We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, Good beds, Interesting area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Canmore
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
St. Albert, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view, Good beds, Interesting area”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn that had been booked for a retreat. We loved the view of the Three Sisters. The beds were good and we liked the choice of pillows. There was good ventilation with quiet air conditioning in our quiet third floor room. The staff were accommodating. The meals provided for the retreat were satisfactory. The two meeting rooms were spacious and met the needs of the group very well. This hotel is located across the highway from the town but shopping in the area was easily accessed. There are interesting art galleries and specialty shops for clothing, toys, books, and sporting goods. The town's recreation centre, Elevation Place, has great climbing walls, excellent swimming pools and gyms, a library and a small art gallery. The Ammonite Factory was an interesting place to visit - one that we will return to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna and Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    212
    95
    33
    12
See reviews for
143
228
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Frances, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We certainly were not expecting to find a Holiday Inn that was this far from the ordinary. Vaulted ceilings and a huge nicely decorated room. Bathroom was also a very large size. Our night was very quiet with no outside or inside noise. We had dinner in the restaurant. Excellent service and we enjoyed the meal. Prices were very good at hotel and restaurant. We would stay again!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor. Do not know if the other floors have same type of huge rooms with lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynjolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We choose Holiday Inn because I am a long-time member of their loyalty programme and have stayed in the various Holiday Inn brands in Europe, North America and Australia. This was, without doubt the most disappointing. The positives were friendly staff and a mini-suite of spacious proportions. However, the decor was drab, the fit out cheap, and the bed linen of poor quality and actually too small to fit the king size bed. The room cost may reflect the floor space rather than the quality of the offering. One to avoid.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Nigel A,

Thank you for taking time to post your review and for being a member of our IHG Rewards Club program. I appreciate your compliment regarding our friendly hotel staff. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that you may have experienced with our bedroom amenities. Rest assured that your feedback has been shared with our housekeeping department for review and consider necessary upgrades towards improving our service.

Once again, thank you for staying and we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We visited Holiday inn a few days back on Victoria day long weekend for two days. It looked decent from the reception and had a nice restaurant in the front. The hotel was clean and almost full. However, there were few problems- It’s so close to the highway that you’ll hear each and everything from the road in your room. The weather was good and we wanted to open the windows but it became so noisy that we had to keep them closed. But closing the windows didn’t help much either, we could still hear all the noise all the time. Secondly, view wasn’t that great and I guess its applicable for most of the rooms. We could see the beautiful mountains but they were behind the highway. So, whenever we were looking at the mountains, we were looking at the vehicles too which wasn’t nice at all when you want a nice relaxing vacation. Thirdly, there was no pool. They had a hot tub which wasn’t covered either(good for non-rainy days). So, we couldn’t enjoy it as it was raining the first day. Overall, I won’t recommend it to anybody..Its just okay okay, not very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jyoti n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear jyotirathee,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise levels prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Rooms were clean and acceptable, and up to what I've experienced at Holiday Inn facilities across the province (save the corporate art on the walls, really, it's not hard to find all manner or art locally). But the front desk staff, and the restaurant staff were lacking (2 stars for them). My booking was for three rooms, but on check in I was advised that there were only two rooms booked under my name. Pulling up the confirmation email got the third room, not before the supervisor tried to tell me that there aren't rooms available and that the cost would be more than what I booked for. Not very impressed. The restaurant had trouble keeping up with four tables in the morning. They ran out of milk and could not keep the buffet items topped up. Points for being friendly, but not for being competent.

I was going to stay here for a race (Melissa's) in September, but I've decided to book a room in Banff for convenience and to avoid frustration.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Raj B,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. We’re glad to know that our location suited your needs.

I’m very disappointed to read about the level of service you received. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and discuss your experience in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional information regarding your experience. We look forward to hearing from you and serving you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stopped here on a trip from Vancouver, BC to Calgary, Alberta. The duty manager, Analyn, was a cheery and helpful host. She acted quickly and willingly to our request for a room move to be closer to the elevator. She provided helpful information regarding a place for dinner in Canmore (Crazy Weed) which was a good choice.

The room was comfortable and very quiet. The beds were also comfy. The room was clean and a small refrigerator looked after our need to keep some food items cold.

We ate breakfast (not complimentary) in the restaurant near the lobby. The staff was very inexperienced and one was overly casual (breaking into song to accompany the canned music). The room needed the attention of a knowledgeable supervisor. We would advise travelers to find an alternative restaurant for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor facing to the front of the hotel for the best view. Ask to be fai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapilanoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here to visit Elevation Place in Canmore and go skiing the next day. The hotel is quite easy to access from the Trans-Canada Highway, though it is on the opposite side of the highway from the rest of Canmore so having a car is necessary.

As an IHG Platinum Ambassador member, we got a discount for the in-hotel restaurant, Pizza Co., couple bottles of water, and an upgrade to an Executive Suite. Like most (all?) Holiday Inns, they have a Kids Eat Free program. We ate at Pizza Co. for both dinner and breakfast. The pizza is surprisingly good. Breakfast buffet was mediocre. Not much choice.

One big plus is the heater in the room is very quiet. I've been to other, older Holiday Inns with horrendously loud units. Not sure what it's like during the summer for cooling, though.

The only real downside for us is the lack of a pool. But, Elevation Place is a great, inexpensive facility just a few minutes away.

Room Tip: Our first floor suite was a bit dark. We've stayed on the upper floors before which seemed brigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kinghuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.8 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
5.1 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,082 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 28 in Canmore
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Canmore

Property: Holiday Inn Canmore
Address: 1 Silvertip Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Canmore
#7 Family Hotel in Canmore
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Canmore 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Canmore Hotel Canmore
La Quinta Canmore
Four Points Canmore
Canmore Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing