We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Gem”
Review of Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Georgetown Inn
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Gem”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Hidden in amongst all the hotel "chains" is a lovely little hotel/BB. A lovely hotel with all the amenities and the friendliest staff. A throw back to the days of yore where the proprietor, their family and friends work at the inn, to a simpler time.
The room I had was wonderful! The most comfortable bed, lots of pillows, a fire place, two sitting chairs, big screen TV (nod to modern times), working windows, and most amazingly, HVAC controls that actually work (and quickly too).
Did I mentioned the tea set with 2 sugar cookies? What a nice touch!
Oh! and the price? Less than what you would expect at an "economy" chain hotel.
Definitely going back!

Room Tip: I had the room on ground level right beside the check in desk - yes, beside the check in desk. It ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyfun2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for embracing our uniqueness familyfun2711!!! This is what we are striving for, a different but friendly experience for our guests, not your usual accommodations...we hope to see you back again with us very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    133
    51
    18
    8
See reviews for
71
309
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

I haven't stayed at the Georgetown Inn for years. It was a pleasant surprise to see how fresh and clean the rooms are. We stayed in a Victoria Room. The 2-man jetted tub was lovely. Breakfast was excellent. They were as little short staffed but we weren't in a hurry. Before checking out of the room we agreed that we'd be back again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ajzuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you ajzuke for staying with us and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.....thank you for your lovely comments and we will see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here before and will definitely go back. Our room was perfect, some of the decor could be 'cheesy' on its own but all put together it was perfect. The food was up to the usual excellent standards and the staff were brilliant...... Oh, the beer is pretty good too!!
Fabulous stay, can't wait to go back!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gareth69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you Gareth69 for enjoying our beer and of course your stay with us!! I will be sure to pass your good comments on to the kitchen and the rest of our staff!!! We do hope that you will join us again very soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Georgetown is exactly what it claims to be: a quaint, charming smaller inn. The Victorian room we stayed in was roomy and romantic for two. I will hopefully have many romantic get-away weekends with my husband here, however, if we had out kids with us we would stay at a larger hotel with more things for kids. The food in the Miner's Lamp pub was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seren1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you Seren1124 for using us as your romantic getaway!! We are glad you enjoyed your room and hopefully you tried out the two person Jacuzzi tub found in our Victoria Suites....We do have larger rooms available for families and we offer a kid's menu as well......we do hope to see you again very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

When researching tripadvisor reviews, I like to go back at least a year and this was the first time that i didn't see one negative review for a hotel.

The reviews speak for themselves and the Georgetown Inn gets 5 stars for everything they do. Staff, service, accommodation, food and drink! Check in and check out was quick and easy.

We had a spectacular Victoria Room that faced the main road with an incredible view of the snow dusted mountains. The entire room including the bed, seating area, jacuzzi and bathroom was more than anyone could ask for.

Having lived in the UK for 17 years, I very much enjoyed the true English feel and style of the Miner's Lamp Pub. We enjoyed breakfast twice, lunch and dinner in the restaurant and nothing could be faulted. Even the Brit accents of some of the staff made the dining experience even more authentic!

Take some time to look at all of the movie posters with their local filming descriptions.

I wouldn't think twice about staying at The Georgetown Inn again and plan to do so in the Spring to enjoy their outdoor patio, great views and great service.

Also would highly recommend a hike to Grassi Lakes!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H4BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for staying at The Georgetown Inn and for taking the time to write such a glowing review...Thank you for pointing out our movie walls and the true English feel of our little Inn.....we so appreciate all of our guests and their comments so Thank You!!! We look forward to your upcoming stay in the Spring!! You will love our outdoor patio and English style gardens!! Can't wait to have you back!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Good room, very welcoming, and price of the room, even without breakfast, was the best we did in Canada. Lovely room, with welcome biscuits and tea. Their speciality of French toast well worth trying – excellent, the beer was good too. Canmore well worth considering for accommodation (over expensive Banff), with a decent centre sorting a good selection of resaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_n_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you Peter_n_Linda for choosing the Georgetown during your trip to Canada!! We are glad you saw the value in our rates and I will be sure to mention to our chef that you liked our Famous French Toast!! Do come back and see us on your next trip to Alberta!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Recently visited for our third time. Still great, and although busy at checkin time, Corey (the manager) went out of his way to assist us. Compliments to Mimi and all the staff in the bar/restaurant. Good food, reasonably priced, and a warm cosy "country inn" atmosphere. The advantage for us is that it is just over an hour away! We love it and will certainly return! John & Christine. Calgary

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
John & Christine, thank you for choosing us again for your stay in Canmore!!! We are so greatful to have such repeated support from guests like you!! I will be sure to let Corey and Mimi know how much you appreciated them!!! I hope that we will see you again soon because like you said you are only one hour away!!! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.6 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.7 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 28 in Canmore
522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Property: Georgetown Inn
Address: 1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#6 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing