We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do Not Stay Here Unless You Love Poor Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Georgetown Inn
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Calgar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do Not Stay Here Unless You Love Poor Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a hotel we had stayed at many times before while it was privately owned and the customer service was awesome. We noticed after it was sold the service seemed to be deteriorating but decided to go and try one more stay for our Valentine's holiday. We booked a suite with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub. The fireplace did not work and when we asked what the problem was we were told it had not worked for almost a year ...but no discount on the room nor were we told in advance. The toilet seat was so loose you almost fell onto the floor when you sat on it and the ceiling fan had black filthy cobwebs hanging from it. Whe we complained the manager said they would give us 10% off for one night on our next stay. Are you kidding me? What a slap in the face. We are there for 2 days and this is day one and you will give us 10% off our NEXT stay? Then to add insult to injury they run a Groupon discount for new customers for 40% off!!! DO NOT STAY HERE Rooms are dirty and in poor repair !!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerscl, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for writing your comments almost a year later from your stay with us. Had I known about this sooner we most certainly would have rectified this right away. We pride ourselves on our customer service and have provided training to all of our new staff that also understands what customer service means. I am sorry to hear that your experience with us was not acceptable to you and I would like if you could contact me so we may discuss this further.

403-609-5454 Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    132
    51
    18
    8
See reviews for
67
305
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed at the Georgetown this past weekend with 3 friends. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean. We rented a suite and a small room. The suite was great as we had a separate living room to sit comfortably and chat. Our cost also included full breakfasts both Sat & Sun. We will stay there anytime, as matter of fact there is talk of making our trip an annual!!

Room Tip: The suites are really nice and the pull-out was actually quite comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberwize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerscl, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you very much for staying at the Georgetown Inn. We are very happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us! Please be sure to let us know that you have stayed with us before when you book next time and we will extend our "Valued Guest Rate". Glad to hear it will be annually!!

Again thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed here in Aug. 2011 for my 30th birthday. It was such a wonderful surprise! Surrounded by the typical hotels and many condo's, this hotel was full of charm and character. The staff was fantastic. The room was lovely, including the jacuzzi tub. The British pub/restaurant had delicious food and a great atmosphere! If you're looking for something other than your typical condo/hotel room, this place is definitely for you!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evalew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerscl, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Happy Belated Birthday and thank you for writing your experiences at the Georgetown. We love our property and think of it as the "cute kid on the block" so thank you for recognizing our traits. We hope to see you again soon if not to celebrate your next birthday. Please let us know if you do come again and it is a special occasion!! Thanks again for sharing and we appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

This is such a relaxing place. Very nice touches in the rooms and confortable. What a great spot to stay at in Canmore. It is not a big hotel with lots of people around but nice and quiet with a great restaurant also.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suz406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerscl, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you for your support and for recognizing our unique qualities! We are glad to hear you appreciated us! Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again soon. Please let us know so we can offer our "Valued Guest" discount!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stettler
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We have been coming to Canmore for years and this is our favoritre place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtnbiker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerscl, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you for your amazing thoughts of our cute property!!! We hope you come again and again. Please do not forget to tell us you have stayed with us before so you can receive our "Valued Guest" discount.

Thank you again for allowing us to be be your favourite place in Canmore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed here over the New Year and it was an excellent choice!!
The place is not your pretentious 4 or 5 star shiny box of Canmore and they don't try to be, but it is the perfect 'Country Inn' hotel with very friendly staff, very clean rooms/public area's, and a fabulous bar/restaurant!
I could go on and on....... our new preferred hotel in Canmore....awesome!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerscl, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Happy New Year and thanks for celebrating with us! We try not to be the norm but quaint, quiet and the friendliest!! Thank you for recognizing that feature! We hope to see you again soon and ask for your "Vauled Guest" rate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed at the Georgetown Inn for a wedding and it was lovely. A beautiful retreat in the Mountains. Our entire family was able to stay in one place and there was amble parking for all. The bar provided mid-wedding cocktails and we enjoyed a fabulous brunch the following morning. I would recommend one of the jacuzzi rooms as it was a wonderful way to unwind after a long day.

Room Tip: We had a suite with a fireplace and jacuzzi...wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyham11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerscl, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the Georgetown! Please ask for your "Valued Guest" rate upon your return and we do hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
5.2 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.6 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 29 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Property: Georgetown Inn
Address: 1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4 , Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#6 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing