We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 bedroom sui” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solara Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Solara Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary
1 review
“1 bedroom sui”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Kitchen was very well equipped: toaster, coffee maker, oven, cutlery, pots, pans and towels were provided. Everything was very clean. Three heads in the shower were both confusing and awesome. Overall experience was great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Salla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Salla T: Thank you for taking the time to post a 4/5 review regarding your recent stay with us! I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay in our fabulous suites with everything they have to offer. Once again, thank you for your review and I do look forward to hosting you again in future!


Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    237
    103
    54
    32
See reviews for
370
236
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel is pricy but fairly nice overall. The staff were friendly and responsive. Cleanliness of suite could have been better- bathrooms/ commonly touched surfaces such as light switches. Was okay as a splurge.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JSeW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear JSeW2014: Thank you for taking the time to post an excellent review regarding your recent stay. Thank you for noting our friendly Team Members. We do apologize for the bathrooms not being addressed to a satisfactory level. We are now ensuring the bathrooms light switches are having the attention they require. Once again, thank you for your review and I do look forward to hosting you again in future!


Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were in Calgary for a visit to the zoo. Our grandson and grand-daughter loved all the animals. That was a lot of fun but after hours of walking we decided to leave and get something to eat for supper before heading back to the Acclaim Hotel ( good hotel by the way ) near the airport. After a good night’s sleep, we made plans to go for a return visit to Canmore even though we called to book rooms for the stay over but everywhere we tried had no vacancies! Well we were not deterred by that and jumped in our cars anyway. When we got into Canmore my step-daughter and her husband drove around looking for a vacancy sign. They found one ... what a bonus ... now we could stay instead of heading back to Calgary that night. It had been almost two years since we spent a four day family Christmas in Canmore and now that it is close to the end of summer, we could see how beautiful the mountains were at this time of year. As usual no disappointment … but I think the Christmas season is even more magical. Just my opinion!
We stayed at the Solara Resort & Spa in one of the Chinook suites. We booked into our rooms and then drove our vehicles underground to park and unload the luggage. The elevator was only a few steps away and we were upstairs in our room in short order. We opened our door and wow …… what a beautiful sight. There was an island style kitchen with fridge/freezer, stove, microwave, dishwasher, wine fridge and double sink. A sitting area with leather furniture, fireplace (electric) and 42” wall mounted tv above was across from the dining area. The master bedroom has a king size bed, fireplace (electric) and a wall mounted tv as well. The bathroom was huge and had a tub and shower all-in-one with a telephone shower, a rain can shower and two shower jets on the end wall. That has to be the best shower I have seen in a hotel scenario ever! The floors were tiled throughout and there was a private patio with table and chairs to sit outside and enjoy the mountain air. To top it all off, there was a laundry room and ironing board area. The wi-fi worked well and was easy to setup too. This suite was just great and we felt very much at home. We will return again in the future and not even think twice about where to stay. They even offer a discount to repeat customers from what I understand and hey, I’m all for that! I almost forgot to mention that there is a hot tub and pool area inside and also a theater. We did not see the theater but maybe on the next trip we will. I hope this review helps you to make a better informed decision on your trip. Thanks for reading.

Dennis H.

Regina,Sk. Canada

Room Tip: When you book a room ask for a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDHDoodlebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niverville
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This resort was beautiful! I loved the space, balcony, very modern kitchen, state of the art appliances, all amazing! Few things though, when we asked the staff for something that was supposed to already be in our suite, TWICE, and they said they would bring it and a week goes by and they don't, that's quite frustrating. Also got treated poorly by the male staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Sylvia S: Thank you for your review. It is only through guest comments such as yours that we can continue to improve our operation. I will ensure that all Front Desk Agents are retrained to better serve our guests. Once again, thank you for your review and I look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Canmore!

Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great time here...property is beautiful. Rooms have been decorated nicely and tastefully. Clean place and housekeeping was more than helpful to me when I asked for clean towels
We will stay again when we return to Canmore


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear ChachiMuchachi: Thank you for taking the time to post an excellent review regarding your most recent stay with us. Our goal is always to exceed guest expectations. I do also appreciate your kind comments regarding our Team Members. Once again, thank you for your review and your continued patronage!


Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I enjoyed my stay very much, and will recommend to others. The location was close to highway for travel to banff. It was also close to Canmore,which I liked better than Banff, more of a home town feel, rather than the tourist feeling in banff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Vicky P: Thank you very much for your excellent review and your continued patronage! Our Team’s mission is to ensure all of our guests receive Star treatment and go home with a memorable hospitality experience. Also delighted you enjoyed our amazing location. I look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Canmore!


Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leduc
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed three nights. Room was nice, no restaurant, below average pools, our king bed was really two twins put together and no fitted sheets. Overall the accommodation should be better for the cost.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shaun! U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Shaun! U: Thank you for sharing your review with us. Great to hear that you enjoyed the amazing location and spacious sized suites. We are working on getting a restaurant here at Solara. Our relaxation pool is of smaller size, but designed for all to quietly enjoy the calmness of the water. Thank you once again for your review and I do look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Canmore!


Kind Regards,
Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.1 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
0.0 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
4.6 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort
Grande Rockies Resort
#19 of 29 in Canmore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
1.4 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#10 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Resort & Spa

Property: Solara Resort & Spa
Address: 187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Canmore
#1 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#2 Green Hotel in Canmore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Solara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Rocky Mountain architecture grounds the Solara vacation experience in authenticity, making your retreat the perfect Canmore vacation! Solara Resort blends the absolute best of a Rocky Mountain holiday with the elegant details of a high-end urban hotel. Choose from spacious, fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suites with up to 1700 square feet of luxurious space. Linger on your own private balcony or terrace, soak in breathtaking mountain views or snuggle beside your slate fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Solara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Hotel Canmore
Solara Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing