We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Weekend Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solara Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Solara Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed in a 2-bedroom unit with 3 fireplaces, high-quality kitchen appliances, amazingly comfortable beds. It was a great place to spend the weekend with our adult kids. There's a pathway to walk along to get to "downtown" Canmore. The place was very clean and well-equipped.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DoubtingNag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear DoubtingNag; Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review regarding your most recent stay with us. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay in our fabulous suites with everything they have to offer and that you found them clean and comfortable. Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you and your family on your next trip to the Canmore area.


Kind Regards,
Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    237
    103
    54
    32
See reviews for
370
236
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Legal, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We were looking for somewhere in Banff or Canmore that would sleep 6; us, our kids, and parents. Solara was priced cheaper than 2 hotel rooms and it was an awesome full suite with kitchen, laundry, living room and deck with BBQ. It is not often I go away and enjoy a comfortable bed, but I slept well, ate well, enjoyed the hot tub and nightly movies at the resort. My daughter and mother took advantage of the pedicures at the spa. This location was beautiful, great parking, and close to Canmore's new Elevation Place which has a fantastic family swimming area. Thanks for a beautiful winter get away. We will come again. Everyone had a great time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannieSmallTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear JeannieSmallTown; Thank you for taking the time to post an excellent review noting that The Solara Resort & Spa would be your first choice upon your return to Canmore! I’m pleased to know that you enjoyed your suite and all the many amenities the resort and our amazing location have to offer. Thank you for your continued patronage and I look forward to hosting you and your family again in future!


Kind Regards,
Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at Solara! The 1-bedroom suite was spacious and had a fully equipped kitchen, very large comfortable bed, as well as a TV and fireplace in both the living room and bedroom. We had a problem getting the fireplace working in the living room but it was quickly repaired after a call to the front desk.

This property has some very nice amenities including a movie theater (free for guests), hot and cold relaxation pools and a kids water play area with sprinklers. Our 2-year old daughter had a great time in the sprinklers and thoroughly enjoyed watching Stuart Little at the theater. We bought popcorn and drinks for the movie at the front desk for a reasonable price - $5 for a large popcorn and pop.

Great property for families and would also work well for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StrawberryJ-V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Strawberry J-V, Thank you for taking the time to post an excellent review regarding your recent stay. We pride ourselves on ensuring your stay is a memorable one and we are glad to hear we exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed our many amenities including our onsite movie theatre. Once again, thank you for your review, your continued patronage and we look forward to hosting you and your family again in future!

Kind Regards,
Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Resort offered everything I was looking for and very comfortable. I stayed in a one bedroom suite on the 2nd floor - the furnishings were very comfortable, the kitchen completely loaded. The bathroom had a good size tub complete with a rain shower and jets. The suite was also equipped with a decent sound system (not just a clock radio). Didn't get a chance to use the spa facilities so I cannot comment on that, also didn't use the theatre but did check it out - different movie selection every day and they even had a popcorn machine in the lobby. The only thing it didn't have was a convenience store on the premises. The staff was also very helpful and even took us on a tour to see some other rooms. I would definitely recommend this resort and hope to one day return myself.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissAmericaCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear MissAmericaCalgary, Thank you for taking the time to post an excellent review regarding your recent stay noting our amazing luxury clean and comfortable suites as well as noting our fantastic staff. We have the best team here at Solara and delighted you experienced our top notch customer service.

Thank you again and please let us know on your next visit as a valued repeat guest.


Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had stayed at Solara New Years of 2012 our room wasnt ready until 6:30pm when we showed up at 4:00 (check in) they told us to go for dinner somewhere, we stated we had brought our own groceries as it was a condo we were staying at that was the how point of staying there instead of a hotel. We were not the only room not ready.

We decided to try again in February of 2012 with another family both of us with small children we made dinner put the kids to bed and sat down to watch the hockey game and found none of the TV's worked. Someone came up to look at them but couldn't figure out how to make them work.

We went back for New Years this year we showed up at 3 just to check to see if we could check in early we were told that our room wasn't ready and that it wouldn't be ready at 4 either. We went for an early dinner then went for groceries then back to the hotel at 5:00 and finally our room was ready.

When we walked in it was far from ready yes they seemed to change the bedding and washed the bathrooms but it hadn't been vacuumed at all, I don't just mean a little dust in the corners there was obvious mess from the previous people who stayed there. There were strings all over the place and I found 3 snap peas sitting in the open they didn't even attempt to hide. The Towels weren't clean and the dishes hadn't been washed so we needed to run a load in the dishwasher. Feeling nervous about the cleaning ability of the staff, I re-cleaned our bathrooms and the kitchen, I thankfully brought my own cleaner as we have experienced that they don't give you anything but a bit of dish soap for a period of 3 days you need to clean counters in my opinion and there is never enough soap to wash dishes.

We called down to see if they could come and vacuum they said they would send someone up right away. I didn't call again as it was a long day. I called first thing and asked they send someone before we get back at 11:30 to put our son down to sleep. We got back at noon and they had come and vacuumed and gave us the supplies we required.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAP301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Tap301; Thank you for sharing your experience. Please accept our deepest apologies for all the trouble and inconveniences caused. No excuses can be offered except we have failed in our service. I would like an opportunity to invite you back. Please contact me personally and I would be delighted to make sure you get the stay you deserve.

We look forward to redeeming ourselves and regaining your trust in our services.


Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Having lived in Alberta and skied banff for several years I would now only stay in Canmore for accommodation with my family for a ski vacation. The small town feel of Canmore, the activities (natural pond to skate on,Nordic centre, movie theatres , hiking, biking, excellent restaurants) plus the close proximity to sunshine, norquey and lake Louise ski resorts make it a perfect holiday. Solara condo suites have all the amenities and are beautiful for a summer/winter or Xmas holiday

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Francois B, Regional Director at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Good day SimoneCanada,

Thank you so much for such a great review. Indeed Canmore is an exceptional location to access quickly and simply all surrounding activities. We are privileged to live among such natural surroundings.

Certainly that Solara is an exceptional resort that only completes the unique surroundings you can experience. The team is very committed to deliver the best services to each of our guest. I hope we will have the chance to see you once again at Solara with your family and please make sure to let us know on your next visit as a valued repeat guest.

I take this occasion to wish you a wonderful 2014 year.

Sincere Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom penthouse unit, and were pleased with the spaciousness and high quality furnishings; however, the unit was very dark - not much natural light, due to the roof overhang, and low wattage bulbs everywhere meant that we felt as though we were in a cave. Bathroom lighting was especially bad. The strangest thing was the lack of a closet in the master bedroom - nowhere to hang clothes, and one very small, narrow shelving unit in a utility closet. There was however a wine fridge and a microwave in this bedroom(?)
Service was excellent - staff was prompt in supplying us with whatever we needed (other than a closet). Great fitness centre, and beautiful spa facilities. Canmore is fabulous, and we will definitely return, but probably not to Solara.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WENDYS_WORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Francois B, Regional Director at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Good day Wendys_Word,

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay. The style of our spacious unit also comes with a level of lighting that in some cases can benefit less natural light. Your unit seemed to have received little light, in part as you said because of the longer roof covering of your balcony area.

I am certainly pleased that you enjoyed the spaciousness and high quality furnishings. Our staff is very dedicated to our guest comments and needs throughout their stay; I'll make sure to let them know your kind comments of course.

On your next visit to Canmore, we would be happy to find a unit that will be more naturally bright from its exposure if you would like to try it again. Please let us know as a valued repeat guest.

Again, thank you very much for your feedback.

Sincere Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.1 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
4.6 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.0 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort
Grande Rockies Resort
#19 of 29 in Canmore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
1.4 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#11 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Resort & Spa

Property: Solara Resort & Spa
Address: 187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#1 Business Hotel in Canmore
#2 Green Hotel in Canmore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Solara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Rocky Mountain architecture grounds the Solara vacation experience in authenticity, making your retreat the perfect Canmore vacation! Solara Resort blends the absolute best of a Rocky Mountain holiday with the elegant details of a high-end urban hotel. Choose from spacious, fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suites with up to 1700 square feet of luxurious space. Linger on your own private balcony or terrace, soak in breathtaking mountain views or snuggle beside your slate fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Solara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Hotel Canmore
Solara Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing