We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet”
Review of Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Georgetown Inn
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

After checking out different hotel and resorts in the Canmore area, we decided on the Georgetown because we wanted a different hotel experience . Check in was at 4 pm and we arrived 3 hrs early and had no problem checking in. We had the Victorian room with a king size bed,sitting room,fireplace and jet tub . The hotel was quiet and the doors were locked to the public at 10:30 and opened again at 7:30 am . The restaurant food was very good and reasonable priced for a tourist town. Our overall experience was very good and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad that we could accommodate your early check in! We do our best to make our guests very comfortable and enjoy their stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I had booked a room at the Georgetown Inn for the weekend seven weeks prior to our stay. Two week before the date, I received a call from our online booking agency stating that there was an mistake with our prepaid stay and that they would try to find alternate accommodations.
Of course, with a few weeks before our August trip, the rooms in Canmore were pretty scarce.
I called the Georgetown Inn and spoke with Julia, unfortunately they were fully booked, but she offered to help our search. When I received a call from Nicky, the Georgetown Inn manager, I was ecstatic. She had a room at there sister location, the Mystic Spring resort, and the special occasion was saved.
Thank you again to both Nicky and Julia for making our weekend.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Roderick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Congratulations on celebrating your 30th Wedding Anniversary and we were so gad to help you find alternate accommodations! I will be sure to tell Julia and Nikki how you appreciated their efforts! I hope that you can experience The Georgetown for your next anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I was really looking forward to my stay at the Georgetown Inn, but unfortunately I doubt we will be back. The outside of the inn is very cute, but the rooms are worn down. We were given white towels with blue stains on them, and for the price point for the inn, I expect much better. Also we were going to be late arriving so I called the Inn as they don't have anyone there after 11. She told me she would leave the keys at the front desk, but when we arrived no one was there. We went into the bar eventually and somebody had our keys,but it would have been nice if the directions should have been clearer. On the plus side the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was good, but I don't think that is enough for me to book it again, as there is a such wide selection canmore.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jacquieb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

Thank you for staying with us and we are sorry to hear that your check in was not as smooth as it usually is. We are taking your comments into account and will be discussing them further. We are also discussing renovating some of the rooms so they will be fresher! Thank you for your comments and we really would like you to come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I booked my room online not knowing anything about the hotel and was extremely pleased. Check in was easy, lady very friendly and my room was another great surprise. Had a suite with a king bed, sitting room, fireplace, wonderful Victorian furniture and a view of the mountains from all four windows. Enjoyed the shortbread cookies upon my arrival, should have requested more. The bed was extremely comfortable, the room was clean. The only drawback would be the train since the tracks are on the other side of the road, but really wasn't too bad. Had wonderful French toast in the English pub. Staff was very friendly and informative about nearby restaurants. I was traveling by myself to see the Canadian Rockies so didn't see much of Canmore, but my two nights at this quaint hotel was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Definitely request a room on the second or third floor facing the mountains. The back of the hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

Thank you for staying with us and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our freshly baked shortbread cookies upon arrival and our Famous French Toast in our pub! Thank you for your description of the room you were in and we are glad that you enjoyed your bed! We hope to see you again very soon, please call us direct next time and you will receive breakfast complimentary because all of our repeat customers do!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and I just got back from a week's stay and loved it. The place is extremely charming. We stayed in a Victoria Suite which had a jacuzzi tub and a refrigerator. The bed was extremely comfortable. The 3rd floor location was very quiet, we never saw another guest on our floor. The hotel is located on a strip with several other hotels, restaurants, convenience stores, gas stations. Beautiful views of the mountains wherever you look. The town center is a ways a way - but you could walk it if you had the energy. Chances are you'll have a rental car, so no worries. There's a nice English pub style restaurant attached with seating outdoors. We loved the fish and chips and also had a great breakfast there. The staff was extremely pleasant and friendly. Would definitely do this again. Just keep in mind, it's an old hotel but very comfortable. So don't expect a brand new 'modern' property. It was exactly what we wanted for our getaway!

Room Tip: 303 was a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

Thank you for staying at our quaint and unique Inn! We are so thankful for your kind words and descriptions of our property! Thank you for joining us in our pub for 2 of your meals and be sure to call us directly next time you are in Canmore because all of our repeat customers get a complimentary breakfast! We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is the era of the George!

The Georgetown made our wedding dreams come true without much notice. We adjusted our wedding date to suit and we lucked out. From the moment my normally obsessive fiancé contacted Judy to long after we became man and wife our expectations were exceeded effortlessly. And we didn't even rehearse a thing.

If you are reading this and are still in planning mode you should seek out Nomi Whalen - living local legend and marriage commissioner extraordinaire.

The Georgetown staff was wonderful, the BBQ buffet incredible. Our Victorian rm had surprisingly good A/C and ventilation, had to be 30C on our day. The only disfunction was the toilet was a fair distance from any sink but the suite more than made up for this ageless quirk.

Considering the history of this Canmore landmark it is an incredible value (also check out their great stay&plays). No pool or outdoor spa's and you don't pay for them. No ballroom or DJ facilities but the dining room accommodates 30-35 ppl nicely and the pubs selections are deliciously affordable.

Simply Spectacular - We can't wait to celebrate many anniversaries with the new old George - Victorian style!

C&R

Room Tip: Our Victorian was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

Congratulations on your nuptials and thank you for spending your special day with us! We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed the BBQ Buffet for your wedding dinner. I will be sure to pass along your wonderful comments to the staff!!! We hope you come and celebrate your 1st Anniversary with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

After a wonderful outdoor ceremony in town, we and our 30 guests had an amazing evening meal and reception at the Georgetown Inn. The staff and management were extremely accommodating and helpful in all of our needs.
The Catering Manager Dorian, was particularly helpful in answering all of our questions, meeting all of our needs, and making sure that the whole evening was flawless.
Special mention also goes to Guylaine at the front desk, who was very accommodating and always had a smile.
We, and the majority of our guests, also stayed at the Inn for several nights. Without exception, everyone was very happy with their rooms. We (the bride and groom) were spoiled with the bridal suite on the 3rd floor… It was perfect… always clean, tidy and comfortable.
To put it simply, we were very satisfied with both the stay and reception, not to mention the delicious meals at the restaurant in the days surrounding the wedding. We would highly recommend the Georgetown Inn as a small wedding venue; for its quaint charm, its professional staff, its excellent food and comfortable accommodations.
Georgetown Inn, we cannot thank you enough for helping to make our wedding event special, successful and fun!

Room Tip: The jacuzzi rooms are wonderful for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 288HappyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

Congratulations on your nuptials and for sharing your special day at The Georgetown! We are very pleased to know that everything went as planned for you and was enjoyable! I will be sure to let Dorian and Guylaine know how much you appreciated them. Thank you for recommending us as a small wedding venue!! We hope you spend your anniversaries with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.6 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.8 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#12 of 28 in Canmore
600 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.8 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 28 in Canmore
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Address: 1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#6 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: £50 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing