We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Team Work to please your clients”
Review of Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Georgetown Inn
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
1 review
“True Team Work to please your clients”
Reviewed 26 May 2011

My husband and I were very pleasantly surprised at the friendliness and team work that we experienced during our stay. Instead of a "hotel" feeling, we had a "home" feeling with both the accommodations and all of the staff. During the few days of our stay, we felt we were already getting to know the staff and enjoyed their company. Food was also great. I had probably the best steak sandwich I have had in a very long time.

Keep up the good work, and keep working together.

Room Tip: East side of the buiding - Train noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoomerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    136
    51
    18
    8
See reviews for
72
316
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2011

we chose to stay here because it was listed in a little book of Charming Inns of Alberta. We found it OK, decent value price-wise but the housekeeping let the place down severely and it certanly was not charming. Our room was dirty on arrival and we had to ask for it to be vacuumed, along with the communal stairs and landings which appeared not to have been cleaned for weeks. Staff were helpful and responsive to our complaints but the cleaning remained poor. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmb085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, General Manager at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip advisor. I am very sorry that we did not address your concerns at the moment you found the dish piece in your dinner. I would love to be able to make this up to you. My guests are so important to me and I want you to know that you did not experience our normal level of service.

I have done some discovery on what happened to ensure that if something similar in the future were to happen it is better addressed. The back of house learned of what happen and the correct procedures were followed by our chef. He immediately removed the Veggie curry and remade the batch. He discovered that it was a piece of the plastic lid had broken off into the portion that was being used for dinner service that night. Thank goodness you found it and were not harmed.

The true lack of caring and service you received is unacceptable. The server was given instructions by the duty manager to remove the meal. She is a new staff member and did not follow thru with her instructions. In addition, the duty manager should have came to the table directly. I was very disappointed to hear how your situation was mishandled.

Thank you agian for this very valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALGARY
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Stayed over at Georgetown on a groupon deal which made the value received reasonable. Had a bad experience in the Miner's Lamp restaurant in the Georgetown that left a bad taste for the venue. My partner found a piece of broken glass in her vegetarian curry (likely a piece of a broken plate) and was very disturbed and obviously couldn't eat the dish. Apologies were extended by a server working her second shift but I needed to request that the price of the curry be taken off the bill and no manager/chef made an effort to remedy the issue. Two other parties, at adjoining tables, had issues with their meals so it would seem that a food service manager is needed here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We have stayed many, many times at The Georgetown in Canmore and always look forward to our next visit. Over the years there have been good changes and this year the upgrades were most appreciated. If going to Banff make this your home away from home and drive the fifteen minutes into Banff and return to get out of the hectic Banff tourist traffic. I would vote this Inn #1 in Canmore. e-mailed from Ottawa, Ontario

Room Tip: Call well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank govgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

My wife and I stayed here for the Easter weekend and had a wonderful experience.
Since it fell on the time of our anniversary the staff made the room special, 2 chocolate dipped strawberries waited for us in the fridge.
The Inn is furnished like you would expect for something in Europe, with antiques and rustic furniture and feel. I love that it is beside a much more modern "resort" because it gives the Inn that much more charm.

The room itself was magnificent, fireplace and 2 person jetted tub, with a view that is beyond words.

From the time we checked in, and left after a GREAT breakfast at the pub ,we left feeling relaxed and so happy as now we know where we will stay everytime we go to Canmore.

Thank you EVERYONE, we had a great time and will be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craig1964_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Older hotel, but smaller. Lovely resturant, great food!

Our first room was a wee bit unclean and so they changed our room. Each room appears to be decorated a little differently. It seems to try to catch the victorian era in the colours and styling. Rooms have a little fridge and a coffee maker. The beds are super comfy! There is I believe a whirlpool and a fire place in each room.

We will be going back to this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinterOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2011

The staff were exceedingly polite and helpful. Granted, it was relatively quite in mid-week when we were there but their attitude was great. Value wise I was pleasantly surprised as they have package deals that just can't be beat. We stayed one night, in a large room, mountain view, corner jaccuzi, and fireplace, king size bed, included dinner, breakfast, wine in room, chocolate strawberries in the evening for $159. + tax, of course. It is an older hotel, but well maintained, on the main road, only 20+ rooms, so totally quaint compared to the normal "Name Brand Chains"

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor, as above..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grtdyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.6 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.7 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,080 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 28 in Canmore
527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Property: Georgetown Inn
Address: 1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#6 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing