We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to stay in Canmore”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Georgetown Inn
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Great Place to stay in Canmore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2008

We spent 3 nights at the inn and were more then sattisfied with every aspect of the inn.
Staff were very pleasent and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank railson_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    132
    51
    18
    8
See reviews for
67
305
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2008

We stayed here for a Friday night recently. It was a super last minute thing as we were meant to stay in Radium Hot Springs, but were sick of driving. The front desk staff was fantastic. Our room had a king size bed, and a separate sitting area with a couch and a TV. The room was decorated nicely and was extremely clean. I was a little worried about the noise, as it is close to the train tracks, but it really wasn't an issue. The breakfast was fairly unremarkable, but we did show up at 9:45 when it closes at 10 (perhaps this had something to do with it). The waitress did her best to avoid all eye contact and certainly did not speak to us. When another couple arrived after us she basically barked at them that they better take what the want because she was packing it up. Overall I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank CD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2008

We stayed two separate nights here in different rooms. The first was the Albert. This room faced the road and train tracks and was a little noisy (though had a better view of the mountains). It had a small sitting area with TV and small kitchenette type set up. The bed was on the other side - you couldn't see the TV from the bed if that matters to you. The 2nd room was the Elizabeth and was a little smaller, though somehow it felt bigger - more space to put our bags and a smaller bed I guess. This one faced the parking lot so it seemed a little quieter. The trains go by pretty regularly here so if you are a light sleeper you might want ear plugs. The rooms were both clean and well-appointed. The breakfast was VERY generous and yummy. Way better than your average hotel breakfast. They even had smoked salmon, and my husband loved the pastries. And for us yanks with a bad exchange rate in high season having a meal included was a big deal. The pub downstairs is a nice feature, though pretty quiet. We're glad we stayed in Canmore, it was much cheaper and not far at all to Banff.

  • Liked — Huge delicious breakfast
  • Disliked — Trains at night
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank girlygirl8701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2007

We stayed here on a wonderful trip to Canada in Sept. The room was very clean, the staff was very nice and friendly, the breakfast was delicious, and the price was reasonable considering that every place in this part of Canada is overpriced. Overall we were quite pleased and definitely would stay here again.

  • Liked — Quaint
  • Disliked — Reastaurant not always open
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jerryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2007

Excellent place to stay and less expensive than anything in Banff yet very close to all activities. Very nicely decorated, very clean.
Staff friendly and helpful. They served an excellent breakfast, which was included in the price of the room. We would most definitely recommend this Inn to anyone travelling in the area.

  • Liked — everything- accomodations and food
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GramLuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2007

We've just returned from a four night stay at the Inn and I wouldn't like to recommend it to anyone. What lets it down is the attitude of the staff.

Also, beware that the descriptions of the rooms on the internet don't make it clear that some rooms are divided into two, with the TV being in the kitchen area. We asked to be moved to a different room because of this and were given a free upgrade to a larger room on the 3rd floor (room 302) which didn't have any proper curtains and we were disturbed by a 'buzzing' noise which we think was coming from the bathroom fan from a room below.

Like other people we were not offered tea at breakfast, until the third morning and breakfast provisions were not topped up quickly enough. The pub was also shut for two of the four nights due to lack of staff.

If we hadn't have already pre-booked via the hotel website we would have moved as there are plenty of hotels and Inns along the same road.

  • Liked — The Pub
  • Disliked — Attitude of front desk staff.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TiggerDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, Mass.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2007

My wife and I spent one night there last week, Sept. 2007. It was a great choice and I recommend both the hotel and the restaurant.

We chose a "cozy room" to save money since we would be there just one night. It was a nice room with a small bath, sink in the room. We peeked at the other rooms and saw they were large and had fireplaces...much nicer...but, our room was fine. We paid $132 with tax versus about $200 for the large rooms.

We liked the restaurant and had chicken and mushrooms dinner with puff pastry on top. Very nice comfort food and at reasonable cost. The free continental breakfast was good as well.

The Inn is attractive and clean, tudor style with 20 rooms. The mountains around it are truly breathtaking and the town of Canmore is upscale and booming. You can walk into the little town from the Inn that is located on a commercial street of Motels and Restaurants.

It is a terrific choice and will make you smile when you drive in...and you will still be smiling when you leave.

  • Liked — Breathtaking location, attractive Inn and restaurant, good price for both, nice town
  • Disliked — Little noisy about 6-7 from pub and restauant downstairs...not a real problem.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungGrampie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
5.2 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.6 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 29 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Property: Georgetown Inn
Address: 1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4 , Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#6 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing