We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value stay in Canmore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canadian Rockies Chalets
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We had stayed here for 3 days which was a bit disappointed. We had a 2 bedroom unit which is the basement of a house. Due to the thin flooring, we can hear noise from the people upstairs. The unit has a 1 Double, 1 Queen, 1 sofa bed which is good for a family of 3-4 adults. There is a living room, a bathroom and a full kitchen. It is located near many restaurants and Safeway (about 5-10 min drive).

The pros:
- staff was friendly and nice.
- a nice hot tube and a game area with a pool table.
- free parking

The cons:
- noisy from the railway tracks
- free wi-fi is unstable and weak.
- no cleaning service if you continue to stay in the chalet.
- $100 deposit for the key

I only recommend this chalet if you have a big family and would want to save on your hotel bills.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmartTravellerHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

We had 7 people stay in a 3 bedroom cougar chalet. The chalet was big enough for us all and the beds were comfy. The place was clean but the carpet needed replacing and the bench top in the kitchen needed replacing. The bathrooms were nice. The rooms were a little stuffy so we had the windows open which meant the train and road noise was a little louder, but the road isn't too busy at night. The check in staff were nice, had to pay $100 deposit / guarantee for the key. Location is excellent. Would I stay again? I think I would if I was after another cheap night for lots of people.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We recently stayed here for three nights while visiting the Banff area. We spent the first two nights in a Cougar Chalet. It was nice and clean and fine for a family. The third night we had to move to a Bear Den. It was also fine but it was extremely noisy with the kids above us running around non-stop. We felt the Cougar Chalet was a little nicer with the window coverings since it is light out until very late. The train was also not a problem. I thought it would be louder than it was but it did not wake me up during the night. This isn't a 5 star resort but it is definitely a good price for a family and decent accommodations. The biggest complaint we had was that the sofabed was not comfortable at all so beware if you plan to use it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I was skeptical about staying here because I read a lot of negative reviews about the cleanliness of the rooms and the sound of the train. But because of the price and how close it is to the National Parks, I decided to try it out. We rented the Cougar Chalet (we have 6 people, all adults).

Price: For 4 days, 3 nights we paid around $400...that's it. Extremely cheap compared to all the other million hotels we looked at in Banff and Jasper.

First the room: It was like a house. All 6 of us could sleep and walk around comfortably...there is a nice kitchen, 3 bathrooms (2 of which have showers), a fridge, utensils...basically everything that a normal house would have. The beds themselves were comfortable as well.

The train: There is a train that runs through the area, but it honestly isn't that bad at all. Just don't open your window fully and you will be alright...I actually did keep the window open for my entire 4 days stay and the train only woke me up once.

Cleanliness and staff: I was extremely surprised at all the people saying the rooms are not clean....our entire place was clean and tidy. The staff was amazing...I called them about 4 different times with questions and they never got annoyed. Very nice!

Overall, the chalets are amazing. There is a grocery store nearby (Safeway is where we shopped) and the National Parks are close as well (we were able to go to Kooteney,Banff, and Jasper!)

The next time me and my family go to hike Banff, there is no question about where we are staying...DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Couger chalets are big enough for 6 full-grown adults...there is also a couch in the living room whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reeta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Firstly, this place is excellent value for money. We stayed in a clean, nice, 3 bedroom unit for roughly $100.00 per night. As standards go, this is a pretty good place.

This being said, we have read some reviews about other units being less well-maintained and I can understand why these people were upset with their stay. However, ours was clean and well maintained.

Secondly, the Chalet is in an excellent location. It is in the middle of town. There is a pedestrian crossing behind the Chalet that allows people to cross the CPR tracks easily to the main street in town

Thirdly, there is a hot tub, pool table and foosball table on site. In addition to a BBQ.

Fourthly, the staff is helpful and friendly.

The downsides are the following:

Firstly, it is very close to the railway tracks. But so what. The windows are new and shut out most of the noise and what isn't close to the CPR tracks in Canmore?!

Also, I generally bring ear-plugs whenever I am not sleeping at home because there can be a host of noises that a hotel/motel guest experiences in the course of their stay.

Secondly, the hot tub and other amenities closes at 9:30 pm. This is a little bit early, but perhaps there is a reason for this (e.g. partiers who make too much noise)

I would suggest that the hot tub remain open, on a case-by-case basis for more mature individuals.

Thirdly, the wi-fi was not always reliable. I am not sure where the main router is housed, but perhaps the Chalet could improve the wi-fi service -- it needs to be improved for total satisfaction.

Generally speaking, I would recommend this establishment for the above reasons. We were thoroughly impressed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stampedepalomino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Four adults shared a two bedrooms apartment. The location was great, plenty of places to eat within walking location. We had a night at Oh Canada Eh, dinner show which was really good. The rooms could do with a revamp but it was still a pleasant place to stay

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1716sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Attracted to this place by an online coupon promo, sure was not disappointed. 2 floors, all 3 bedrooms on 2nd floor. Very spacious ideal for a family of 4 but not much more unless you are all single and drunk!

Room Tip: ask for the odd numbered rooms, away from rail track
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowboydanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.8 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.5 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#15 of 28 in Canmore
1,000 reviews
5.2 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadian Rockies Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadian Rockies Chalets

Address: 1206 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Canmore
Price Range: £81 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadian Rockies Chalets 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canadian Rockies Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadian Rockies Chalets Canmore
Canadian Rockies Chalets Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing