We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Comfortable Hotel with Great Pub Food”
Review of Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Georgetown Inn
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was my second visit to the Georgetown Inn. Rooms are spacious, well appointed and comfortable. Staff are welcoming and obliging. Rooms on the front can be noisy especially when the trains rumble through town at all hours of the night. The pub is spacious and the food is very good. I would like to see a better beer selection on tap, but that's just me.

Room Tip: I would stay there again but would specify a room at the back to cut down on the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

Thank you for staying with us more than once at The Georgetown as we appreciate repeat visits from our guests! Makes us feel like we do great things for all of our guests to make them want to come back again! This is what we strive for so thank you for your comments and for coming back for a second visit! We hope to see you again for more!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

what an excellent inn beautiful inside beautiful outside.
no complaints at all. The room was very clean. Very comfortable king sized bed.
The staff was very helpful and friendly.The food and service in the pub was excellent.
I will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyhr11, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments about our little Inn....we hope to see you back again very soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We recently stayed at this Inn after buying a Living Social voucher. I bought the voucher because I had read such good reviews of the place. We were really looking forward to our stay. Firstly I phoned the hotel 8 times to make a reservation and left messages because there was no answer and then had to email them. When I finally did get a response the reservation went smoothly so I overlooked how difficult it was to contact them. When we checked in, we had to wait while 2 employees finished their conversation before we were acknowledged. The 2 clerks did not engage us in any conversation, just asked our name and gave us a contract to sign, gave us our keys. We checked in and then realized that they had not given us our coupon for ribs and 2 pints in the hotel pub (which was included in the purchase of the voucher), when my husband went back to the desk to inquire about it, they acted like they were not aware of it, but did eventually give him a coupon that was typed up ahead of time. So, if you stay there with a voucher, be sure you get what you paid for. We stayed in a Victorian room, which was quite nice, but neither of us really appreciate "antiques". We were there for 2 nights and never saw any other guests in the hallways or around the reservation desk but the sign read " no vacancy ". We enjoyed our wings and pints in the pub and stayed on for dinner. The young fellow in the pub was very pleasant and very busy, the place filled almost to capacity for the dinner hour. He attended to all customers promptly and pleasantly. We enjoyed our dinner of their signature meal of fish and chips. Upon checking out, the clerk was business like in that she never asked if we enjoyed our stay or if everything was ok, just said we owed extra for taxes, which I paid for in cash. She had difficulty making change and when asked if I could have a receipt she said they do not give receipts for cash. So, I will be checking my credit card to be sure I was not charged on it too. The place was very quiet at night. Other reviews complained about traffic and train noise but we did not notice it at all. We are in Canmore about 4 times a year and try different places, we won't be in a rush to go back here. I have been reading reviews from many other places in Canmore and noticed how the manager replies to many of the reviews but the reviews for Georgetown Inn, I never saw one comment from management. So, I wonder if they take time to read the reviews.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jennie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyhr11, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your comments......I do try to respond to all of the reviews and we do take them seriously every week at our Marketing Meetings....We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our pub and the pub service!!! We are in the midst of training new employees at the Front Desk so your comments are very valuable and we will be sharing these with the Front desk employees in order to train better......we do hope that you will try us again and thank you for taking advantage of the great deal on Living Social....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Let's start with what was good about this place! The bedrooms were fine and the staff we interacted with were excellent. But I have to say that The Georgetown Inn was a very big disapointment. The restaurant was dreadful! We ordered what they said was their signature meal of “The best fish and chips in the valley”. After waiting for more than half an hour, we were only served when we said that they had five minutes to provide our meal or we were leaving. The chips (French fries)were cold. The fish was satisfactory. All around us there were tables littered with uncleared plates. Children ran around the restaurant as though in a reception class of a kinderkarten. The body of the hotel was littered with kitch of th worse type. Cabin trunks were open with sewing machines on display, sundry "attractive" garbage infested the place. We complained and were given a 50% discount on our meal. Ir wasn't enough. We'd eat dry bread in the car than eat here again.

Room Tip: Rooms fine, but eat elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antmaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyhr11, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and your positive comments about our rooms and staff. Sorry to hear about your experience in our pub and we will be discussing this at our next meeting....we have new staff as it is the beginning of our high/busy season so we will take your comments very seriously and use them to aid in our training....thank you and we do hope that you will return and try us out again!! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I spend a night at this charming little inn. Staff service was good, check in time was quick.
Our room felt as if we were visiting our grandma's house, very cosy, clean with "antique" furniture. The best part of our stay was the restaurant located on the main floor. The food was really really good and the décor and ambient music was just perfect that evening. Anyone looking for an inn in Canmore should definitely check this place out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B1WIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyhr11, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for staying at The Georgetown and enjoying our pub!!! We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again very soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Got into Calgary late and chose to stay in Canmore before going into Bannf and then Jasper. Georgetown was a reasonable price and we are glad we stayed. Its sort of quaint antique-y (though more pretending to be that way than actually owning it). Room is a bit small and not much personality. Young front desk, helpful throughout. Nice british style pub attached had an Ok dinner and a fun breakfast (much better for breakfast) - so it was a very convenient place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PelleasPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyhr11, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and your comments.......we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast!! Please come back and join us again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were staying nearby and were attracted to the 'Olde Englishe' pub advertised - not a pub such as I know it. This review applies only to the restaurant. The food was very ordinary and the Sunday roast beef (tough) and Yorkshire Pudding (heavy) definitely not worth a detour. The bar couldn't even offer a glass of sherry before the meal. Another meal we tried earlier was fish and chips for two - the fish servings were small and the chips greasy. Won't be back, there is much more that is much better in Canmore .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryMark42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyhr11, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

We are sorry to hear that on both occasions you did not fully enjoy your meals. If you wish to discuss this further please contact the pub manager dorian@waymarker.ca and we would love to chat about another and better experience for you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.6 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.7 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Address: 1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#6 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: £77 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing