We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel, very clean, well stocked (kitchenette), friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel, very clean, well stocked (kitchenette), friendly staff.”
Reviewed 18 July 2009

I was very pleased with our hotel. We wanted a kitchenette and were happy to find a very clean facility, fully stocked with the kitchen equipment we needed. The rooms are updated, modern, clean and rustic (in a nice sort of way). We only stayed one night, but after seeing the room, we wished we would have booked longer. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    184
    60
    12
    2
See reviews for
135
164
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

First off this is a great location from which to explore the Rockies. We paid CAD$134, which with the dreaded tax comes out at CAD150 (£83 at current rates).
The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are very good (no foreign students as a previous visitor wrote?).
The downside for us was the plumbing. It is so noisy on the ground floor that sleep is often interrupted. Unfortunately we must have had a lunatic above us first night as the water never stopped running. I think they must have run a bath at 3am!
Fair play to the manager, when he heard the noise after the second night he moved us pronto and although there was an improvement, a peaceful night's sleep for my daughter in the living room proved elusive. The refrigerator was also very loud unless the door was left open, which we had to do on the last night there.
I may stay here again but would be tempted to pay extra for a first floor room, then again if there was another accommodation close by for around the same price I may be tempted to try elsewhere.
Bonus for us was the rabbits and ground squirrels that inhabit the locality - highly amusing at times. Also take the river float tour, very good.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pole
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

We stayed here in October 2008. Our room was spacious,nice and clean. The bathroom was fairly clean.There was a coffee maker with free coffee and tea bags.The best thing was the location. As we stepped out of the room we were surrounded by mountains on all sides. It was beautiful.There was a breakfast place just behind the lodge and a couple of other restaurants within walking distance.Downtown was about five minutes by car.
The service was friendly.
Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CDceedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Even though the hotel is slightly dated it is very reasonably priced and everything is clean. The staff was friendly and everything in working order.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonym6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
270 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Super 360 degree mountain views; spotless room; quiet jacuzzi; helpful staff. Wireless internet is not free as advertised.

Eating: Sage pricey but average. Craigs family restaurant good for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattinbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RMSL, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge, responded to this review, 27 May 2009
Thank you for your kind comments about the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge. Please be advised that our Wireless Internet access is FREE and always has been free. We can only assume that when you came on to the network you interpreted our message ‘try free for 15 minutes’ to mean there may be a charge afterward. In fact, it is set in place this way so that after 15 minutes, a guest would have to contact the front desk for a login code. This allows us control over who is using our system and limits non-motel-guests from using our bandwidth.
Having said that, we will change the wording to: ‘after 15 minutes of trial use, please contact the front desk for a secure login code’.

We hope you will return again sometime and take advantage of the Free Wireless Internet Access.

Sincerely,

Donna Trautman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2009

For those of us on a budget who can't afford $ 175 CDN and up a night for a Rocky Mountain vacation the $110 CDN / night price for a well- appointed 1 br apt is great !

Pet - friendly place with staff who are willing to address any concerns we had right on the spot .!

Our room also smelled musty but a visit to the office and it was looked after right away .!

Sometime I think people writing these reviews look for any shortfall with a place and don't bother approaching the staff with their concerns or expect it to be looked after immediately . Pretty unreasonable and unrealistic expectation of any accomodation staff in my opinion .

To the guest who had to step over the garbage , could you not have asked the staff member to move the garbage out of your way , or , heaven forbid , move them yourself ?

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bentcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2008

We stayed here for one night whilst travelling through Canada.
Rooms were basic but clean with comfortable beds and reasonable sized bathroom.
Plenty of information in the room for travellers and close to local supermarkets and main high street.
The hotel is pet friendly and has a playground for children.
There can't be many budget hotels that can boast the views this one has from its parking lot!

Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Werthersoriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.2 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
0.3 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
1.3 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.6 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 29 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge

Property: Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Address: 1711 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Canmore
#8 Family Hotel in Canmore
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming, clean and customer service-oriented, the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge offers a variety of accommodation options from standard rooms to studio and apartment condominiums in Canmore, Alberta. All rooms have fridges, wireless Internet access and great mountain views. Enjoy amenities such as a Jacuzzi, sauna, laundry room, playground and barbecue. Weekly rates are available. Convenient location in Canmore and 5 km (3 mi) from Banff National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Ski Hotel Canmore
Rocky Mountain Ski Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing