We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views from the Top”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ha Ling Peak

Ha Ling Peak
Ranked #3 of 49 things to do in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Views from the Top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I know this peak from its earlier name and wanted to hike up it since it has a historical connection to the early days of Canmore. The hike was very nice with a fairly easy grade for most of the way (however, if you are not in good shape, then you might struggle a bit). We had very good views from the top. Get a early start to see the sunrise would be a nice alternate day.

GJS

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Skulmoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    58
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This hike is not to be underestimated. I did it in the winter and a storm quickly blew in making for some additional challenges! Well worth the climb, glad I had my Yaktrax! Many loose rocks and unstable terrain once above the tree line. Awesome view of Canmore from the peak! Will definitely do this again!

Helpful?
1 Thank Rena4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Just do it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Nice easy hike for those who just want to walk away from civilization. The peak overlooks Canmore. Definitely breathtaking - enjoyable for all ages. My 8 year old little brother climbed the mountain. What's stopping you?

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jgiro403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

This hike is accessed from the back side of the mountain. It is best done in stages with short food breaks and rests. It is pretty much constant vertical but the end result is breathtaking. We took our eastern Canada relatives on this hike and they now want to move to Canmore!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great hike in the winter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Second year in a row we hiked Ha Ling on New Year's Eve day. This is a fantastic hike in the winter as a lot of people still continue to hike it after it snows, thereby making it pretty probable you will be able to find the trail. You can also have the mountain almost to yourself quite often in the winter. The weather was a balmy -3 C, excellent for hiking this trail as it is pretty much up, up, up all the way so you stay warm. Only the top scramble on the scree is fairly cold as the wind whips up there -- take a warm hat that covers your ears, heavy gloves and something to keep your neck warm for the top portion. Hiking poles are helpful too as it had melted and then frozen, making it very slippery in parts. They also help when you come upon short stints where the snow has drifted over the trail and you need to make your own trail through the deep snow. Be prepared and you will have a great time!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ha Ling Peak also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Ha Ling Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing