We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious, warm suite”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramada Canmore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Canmore
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Province of Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Spacious, warm suite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with other members of our family for four nights over the New Year before our son's wedding in Canmore. The bedroom was comfortable and quiet even though on road side of hotel. We had a lounge area too so could relax. The suite was warm after the minus twenty degrees outdoors. The staff at the desk were very helpful and friendly, as were the cleaning staff.
The breakfast buffet was varied and plentiful but struggled at times with the large number of guests arriving around the same time. We had a pod coffee machine in our room but wired inside a dark cupboard so difficult to use and not nice coffee; it was not possible to boil water for our own tea bags as no kettle. There was a microwave but no dishes or cutlery if you did use it.
The location was excellent and we managed to slither along the icy paths to different restaurants for meals and to bring in the New Year. They did not close over the normal holiday. The town and most amenities were in walking distance and there was plenty parking available at the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel as good value through booking.com when compared with others afterwards on our trip.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    353
    228
    80
    46
See reviews for
401
271
56
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We used an online booking site to book this hotel, and got a discounted rate. While that may NOT be the reason we were given the room we were, it was certainly an indication of what we would come to expect over the next 2 weeks that we were travelling throughout Alberta and BC.

OUR ROOM was in the "West Wing" - separated from the main building by a breezeway. The room was very small, and the furniture had certainly seen better days. The bathroom was really tiny, with just a small corner shower (no tub). There was no vanity, so no where to place our toiletries.

THE LOCATION was great, and within walking distance of stores and restaurants. There is no restaurant on site except for the Breakfast Station.

THE BREAKFAST BUFFET was just OK. The setup was really disorganized, and either you were always in someones way or they were in yours. We paid $4.95 instead of the usual $14.95 because we were staying there. It wasn't worth a penny more than what we paid.

THE STAFF were pleasant and polite, but they too seemed disorganized.

OVERALL, this was just barely acceptable as a place to lay our heads for the night.

Room Tip: Rooms in the West Wing are very outdated
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darsenault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to comment on your stay. The economy rooms in the West Wing are smaller than the ones in the main building but are priced accordingly.
We are sorry if the staff seemed disorganized; I can assure you it is not the norm.
We are thrilled you found our staff pleasant and polite.
May I suggest a room in the main building for your next visit?
Please come again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel and found this hotel very comfortable. Very polite staff, polite caring housekeeping staff, reception staff and the hotel duty manager Dominic very accommodating- Desiree another staff member was polite, helpful and caring.
The rooms were clean, the sheets towels clean- Free parking and wireless-In the room there was a fridge, Microwave, TV, and iron + ironing board-I have stayed in some 4 star hotels that did not have these for their guests + a coffee maker, complimentary coffee tea, replenished each day.
The breakfast that is on a very minimum price per person is good value for money.

Room Tip: Some rooms face a train tracks and if your window is open Yes you will hear the sound but nothing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. We are thrilled you found our staff polite, helpful and caring.
You can expect the same kind of service during your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I had stayed in this hotel the week previously for business and reserved a room for the following week. What a difference a week makes ... avoid the "adjacent wing". The bathroom is so small that the door won't open because the toilet is in the way. All the shelves in the bathroom are bent so things roll off, no towel hangers, no vanity. Stained carpet throughout, didn't look vacuumed on arrival. Both my rooms were in need of repairs and new carpets, the exercise room needs hand sanitizer and spray bottles for cleaning. Bed sheets are too small for the beds. Parking is a hassle as well with a bigger vehicle ... I've stayed in Ramadas all over Canada and never seen one that needs as much work as this one.

Room Tip: If you don't want to listen to the trains all night ask for a room on the "road" side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telcom_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, 16 August 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Like you mentioned our Economy Rooms are not as nice as our Deluxe Rooms. That being said it does not sound like the room you stayed in reflects our standards. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we will keep it in mind when renovating in the fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canmore hotels

chertsey
Level Contributor
126 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel made our stay in Canada having had a bad experience in Jasper. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, Rooms are luxurious with ample parking and restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast is amazing with a good selection of cooked items and continental fair. A very comfortable quiet lounge is available on the first floor Canmore itself is good for shopping and sells decent gifts to take home rather than the touristy gifts in Banff/Jasper, but only opens at 10am. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Both the rooms we had - at the beginning & end of trip were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank padington_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We are very excited that we made your stay in Canada. Thank you very much for your nice comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were booked in another hotel and it had no air conditioning on a hot day. We cancelled it upon our arrival at 11 pm and found this one! They upgraded our room at no charge and we were thrilled! Breakfast was only 5.00 at the restaurant which was a full blown buffet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirlpeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We are thrilled we could accommodate you. We are very happy you enjoyed the free upgrade and the breakfast buffet.
Please come again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Arrived early am. and thus well before our check-in time which was 4pm but folks on the check-in desk were very helpful and tried to find a suitable room that was ready. They were very apologetic that they were unable to but advised us on the area and where we could park and that something would be ready in the hour, which it was.

Super friendly and helpful check-in in general. We were advised us of breakfast times and venue, pool and fitness opening times without being asked. Room itself was a good size with plenty of space and in room safe. It had pine furniture, two very comfortable queen beds, work desk and a chair, ample storage, a second table and chair, microwave and fridge as well as usual coffee making facilities. The large bathroom had a full size bath with a make-up mirror and plenty of thick towels, makeup mirror and usual complimentary toiletries that included make-up remover wipes.

We were given breakfast vouchers but we chose to eat elsewhere, though we were assured by others staying at the hotel how good the buffet was.

Loved the outside seating areas – great to sit and enjoy a coffee in the spectacular surroundings. The free train rides for the kids are a big hit! We enjoyed watching their excitement – oh and that of the driver. We are pretty sure he has as much fun entertaining the kids as the kids have themselves! Very friendly guy indeed.

Location is perfect and parking free. Hotel is 15/20 mins to Banff national park or a quick walk to pubs, restaurants, shops, cafes and gift shops. Scenery is spectacular.

Room Tip: Ask for a room roadside if you prefer not to hear the train a the train tracks are in frequent use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAXII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for your detail comments about your stay with us. We are glad that you found our staff super friendly and helpful. I have to agree with you that the free train rides are a big hit.
We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 29 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
0.4 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
0.8 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#18 of 29 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Canmore

Property: Ramada Canmore
Address: 1402 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N5, Canada (Formerly Canmore Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Canmore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a combination of great value and friendly service, the Ramada Inn & Suites in Canmore is ideal for families, conference, meetings, and anyone looking to enjoy the Rockies. The resort offers a three-story waterslide, swimming pool, hot tub and fitness room. The Ramada Inn & Suites is located in the heart of Canmore, Alberta, in the Canadian Rockies. Canmore is home to spectacular mountain views, great family fun, year-round outdoor adventure, and is only minutes from Banff National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Suites Canmore
Ramada Inn & Suites Canmore Hotel Canmore
Canmore Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing