We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambleside Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Canmore
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampshire Inn(Canmore)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
169
20
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
20
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssue's breakfastsb bgreat hostsmountain guidehomemade muffinsset us up for the daymid morning snackglass screeninteresting informationrestaurant reservationsen suite facilitieshill walkingtea and coffee making facilitieskananaskis countrybeautiful fireplacetwo nightseasy walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I cannot express enough how much I enjoyed staying with Sue and Dave. A Bed and Breakfast that will make you feel as though you are staying with family - the advise on local companies to use and places to visit alone was invaluable. Both rooms used were very comfortable, So good we stayed for 4 nights longer than we booked. Best breakfast in Canada - you have to book a night here just to try the breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My wife and I had our first trip to Canada and were fortunate to pick the most friendly and knowla-dgeable hosts possible. Sue and David made us feel as if we were at home. We stayed in the CPR room and were really impressed with the comfort and decor. Sue makes a fantastic breakfast that sets you up for your days adventures, and makes muffins for you to take out as an added bonus. David took time to set out routes for us so we could take in so many of the places we would have missed if we had just followed our own ideas of where to go. This made the holiday extra special. So much so we are going back to stay there again as we were made so welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This is a delightful B&B with all the comfort of a home away from home. The residence is a short walk to the the picturescue town of Canmore at the foot of the Rocky mountains. This B&B is beautifully appointed witha strong focus on the local heritage and the mountains.We had a very comfortable room with ensuite and the bed and pillows were a welcome treat to us tired travellers. Sue and David are the hosts of this lovely establishment and together provide excellent personal service and great local knowledge tips for those exploring the mountain attractions. Sue and David provide a wonderful freshly baked breakfast that will be long remembered as part of the experience. They sent us off each day with a full written itinerary of local attractions and a lunch treat of baked muffins from morning breakfast. Take full advantage of this B& B and book three nights at least, to fully enjoy this location. Great value for money and I will recommending Ambleside Lodge to all my friends travelling this way from Australia.As a closure, I would be remiss in not mentioning David's assistance after arriving in the evening at the location with a punctured tire on our hire car. Before we had even got out of bed the next morning,David had inflated the flat tire with a hand pump to asist us in getting to a local tyre repair center who did not charge us for the repair.Wonderful assistance and great service. Thank you again for a lovely stay. Oh, did I mention the eggs Benedict for breakfast, you will just have to see how good these are for yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, went horseback riding. It was our 40th anniversary trip . Came from Florida.
Great alternative to Banff. Very comfortable place. Cute town, great restaurants. Sue and Dave are great hosts and their son and his family are very friendly also. We would stay again if we came back. Wonderful Breakfast.

Room Tip: i choose the one with the most windows. Not sure which one it was.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATHALEENA6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My boyfriend surprised me with a trip to Canmore for a night, he chose Ambleside over the hotels in Canmore because we have never really tried a B&B... Sue and Dave, are great hosts. We stayed in the CN Rail room and it was quaint and comfy. we woke up to champagne flutes filled with berries and yogurt, then had an amazing eggs and toast course (Sue even made the toast look like a house) and then she made fresh scones... my boyfriend is still talking about the scones over a month later! I would recommend the Ambleside to anyone looking to stay in Canmore. It is a quick walk downtown to shops and restaurants (Sue and Dave recommended the Trough to us for dinner... BEST dinner of my life). Can't wait till our next trip to Canmore, and to the Ambleside Lodge!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeaghanHines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews