We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the location and this town!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Canmore
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Reviewed 13 August 2012

What a gorgeous little town on the way to Banff. This hotel is nothing off the charts as far as amenities but it is comfortable, safe, secure, and just a good solid place to hang your hat. We couldn't believe how quaint the area is- with its small shops, galleries and hospitality. The Holiday Inn made a nice base camp to go explore the area. While the parking spaces were a little snug, we were lucky to have rented a small car; it might be a bit of a trick if we had dragged along a trailer or had a massive 4x4. We though the staff was more than friendly when we checked in at the wee hours of the morning and were super polite. Nice place without a lot of frills so don't expect to be pampered or think it's some spa village. They provide a nice roof over your head and serve up some proper amenities.

Room Tip: Be aware when the Calgary Stampede is going as this place could be filled and the rates could be ast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smogboy315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hicanmore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

We are always glad when our guest take the time to write reviews. We enjoy of the fresh trademarks of all new Holiday Inns. Coming soon, we will have swimming pool and spa facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

Clean and very comfortable. We stayed one night and drove to do Banff. Pricey for the simplistic room. Friendly service- but would be nice if they charged people for taking two parking spots. Many guests thought their vehicles must be special and overlapped their parking spaces so it made it hard for others to park. Also room walls were thin and you could hear your neighbour flushing the toilet. Free wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tromponya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The location of the Holiday Inn is why we chose to stay there. The staff was very nice although I did have a problem understanding the front desk clerk due to extreme broken English. The room and inn were very clean and well decorated. Breakfast is not included with the room, and the prices at the restaurant were quite steep. We chose to have breakfast elsewhere. We have stayed elsewhere in Canmore previously, and compared to other hotels/motels in Canmore, the Holiday Inn is rather expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oilton28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hicanmore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you the nice review. Unlike Holiday Inn Express, we offer Full Service Restaurant facilities. We offer great incentives to book breakfast included packages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Let me start by saying that we left another location to come to this holiday inn, and we weren't disappointed. I disagree with another reviewer it is only a 10-15 minute walk from the center of canmore. Canmore is a fantastic place away from the hustle and general annoyance of Banff. Canmore is a much better location for travelling around the rockies and the holiday inn, is as what you expect, to a high standard, staff friendly and clean.
The reason it didn't get five stars was due to two reasons.. 1. A broken air con unit, we reported that the unit was leaking and the carpet was wet, but they couldn't move us as they were fully booked. The night reception staff said it had been fixed, but it was still leaking in the morning! 2. Why put the ice machine next to rooms, was woken up at 3 in the morning due to guests and machines being noisy..
I must add that generally say the rooms were very quiet, we had a screaming baby next to our room, and could here this in the corridor but nothing in the room..

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Gill851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hicanmore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We take your comments very seriously and make decisions upon them. We really hope you get a chance to see the great improvements we are making in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We were lucky to get a second floor room facing the mountains. Average hotel room that could use some renovation. Could use some "detailed" cleaning e.g. corners of the shower etc. Was able to get a good deal for Canmore. No free breakfast included.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spud0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hicanmore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. Our property has been running at a high capacity and we are looking to do our programmed deep cleaning as soon as the occupancy allows it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

My wife and I spent one night in the Holiday Inn Aug 1, 2012 and had a very pleasant evening and a great breakfast the next morning before departing for home. When we arrived without a reservation, we expected to wait a very long time to check in given that two full tour buses arrived at the same time as us. We were very pleasantly surprised to find that the desk staff was so efficient, it was as if we were the only ones checking in. Great job. Matt took great care of us and took the extra time to call me in our toom to help me find our rewards points number and apply it to our stay. The room was large and very comfortable, spectacular view of the mountains and, extremely importantly, nowhere near those ever present blasted train tracks that run through the town of Canmore with trains that can keep you awake all night. I am a very very light sleeper and, I slept like a baby. We had breakfast in the hotel dining room the next morning and were seated in the restaurant by a very funny and charming young french canadian gentleman. My eggs benedict were cooked to perfection, excellent hollandaise sauce, and came with a very enjoyable and plentiful serving of fresh fruit and home fries. My wife had french toast and said it was great. Too much to eat. I could have really cut my order to one egg but, they were so good, I "forced" myself to finish it all. The service in the restaurant was most pleasant. We were served by a young lady who appeared to be of Japanese descent and she was polite, warm and very friendly. Matt was at the desk when I checked out and was the same friendly cheerful young man he had been the evening before.
We had stayed in a Banff hotel the week before and, as we were pulling a small utility trailer, we had a little difficulty finding off street parking so, we thought we'd try a hotel with a good reputation just a few minutes from the congestion of Banff and, I'm really glad we did.
We often travel to Banff and usually stay in the town of Banff. We'll stay here from now on.

Great location a couple of minutes from downtown Cammore and ten minutes to Banff, lots of parking, terrific staff. Nicely done. folks.

Tom Duncan, Sherwood Park, AB

Room Tip: our room faced the highway at an angle but, the highway is several hundred yards away and we heard a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shibibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hicanmore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about the Holiday Inn Canmore. I will make sure to recognize our staff for a job well done. I take your comments seriously and use them make decisions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We were looking for a stopover between Calgary and Jasper and this Holiday Inn worked out well. We enjoyed our evening strolling around Canmore although the hotel is not within walking distance of town. Staff was friendly at check-in and we got a standard two queen room facing north on the 3rd floor. We had good views of the mountains from the room.

The room was nice and comfortable. The air conditioner/heater was a little loud but didn't bother us sleeping.The hotel was quiet on this Monday evening. The LG TV was a plus, but it did not have any HD channels. The wireless was efficient in the room. We did not eat at the restaurant because we ate in town at the Grizzly Paw which I recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hicanmore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Thank you for the nice review. I am glad you had a wonderful time in Canmore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.8 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#12 of 28 in Canmore
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#15 of 28 in Canmore
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Canmore

Address: 1 Silvertip Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Canmore
#6 Family Hotel in Canmore
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: £59 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Canmore 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Canmore Hotel Canmore
La Quinta Canmore
Four Points Canmore
Canmore Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing