to cut down the noise.

  • Liked — Staff was very nice and helpful
  • Disliked — Noise from outside and too hot in the room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommas1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    184
    60
    12
    2
See reviews for
135
164
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, B.C. Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

First, two positives: there was almost no noise at all from the nearby highway or the railway - very quiet all night. Second, the staff had an excellant recommendation for a place for breakfast in the morning - Chez Pierre's just down the road.

However, while there seem to be more modern parts to the facility which may be just fine, the room we were assigned was in what appears to be a tired 1950's strip motel. The room smelled musty, large stains on the carpet, part of the vanity held up by two unpainted peices of plywood jammed underneath, previous plumbing lines to nowhere still hanging loose on the wall, the matress creaked loudly whenever we turned over in bed, and the bottom sheet was too short to tuck in at the head and too narrow to tuck in on both sides. We'd stayed in Canmore before at a more expensive hotel and thought we'd try something cheaper. After paying for breakfast in a restaurant, we would have spent the same on a nice room with free breakfast.

I would highly recommend this as a great place for a group of young people going skiing in Banff who want a cheap place to crash at night. Maybe that's why it's called a "Ski Lodge". But for their parents, like us, who would like something a little more comfortable there are better choices.

  • Liked — Quiet.
  • Disliked — Run-down.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank H_and_C_early_60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

I found the receptionist on our check in less than interested which was a real shame as this was our first accommodation on reaching Canada.

Although I did not get the apartment I had requested - I had asked for a 1 bed ½ bath loft apartment with separate bedroom and got a 2 bed no extra bath one - the one we were given could not be faulted. We had spectacular views out over the 3 Sisters mountain which more than made up for it.

It is obvious that some money does need to be spent on this complex as it was what I consider to be shabby chic but very clean.

I would not like to have tried staying with the 6-8 people the apartment was supposed to cater for since the lounge area was compact and there would be insufficient seating for that number. We stayed with 3 adults and it was fine.

It is situated on the Bow Valley Trail and just back from the railway line, neither of which bothered us in the least. In fact it was great to be able to watch the great rains as they passed if we wished during the day - a real novelty for us.

Getting into Canmore was a 3 minute drive and a gentle saunter for those with no walking disabilities and all on the flat.

  • Liked — Rustic charm
  • Disliked — noisy neighbours
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank night-nurse001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2008

We stayed here in 2005. It has really declined since. The room was dirty and was not cleaned after we specifically asked them to clean it when we were out. The pipes bang all night long so it is impossible to sleep. The thermostat could not be adjusted so it was too hot to sleep and the windows do not open.

A tour bus arrived around 2 AM and the occupants were very loud when they exited. The motor was left running for almost an hour!

The only plus is that it is pet friendly BUT the room we had did not have a patio or balcony so we had to join our dog outside every time he needed to go.

The staff were friendly although they are all foreign students and don't know much about the area.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank blc612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmsl_canmore, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2008
We were very disappointed to read your negative review about the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge. After reading your comments, I am certain you have the wrong hotel.

If we had mistakenly missed cleaning your room, when asked we would have apologized and returned to clean it.

Also, we do not allow groups to arrive after 10 pm for exactly the reasons you mentioned. We have never had complaints about pipes banging so I am at a loss to respond to that. In all our rooms the thermostats are fully adjustable. The windows are all new (less than 2 years old) with simple locking systems and all open easily in every room.

Yes, we are pet friendly in ‘some’ of our rooms in our motel section and recommend that patrons walk their dogs to a green space owned by RMSL which is adjacent to our property. While we do have rooms with patios and balconies, we would not suggest any patron with pets use a balcony or patio for a ’visit to nature’.

In our defence, we have just received in April, our 13 annual AHLA housekeeping award. Also we were again nominated for the award by the Alberta Hotel & Lodging Association just last week for the upcoming year. We take this very seriously and with pride continue to improve and update our property.

We also take pride in having friendly, well trained staff who have been with us for a number of years and are knowledgeable about the area and what it offers.

While we empathize with this reviewer’s comments, we feel that we have been wrongly accused. We invite the reviewer to contact us to stay at the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge and experience a positive stay in Canmore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2008

The Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge was a very convenient transitional stop between Calgary, where we landed, and our tour of the Rockies. We found the staff very friendly and helpful - they could provide info about the area and even lent us a vacuum cleaner for our car (Avis in Calgary had rented us a car which cleanliness was very much below acceptable standards, but that's another story).

Our room, located on the second floor, was large enough for 4 and clean. The Inn is fairly close to the main road - you could hear the traffic a little bit if the window on that side was open, but not enough to be bothersome since that window on the bathroom side. We had a nice view of the mountains from the deck.

All in all, we found it was a sensible and affordable choice for a night in Canmore.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancNord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, AB
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2007

We went to the Rocky Montain Ski Lodge one night in August 2007. The lodge is very nice. We had been there previously a couple years ago for a skiing holiday stay. The outside is not 5 stars but adequate. The rooms are very, very spacious and include your own kitchenette with stove, oven, fridge and all the accesories you would need. It is also dog friendly which is great for us but the rooms are super clean. Each room has it own entrance - motel type. There is a large hot tub and great sauna which are especially good in the winter. We stayed in a room with 2 double beds which gave us lots of room for around 110 Canadian dollars, not bad price for Canmore. The Service was great, we even got in early because we were in town early. The Bistro accross the street was good but a little over rated but the creme brulee was to die for. The view is great from outside the room. We love a little cafe type restaurant in Canmore called the Bear Paw which makes it our beer and has a great 7 layer dip!

  • Liked — rooms with good price
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjs035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2007

This being the first time ever being to Canmore, I was unsure of what to expect. The staff was very nice and the property looked nice. The room however smelled very musky, and the housekeepers must have just finished cleaning our room, they were cleaning the room next door, when I went to my room, and there were like 5 bags of garbage around our door that I had to climb over to enter my room. The rooms was older and outdated, and the carpet very dirty and smelly. The bathroom roof was moldy and looked like it could fall on someone in the shower at any moment. If I had to come to Camore again, I would only stay here if I had no other place in the entire town to stay first. Besides that, the location is excellent and the staff is very helpful.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.2 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
0.3 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
1.3 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.6 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 29 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge

Property: Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Address: 1711 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Canmore
#8 Family Hotel in Canmore
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming, clean and customer service-oriented, the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge offers a variety of accommodation options from standard rooms to studio and apartment condominiums in Canmore, Alberta. All rooms have fridges, wireless Internet access and great mountain views. Enjoy amenities such as a Jacuzzi, sauna, laundry room, playground and barbecue. Weekly rates are available. Convenient location in Canmore and 5 km (3 mi) from Banff National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Ski Hotel Canmore
Rocky Mountain Ski Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing