We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent start to our holiday”
Review of Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Georgetown Inn
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2007

We spent a very relaxing two days at the Georgetown Inn en route to the rest of the Rockies. We booked a Victoria Room and found the room very well thought out, and the hot tub was a real treat, especially as it was in the bedroom itself! Our bathroom could have done with updating though. The pub/restaurant served good food at a decent price, but breakfast did seem a little sparse at times. However, on the whole we really enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warrenUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

519 - 525 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2007

This Inn was more than we expected! The staff was very helpful and friendly, and was always ready to give advice, directions, etc. The Inn was recently remodeled (our room had a gas fireplace) and is clean and up-to-date. They provided WiFi access in all rooms, and numerous little extras (an electric tea kettle as well as a coffee maker!). The included breakfast was excellent, and all dishes (smoked salmon, fresh breads, meats, and cheeses) were replenished as needed. We will be delighted to recommend the Georgetown Inn to friends who are going to the area next year.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Anbrugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2007

We stayed at the Georgetown on August 14th, for one night, thinking it would be quieter than Banff..

Climbing up a maze of stairs wasn't much fun w/ my bad knee..the young lady at the desk didn't offer to carry bags..as another traveller mentioned,the furniture looked more like "Aunt Marthas well ~worn ~farm furniture" than antiques..

We stayed in the Louise Room, the smallest room at the end of the hall on the 2nd floor..it was so near the condo next door, that the inhabitants could look into our room..
Someone was heard playing an accordian next door to our room..
The room is small, has no fridge, but is fairly clean, good for a one night stay..
The breakfast was good..coffee, yogourt, cereal, toast,bagels,pastries etc..and was included in the price..

Stayed: August 2007
Thank lollypopj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of two weeks in the rockies. The hotel is on a busy road in Canmore and is pseudo English country pub in style.

Check In - efficient but not exactly welcoming. We had stayed places that were much friendlier and it does make a big difference to the overall impression of a place.

Room - We had a large suite with a jacuzzi bath. The kids had a twin down the hall. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable with all the amenities you could want after a day hiking, fridge, TV , hairdryer etc. However, no air con - which makes it very stuffy in summer. Its also noisy when the windows are open. The hotel also has laundry facilities for guests - which for us was ideal as we were travelling light. The kids room was cramped but fine also.

Food - We had fish and chips in the bar. The fish was nice but the chips were burnt - although this seemed to be a feature of chips in this part of Canada so I guess we can't blame the hotel!
The big disappointment was breakfast - a cold buffet! If you want bacon and eggs you need to go elsewhere.

The hotel is more suited to older people but it was fine as a base for us as we were out hiking all day in the surrounding area. Canmore has loads of good restaurants so I would eat out rather than in this hotel. I'd recommend the Drake Inn and Murriettas.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mackay8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2007

We booked the Victoria Room thru the internet. We were disappointed. The fire place is on a timer that your could hear ticking away (not very relaxing). The website mentions lush robes, perhaps a few years ago they were, we found them to be ragged and stiff. The tub however was great, and was clean along with the bathroom. The dinning room was closed during our stay, and the Inn itself seemed like a ghost town.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oceanghurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2007

Once again, we loved our stay at the Georgetown Inn! We won't stay anywhere else while in Canmore! The staff are efficient and friendly, the inn is very charming and wonderfully decorated, the breakfast is fantastic as is the dinner we have had at the pub/restaurant located at the inn. The rooms are extremely clean, nicely decorated, very comfortable, and it has always been a peaceful stay while at the inn! We highly recommend the Georgetown Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BT-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2007

We booked an Elizabeth room on the hotel website after reading the good reviews on trip advisor in January. The room was 201 on the front of the hotel, the railway line clearly on view, the room was very small, it was neither glorious or refined, there were no comfortable armchairs as in the picture on the hotel website, the decor was not alluring and elegant, there was one old well worn easy chair and a desk with a hard wooden chair.
We returned to reception straightaway and reported the mistake, we've booked an Elizabeth room with the two comfortable armchairs as in the picture on your website, we were told we had been given an Elizabeth room. We asked to be moved to the room we had booked and were told they were all taken, we explained yes by us, we booked in January, the staff member was polite and gushing but insisted we had the right room and there were no other rooms available. Half an hour later the same staff member appeared at our room with an old easy chair, the springs had gone in the seat, the room was too small really to accommodate this chair, again she was very polite and trying her utmost to appease us..
The room had a fridge and a sink and was very clean, as was the bathroom. If you are a light sleeper you will hear some train noise through the night, a room on the back would have been our choice, if one had been available. All of the staff at the hotel were polite and friendly and as explained above went out of their way to try and accommodate. On returning home we have looked again at the website which confirmed to us that we have definately been duped at the Georgetown

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbiOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.6 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.7 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#12 of 28 in Canmore
569 reviews
5.2 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Address: 1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#6 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: £50 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing