We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value for money”
Review of Bow Valley Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bow Valley Motel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Amazing value for money”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Canmore is a delightful town set in stunning scenery, with plenty to do and see, and this motel, conveniently located in Main Street close to shops and eating places, represents excellent value for money. Overlooking a small creek with wildfowl and with the mountains as a backdrop it couldn't be better located.
It is not 5-star luxury but it is kept very clean and the daily maid service was excellent. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. We stayed for a week in a room with a kitchenette, but also had some of our party in a standard room. In both rooms it was clear that updating of furnishings and fittings was taking place - some items were new, others needed replacing, but the overall impression was good, especially considering the very good rates. The rooms were warm and cosy, and the beds very comfortable. The only small negative was that there was rather a mixed assortment of crockery/cutlery/glassware in the kitchenette and the pots/pans left a bit to be desired! We would agree with another reviewer that for a long stay the space to hang clothes is a bit limited.
It was mostly very quiet throughout our stay (even being on Main Street there was no road noise) but the downside of this type of building is that noise from other rooms does travel very badly. On the occasions when there were other guests above us we heard every chair scrape, every word spoken and every toilet activity!! However there's not much that the owner could do about this.
Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and hope to return in the future.Thanks to all at Bow Valley Motel.

Room Tip: From our experience of a ground floor room being noisy from guests above, maybe an upstairs room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dilly4472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    101
    22
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
140
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Cheap and cheerful! Great location- right at the beginning of the main streets of shops and resteraunts. Also just a 15min drive from banff. Tge room was clean and spacious - Great value for money. Only downside is the very loud heating system- if you keep it on through the night it may very well wake you up! The staff are also very friendly and will give you info for things to do in and around canmore and banff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We enjoyed our 8 night stay at the Bow Valley Motel. We had an upstairs, corner room that was quite large with a separate bedroom. The price was very reasonable, the place was clean, the office staff were friendly, the maid was friendly, beautiful view of the mountains from our windows and the bed was comfortable (we slept great). I noticed right away how clean the bedding was. I did appreciate that, of course. Some places I have stayed the bedspread looks like it has not been cleaned in ages! We had no issues with noise as it seemed to quiet down quite a bit at night. We loved the town of Canmore and were so glad we stayed there instead of Banff. It didn't take us that long to drive to Banff and do some sightseeing there. There are some fun places to eat in Canmore and we look forward to coming back to Canmore. We liked how everything was within walking distance. Policeman's Creek boardwalk is just across the road and a nice walk. We did that and several other walks to warm up for the hiking we were going to do.

Just a few friendly suggestions for the owners. It would help to have a towel rack next to the shower instead of behind the door. There is room to hang one there, just below the window. Also, a few more hooks to hang clothes on would be helpful. For those who stay for more than one night more hanging options would be nice (not just the one by the front door).

Thanks again to the group at Bow Valley Motel for a fun 8 night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Lilyofthefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We love this place...it was a lot cheaper than staying in Banff (a 15 minute drive)...it has recently been redone and is extremely clean. We were able to get a room with a kitchenette which included a refrigerator, kitchen sink, range, kitchen table, adequate kitchen tools and plates, and a Keurig Coffee Maker stocked with some great coffee!!! The motel is at the edge of Main Street which allows you to take a few steps and you are walking down the street where all of the shops and restaurants are...HOW CONVENIENT IS THAT? This is a perfect place to use as a base camp for you and your family to be centrally located to all of the Banff area attractions. It is not as full of tourists as Banff is either. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed here for a week, very reasonably priced, pleasant staff ,clean rooms. What a fantastic town, beats Banff, too busy there. Great base to explore from. Will stay here again when we go back, hopefully soon. Long way from Australia though!

Room Tip: Had to lug suitcases up a flight of stairs, but worth it for the view. Only had to take up once down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

You don't notice that some of the furniture is dated because everything is spotless, and there is a flat-screen on the wall. We had room 42 on the top floor so we had no issues with noise. Front desk closes at 11:00 PM.
Friendly staff!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank is1groovygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We enjoyed our last night in the Rockies here and wondered why we had never come to Canmore before. We had a nice room on the second floor with a fridge and stovetop. The view of the mountains was amazing. Canmore is beautiful and we enjoyed walking the main street and visiting various shops and galleries (and seeing Jason Carter's sculptures and paintings). The town is much quieter and cheaper than Banff and just as beautiful. There were lots of good places to eat near the motel, including the great Gaucho's Brazilian Barbecue. There is also a very nice boardwalk trail close to the motel. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RobTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.6 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.3 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 28 in Canmore
949 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 28 in Canmore
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow Valley Motel

Property: Bow Valley Motel
Address: 610 Main St, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2B5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow Valley Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bow Valley Motel welcomes you to Main Street in the Mountains an ideal base for the independent traveler, family, or small group. Clean, comfortable, affordable accommodations with the wonder of the peaks all around you. 25 spacious rooms with one or two queen beds - each providing complementary coffee, fridge, cable TV, telephone, full bath and free wireless internet. Some units with kitchens, upper and ground units upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bow Valley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Valley Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing