We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff & view make this place”
Review of Bow Valley Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bow Valley Motel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Staff & view make this place”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a good two nights stay in July. We had a quiet room on the third level with a great view outside our door. The room came with a fridge, air conditioning and WIFI. There's no lift at this motel so getting heavy bags to the 3rd floor is a chore. This motel is in the middle of town within walking distance of many restaurants. As mentioned in other reviews, the office staff were more then friendly and helped make the stay great. We used this motel to explore Banff attractions which is about 22 Km away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    98
    22
    2
    3
See reviews for
38
136
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The lady working at the front desk was wonderful and made you feel very welcomed and made sure if you needed anything at all she would help!
The rooms were very clean,comfortable and warm as you can control your own heat! Was great as we happen to be there when the temperature outside went to -41 that night.The outside plugs in to plug the car in was a added benefit that cold night.
We would stay there again it's a great value in a fantastic setting in the mountains..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paisley-scotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had a great stay at the Motel! The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was cozy and quiet and right in the heart of Canmore. We actually enjoyed Canmore even more than Banff as it felt more 'original' and less touristy.

The motel must have been remodelled not too long ago. Our bathroom was brand new and although not fancy, it was very clean and functional
The room had good, reliable WIFI and plenty of Cable channels..and aCA$70 the room was well worth the money.

Would definitely recommend my friends to stay at this Motel if they're in Canmore.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank el_ser83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Alberta
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

In a nutshell, if you are looking for a safe, clean motel to stay in, that is close to everything you need, and at a reasonable price, I would recommend Bow Valley.

I didn't feel very appreciated, either coming or going, by the lady at the front desk, but other staff I dealt with were very pleasant.

Would I stay here again? Definitely.

Pros:
Great location - this motel is within walking distance of numerous locally-owned shops and restaurants
Very clean
Felt safe
Excellent dollar value
Great water pressure in the shower - probably the best I've ever experienced in any motel/hotel
Flat screen tv's with a fair amount of channels

Cons:
Noise - the walls are incredibly thin, so you can hear everything! We stayed on the second floor and could even hear the person below us snoring
The towels really need to be updated - thin, scratchy, and fraying
No microwave in our room - fridge, but no microwave
Deposit policies are a little skewed if paying by debit
The walk up to the second floor is a bit dicy - steps can be slipper, and the top step is quite steep

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heat912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drumheller, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is a pretty decent place with fantastic rates considering its location. It's right near the entrance to the main drag of downtown Canmore so it makes a great base. In a short walk (less than 3k) I went down the main drag, into the woods along the river and back up to Safeway to grab some food to take back to the hotel. A very enjoyable loop. The rooms have flat screen tv's with plenty of channels. The coffee maker was a Keurig, which was fine, but there was no microwave. The hotel also backs onto a pond on Policeman creek. A very good choice in the Canmore area.

Room Tip: Anyone with mobility issues may find the outdoor stairs a little difficult (especially in winter) so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJB41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Canmore was a wonderful place to stay while exploring the Lake Louise and Banff areas. Very affordable and less crowded than Banff itself. The Bow Valley Motel was very affordable and was in a perfect location. We had a room with a small kitchen that met all of our needs. We couldn't have asked for a better stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Canmore is a delightful town set in stunning scenery, with plenty to do and see, and this motel, conveniently located in Main Street close to shops and eating places, represents excellent value for money. Overlooking a small creek with wildfowl and with the mountains as a backdrop it couldn't be better located.
It is not 5-star luxury but it is kept very clean and the daily maid service was excellent. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. We stayed for a week in a room with a kitchenette, but also had some of our party in a standard room. In both rooms it was clear that updating of furnishings and fittings was taking place - some items were new, others needed replacing, but the overall impression was good, especially considering the very good rates. The rooms were warm and cosy, and the beds very comfortable. The only small negative was that there was rather a mixed assortment of crockery/cutlery/glassware in the kitchenette and the pots/pans left a bit to be desired! We would agree with another reviewer that for a long stay the space to hang clothes is a bit limited.
It was mostly very quiet throughout our stay (even being on Main Street there was no road noise) but the downside of this type of building is that noise from other rooms does travel very badly. On the occasions when there were other guests above us we heard every chair scrape, every word spoken and every toilet activity!! However there's not much that the owner could do about this.
Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and hope to return in the future.Thanks to all at Bow Valley Motel.

Room Tip: From our experience of a ground floor room being noisy from guests above, maybe an upstairs room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dilly4472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.6 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.3 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 28 in Canmore
936 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.3 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 28 in Canmore
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow Valley Motel

Property: Bow Valley Motel
Address: 610 Main St, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2B5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow Valley Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bow Valley Motel welcomes you to Main Street in the Mountains an ideal base for the independent traveler, family, or small group. Clean, comfortable, affordable accommodations with the wonder of the peaks all around you. 25 spacious rooms with one or two queen beds - each providing complementary coffee, fridge, cable TV, telephone, full bath and free wireless internet. Some units with kitchens, upper and ground units upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bow Valley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Valley Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing