We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Greek Salad”
Review of Mountain Mercato

Mountain Mercato
Ranked #23 of 119 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$100
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: Cafe/Coffee/specialty groceries/ wine/beer/bubbles/antipasto/deli/bakery/organic produce/local farmers/imported goods
Seattle
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Delicious Greek Salad”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My husband and I ate here quite a few times while visiting Canmore. The Greek salad was delicious and everything in it was organic. How wonderful to find some organic food on our travels. We would definitely eat here again if our travels ever bring us back to beautiful Canmore, Alberta. The gals who waited on us could have been a little more friendly but that would not keep us from coming back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilyofthefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    48
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Coffee, lunch or tapas with friends. A good place for a visit.”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Most weekends I will end up sipping coffee at the Mercato at some point and probably munching a rich panini with a book or a slice of the Globe and Mail in hand. Not a great place if you want to have a proper meal, but the absolute best place in town to take a magazine and a friend and have a good catch-up over gourmet coffee and exquisite tapas.

The Mercato is pricey, yes, but you get what you pay for. The service isn't warm and fuzzy but is professional, the water is free and has lime slices in it, the coffee is good (Phil and Sebastian), the food is delicious, and the shop is full of food art. (Think French lavender, fig and port preserves, Italian lady fingers - that kind of thing). My only wish is that they would: 1) bring back the heavy cups that kept the coffee so nice and hot, and; 2) serve the wine in wine glasses rather than Italian-style in a tumbler. Otherwise, a character location in a character town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
1 review
“Getting what you pay for, not always a bad thing!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The price of the coffee is slightly more than the other places on the main street, however you get what you pay for. This is the best coffee, by far. The dulce latte is recommended as I've not had anything like it before.

As for the food, they obviously have someone who knows how to cook, prepare and present. When they do the half price platters on Thursday/Friday/Saturday you can't get that kind of food from anywhere else in town!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mik3C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Costly coffee”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Yes the coffee is good but I don't think it is quite worth the extra cost compared to other nearby gourmet outlets.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cinn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
1 review
“Delightful and Delicious”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Mountain Mercato is a wonderful cafe that all should visit! I have been here all summer, and I can honestly say it is one of my favourite lunch places! Their salmon panini is superb, with ever changing seasonal preserves. Their trio crostini is a delightful combination of a multitude of flavours. You can't go wrong with any choices here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Car19932013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain Mercato also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Mountain Mercato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing