We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!”
Review of Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Georgetown Inn
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Georgetown Inn (August 15th-18th, 2013). We chose the Inn as it offered a unique experience. It is evident both inside and out that a great deal of thought and attention was put into the planning and construction of the Georgetown Inn. It is a brief of fresh air amongst numerous hotels offering standard accommodation. When we entered our room, a welcome cup of tea along with shortbread cookies awaited us. We enjoyed a beautiful room overlooking the front entrance. It was very tastefully decorated offering English charm. All of the staff were wonderful and very welcoming! They make customer comfort their top priority. If you have an opportunity during your stay, I would encourage you to enjoy the French toast for breakfast. It's delicious! I highly recommend the Georgetown Inn, and we look very much forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room overlooking the front entrance/street as it is quieter location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you Kristl3, for noticing that we are unique in everyway!!! We want to provide that different experience of accommodations to our guests!!! Customer service is our top priority so thank you for noticing our staff!!! We appreciate all of our guests and especially you for such kind thoughts about our little Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Second time at the Georgetown Inn. Love it. Nice to stay in a place that doesn't feel like every other place you have ever stayed. Complimentary breakfast a la carte is a nice bonus (might have to ask when booking).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you Dennis L for coming back and staying at the Georgetown again!!! The complimentary breakfast is offered to our returning guests as a perk and we are glad you enjoyed it!!! we hope you come back again and again!! Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I was very pleased with our stay at the Georgetown Inn in Canmore. First of all, it is very charming both inside and out. The Staff are very pleasant. We had a lovely room that faced the front street. It was so refreshing to have a room that isn't "cookie cutter", same old, same old. It was very cozy and very cute. The bed was very comfortable and the bed linens were very pretty.
It is full of antiques and you have the feeling you are staying in an old and charming mansion.
It has a wonderful restaurant decorated like an Irish pub.
We had breakfast in there twice and it was very good with reasonable prices. I wished I had tried a dinner there, but will plan on that next time. It also has a great patio-courtyard with gorgeous flowers all along the fence.
It is within walking distance of the main downtown area. We'll definitely come back again. By the way, people seem to complain about the trains, but personally I find it to be a comforting sound and did not find it to be a problem at all.

Room Tip: Room 218, is in a good location, quieter with the window facing the side street (really the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AprilBWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you AprilBWinnipeg for staying with us and writing such a glowing review of the Georgetown!!! We are so glad to know that you enjoyed our pub breakfasts and we hope you do come back to try the dinners...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Although the Georgetown is surrounded by typical modern lodging venues, it stands out for its great personality and character. It's like walking into an Irish inn, complete with pub. We had a room with a spectacular view on the second floor. Get the breakfast included rate - the french toast is delicious. It's also within walking distance of the downtown area, which is very convenient given the traffic and parking issues in town.

Room Tip: The Elizabeth room on the second floor, opposite end of the pub side is nicely appointed and great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snow_is_old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you snow_is_old...we are so pleased that you enjoyed our unique Inn....Thank you for the great review and for sharing it with your fellow travellers...we hope that you come back soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

As other reviewers, we found this to be furnished with attention to detail and old fashioned style eg china cups, etc. good wardrobe and drawer space, and good bathroom fittings with great shower over the bath. The bed was a good size but too soft for us.

There was a good view of mountains from our room.

We really enjoyed the corridor about films made locally over the decades and the explanatory notes for each.

BUT we had booked months ago and asked for a quiet room. We were told they were full (Labor Day Weekend) and were given a room overlooking the main road and which is also next to the railway line. We had booked this accommodation partly as the maps indicated that it was a block back from the main road but it fronted onto it.....We were told that they had done their best and put us at the end away from the restaurant. However, the weather was lovely, so the bar and restaurant had windows open and also people were eating outdoors under our window.

The other problem was that it was very hot and the room had no A/C and only one opening window, so was very hot overnight.

One of us had a brief drink in the bar and enjoyed it but not the noise from the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room though we did but didn't manage to get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FandRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review....we are glad you enjoyed reading our movie walls, the china cups and the other old fashioned décor....we try to please all of our guests when they have certain requests so we did try to give you a mountain view....unfortunately we cannot always control outside noises... I will get maintenance to look at the air conditioner in all the rooms unless you would mind emailing me with your room number? judy@waymarker.ca We appreciate all of our guests and their comments as it makes us keep growing with improvement so thank you!!! We do hope to see you again soon....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

On an annual two day hike with a friend, we stopped over night at The Georgetown Inn. Very good service at the front desk added with the small little touches make this a favorite stop over. Fine china tea setting, actual wine glasses in your room, fireplace add to that special atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you for stopping in with your friend...we are so please to know that you both enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you both back very soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We just arrived back from a hiking trip in the rockies which included a one night stay at the Georgetown Inn. The customer service exhibited by the general manager Corey was above and beyond in every regard. Corey's professional and courteous conduct was a breath of fresh air in todays cookie cutter hotel world. The hotel is a pleasant, clean and affordable option against a backdrop of the larger corporate hotels and we will make The Georgetown Inn our home away from home in the Canmore area. Thanks Corey for a memorable stay!

Room Tip: You don't need to venture far for a wonderful dinning experience...the Miner's Lamp pub down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evaclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for staying with us and I will be sure to pass on to our "Guest Services Manager" Cory that he exceeded your expectations...we like that you noticed we are not the cookie cutter hotels and are glad to hear that it is appreciated by our valued guests!! We look forward to your next stay with us!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.6 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.7 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.8 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#12 of 28 in Canmore
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 28 in Canmore
559 reviews
5.2 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Address: 1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#6 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: £50 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing