We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ear plugs provided”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lady Macdonald Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 31 Canmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ear plugs provided”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The description of this accommodation looks amazing BUT don't be fooled , main road a few metres from the bedrooms , train noise all night and uncomfortable beds .
Our bedroom was up two flights of stairs ( which wasn't mentioned in the description of accommodation ) the tv was on top of the wood heater which would have made for an interesting event if we'd decided to put the heater on .
The breakfast was about the only redeeming factor .

Room Tip: There are no rooms that miss out on train and traffic noise , it was very very disappointing that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenbanjup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    46
    5
    8
    4
See reviews for
37
121
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
282 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

A friendly and affordable place to stay while visiting nearby Banff or just passing through.

Rooms are clean and comfortable and breakfast was excellent.

You are located not to far from the railroad which runs through town, so if occasional noise might be an issue for you, either use the provided earplugs, or ask for a room on the side away from the tracks.

Room Tip: Trains run through town so if the sound of an occasional train is a problem for you, consider asking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scbcme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stopped here 2 nights. We stayed in the 3 sisters room which was the best of the rooms. It is very spacious with a sofa, 2 chairs, an attractive cast iron stove/heater which was gas fuelled and a fridge as well as the usual bedroom furniture. Our bed was very spacious and comfy. It has been unseasonably hot in Canmore whilst we were here and the afternoon sun heated the room making it very stuffy and hot, but we dropped the blinds at night and it was fine. I imagine in the cold snowy months the boiler in the room would keep it very snug. The bedding was soft and plentiful. We had a kettle as well and tea making facilities. Our friend who was travelling with us did not have a fridge nor a kettle in her room, but that wasn't a problem because there was tea and coffee facilities downstairs as well as cake and cookies for all the guests to help themselves any time of the day or night. Our hosts were very friendly and keen to help if we needed any advice on where to go etc. Canmore has the train tracks running through the middle so all the guesthouses will have the noise to some degree or another, personally we were not disturbed nor was our friend. We found the sound of the trains rumbling through quite melodic and soothing. The road noise was minimal at night and did not disturb us either. It is in a good location, walking distace from the town centre and various restaurants.

Recommend Craigs restaurant, a 10 minute walk down the road. It is a simple family run restaurant with no frills but serves good food cheaply.

Room Tip: Ask for 3 sisters room or at least the first floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildlife_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have spent some nights in this wonderful hotel. The rooms have all different decoration and are very charming. The breakfast is just a dream and Peter a great help for everything you need to know about Canmore. Even if the train is sometimes a little bit noisy, I can definitely recommend this wonderful hotel. And do not forget to have a cake in the afternoon. They are just delicious!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusiHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed one night in the Rundle room located on the main floor. When I first arrived the innkeeper brewed a fresh pot of coffee and had a delicious homemade chocolate cake to welcome me. It was the perfect treat after a full day of hiking!

Our room was basic but very nice. It had everything we needed including a private in suite washroom with shower.

The next morning we stayed for the most delicious breakfast! Do not miss this!

Although I have read comments about the train and noise I can tell you this is a reality of staying in Canmore. The train runs through the town where most of the hotels are located. The noise did not bother us at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed overnight here in the Vermilion Room while attending a weekend event in Canmore. The hosts were pleasant and helpful, the room was very nice and the breakfast was delicious (& pretty). It is close to Main Street (and hence close to the train tracks,) but I didn't find the train noise disturbing at all, even with the window open. For lighter sleepers, complimentary ear plugs were supplied on the nightstand. The bathroom was large and well appointed with soaps, make-up remover pads and a hair dryer.

The bed was a little soft for my liking, but you can't please everyone. The pillows were nice though.

Breakfast was waffles with a berry compote & whipped cream served with bacon and a selection of nice fruit - a nice way to start the day. I don't think they start serving breakfast until 8:00 am though - that's a smidge late if you ask me, but there's a selection of cold cereals, muffins, fruit etc if you're a few minutes early.

Overall, a fantastic experience and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scrappykat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed at the Inn this weekend; very clean, exceptionally gracious hosts and staff, and location was okay re proximity to town centre. We had the Chinook room, located on a noisy side of the Inn. Train tracks are very close, we heard the rumble of railway cars until around midnight. The main road is also close and busy, with traffic starting at around 6:30 am. The Inn keepers did have complementary earplugs available on the bedside table for 'light sleepers'. The room was very cosy, had TV, bar fridge, lounge chairs, gas fireplace, and in suite bathroom. Breakfast was yummy, options of cereals, muffins, pastries, hot was French toast and sausages. Would I stay again? Maybe, but would certainly ask for a room away from the noise:) There other wonderful B&Bs in the area and I may be inclined to find one in a quieter location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freedom56Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.0 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 28 in Canmore
488 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.7 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.1 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.6 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Macdonald Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Macdonald Country Inn

Property: Lady Macdonald Country Inn
Address: 1201 Bow Valley Trail | Box 2128, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1P5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lady Macdonald Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 12 room country inn filled with cozy charm. Start each morning with a sumptuous breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Lady Macdonald Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Canmore
Canmore Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing