We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Would Stay Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Canmore
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely Would Stay Again”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Just finishing up our 10 night stay at this location. We found it very well situated, easy to get into the center of town or on the highway to head toward Banff. We were on the 3rd floor with wonderful views of the mountains. The front desk staff in particular were very friendly and helpful with any requests that we had. They always greeted us with a smile and offered us great tips for must see activities in the area. The room itself was somewhat typical. We had 2 queen beds, desk, desk chair, and easy chair with an ottoman. Carpet and all items appeared clean. There was also a microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker that were quite convenient. Bathroom was nice sized with a wonderful shower head with good pressure. We did use the guest laundry room and the dryer and washer were in good working order. Detergent is available for sale at the front desk for $2.10. Washer and dryer were each $1.75 each. We did not eat in the restaurant and would have preferred a continental breakfast as some Holiday Inns offer. We did use the wi-fi and found it to be reliable. Also there is a computer and printer available for free in the lobby. Free parking was always available and the parking lot was well lighted. I did notice that others in their reviews complained about the room temperature. We used both the heater and the air conditioner and had no problems keeping our room cool or warm as we desired. We didn't use the hot tub - it was enclosed in a porch area. I would recommend they build a deck sometime in the future with a hot tub that one could use while enjoying the beautiful views of the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DL54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hicanmore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
We appreciate your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay in Canmore. All Holiday Inn Express's offer complimentary breakfast unlike Holiday Inn's which offer full service restaurants. We encourage our guest to reserve our attractive breakfast packages and benefit with added discounts. We enjoyed beautiful hot weather recently in Canmore and have made our AC units worked overtime and temperatures are back to normal. We will consider your suggestion about building a deck with a hot tub. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    207
    91
    33
    12
See reviews for
140
223
28
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Good location, free parking. Standard tourist overnight hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hicanmore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. All guest enjoy all Holiday Inn new Trademarks since 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

First off, I stayed at this hotel in early May 2012 while in the area on business and the experience was nothing special, no morning paper, no extra's, no big deal nothing really to write about good or bad. When I checked in yesterday (July) I wanted to extend my stay one more night 4 days from the check in, I was told they are full, ok, well I have put in the time and over the last 6 years spent approximately 750…yes 750 nights in Holiday Inn’s, HI Express, Stay Bridge, Inter Continental, etc. I think I have earned my platinum status (I would have rather been at home; a hotel room is always just a hotel room). I know the rules, “a guaranteed room in any location with 72 hours’ notice”, when I brought this up and that a call to priority club may be required they miraculously had a room! Hmmm, so if you are a priority club member and you are traveling to the Canmore/Banff area and looking to stay at the Holiday Inn in Canmore, know the rules and expect to be price gouged if staying in the summer. So, I am back at the same hotel currently again on business and paying $80 more a night for a lesser room, still no morning paper and now after working all day and arriving at my room at 9:15pm (I left the room at 9:30am this morning) I find it not even cleaned, no towels changed, no coffee…WTF, I am paying $220 a night for a substandard room and it isn’t even cleaned the second day? In fairness they offered me a free breakfast for the inconvenience, I turned it down. At the end of the day if I am pulled away from home and stuck staying in a hotel Holiday Inn or other, I just want it to be $220 worth of clean.

Room Tip: Priority Club memebrs, know your membership level perks and rules.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hicanmore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel which has caused a great deal of concern.We are nevertheless very glad that you brought the matter to our notice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We were very pleased with this property. Located with a mountain view all around. Easy access off the freeway and plenty of parking. Room was very comfortable and much cheaper than the ones up the road in Banff. Canmore is a quieter town but still close to the park entrance. Would definitly recommend and wish we could go back soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50happytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hicanmore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for your review. Our Employees always enjoy reading great comments from our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed in Canmore as the cost was much less than a stay in Banff. We had a very large, spacious room. More than we bargained for. The room was very clean and well stocked. The staff was very friendly and guided us to an excellent place to eat dinner. Overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marycg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hicanmore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
We are glad to hear you found our Hotel of great Value. Our front desk Staff enjoyed your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We booked this hotel using my Priority Points. We took another party with us and checked in. The hotel upon arrival is impressive with a mountain lodge look. We were checked in and were put on the 2nd floor even though I had requested a higher floor. We got to our rooms and while they were small, they would be sufficient. The first thing we did was put the air conditioner on as it was around 30 degrees out and supposed to be the whole weekend, It would work for a min and shut down. No cold air would blow out either, The other party had thier air conditioner working but it made a horrible noise. We called for maintenance to come and check it out. He came and told us the A/C units are so old they aren't working properly ane shutting down because they are over heating. I called front desk and they moved us into another room. The A/C did work in that room but it had a damp smell. The other party decided to stay in that room for the night. The next day we came back from our trip into Banff and the other party tried thier A/C and it did not work at all. They were moved to the room next to us. We get a call to come over and they had found a LIVE BUG in the bed between the sheet. That was really gross. Then we found another one in the bathroom. We decided to check out and we left as the front desk agent said there were no more rooms available. How do live bugs get in the bed between the sheets???? We have stayed at many, many hotels in the last 5 years and have never found this problem. We did get our points back and were not charged anything but this is disgusting. How does a hotel make thier customers happy with no working A/C in thier rooms when it is 30 degrees out? I was told by the manager that this hotel was bought last year and they are starting to do upgrades. I guess when you use points and get a "free" room, you get the crappiest rooms they have. Be careful if you stay here. Strip the bed when you get your room, take the headboard off and check it and the bathroom inbehind the toilet. If this is what we could see in the light, what can't you see when it is dark!

Room Tip: There is no pool and thier hot tub is in a gazebo outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taylorta2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We decided to stay in Canmore versus Banff to get away from the crowds and to save a bit on the cost of a room. Our daughter had stayed at this hotel on a school trip previously and recommended it to us. Very good location and our room had a fantastic view of the mountains. The staff was very friendly and helpful, made us feel welcome. Definitley would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a great view from our east facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you so much for your review! If one your requests is mountain views, we got it! We have some rooms with Cathedral style windows and vaulted ceilings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.8 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.4 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 29 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.8 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Canmore

Property: Holiday Inn Canmore
Address: 1 Silvertip Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Canmore
#7 Family Hotel in Canmore
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Canmore 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Canmore Hotel Canmore
La Quinta Canmore
Four Points Canmore
Canmore Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing