We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place ...great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canadian Rockies Chalets
Reviewed 9 September 2013

nice place to stay with bunch of friends or with a family...with full kitchen and crockery, great location, hot tub closes little early which we don't like a lot, be aware there is a train tracks behind some rooms so it could be noise..over all a great place to stay

Room Tip: be aware there is a train tracks behind some rooms so it could be noise..over all a great place to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sibi_Rizvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

What a wonderful place. Located just a short walk to downtown canmore with great access to all the highways. A much better option than booking a room at a hotel. We had a wonderful and spacious chalet. Extremely clean with great facilities. Bed was amazing too!

The front desk staff are so helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The rooms and space were great. Although bathtub wasnt too appealing. The carpets looked a little gross. Walls are thin and you can hear everything including the train that frequents by. No fans or ac it was hot during our stay and they just help to block sound to sleep. It was a close walking distance to grocery stores and downtown. For most part nicely decorated. Canmore is a beautiful city regardless we were just happy to be there ;)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terra29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

we stopped at the chalets twice in 1 week. The staff was fantastic. The first stay was in a 3 bedroom chalet,(railway side) full kitchen, and dinning area, desent living/t.v area/ fireplace/ main floor washroom/ second level with full bathroom, and three great sized bedrooms. Room was clean, and spacious, (the train is loud but you get used to it). the second stay was in a main floor 2 bedroom chalet with a pull-out couch (corner unit railway side) ( the complex was almost fully booked and we had zero options on our room choice). This unit was very small, we had to keep our blinds in the front windows closed because everyone and their dogs like to hang out in front of our unit which made it quite dark, noisy kids running back and forth all day in the unit above (not the hotels fault), minor water damage on the celing in the bathroom, and cold floors. Lesson of the day,,,pre-book and get a second floor unit for an extra couple of dollars

Room Tip: get second floor units, if you want quitet make sure to ask for a chalet that is not on the railway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules23797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Canadian Rockies Chalets in early July 2013, just after the flood. Though the staff were obviously dealing with challenges as a result of the flood (some of the lower units had ben flooded and were being fixed), the staff were very focused on providing a positive Canmore experience and indeed provided excellent service. It was through the staff that we found out about Elevation Place, a new recreation complex adjacent to CRC with swimming fitness and a rock climbing wall with auto-belay that was AWESOME for the kids. They were also able to direct us to budget friendly restaurants, a laundromat and Rockies tourist sites.
Speaking of the flood, the powers that be in Canmore and the entire area that was affected by the flood have done a fanastic job cleaning up. At CRC's the upper units were not affected by the flood, though some of the lower units were.
We were really pleased with the Cougar Chalet. (Cougar Chalets are one building in from the railroad track, whereas Railroad Chalets back to the track. There are beautiful mountain views from both buildings). It was a 3 bedroom townhouse-style unit with 2.5 baths and a full kitchen. We had been eating in restaurants for several days while travelling and really appreciated the chance to cook good meals. We used the BBQ, as well as the kitchen. The kitchen was well stocked with appropriate cookware and everything in the kitchen was very clean. There are two grocery stores and a couple of liquor stores very handy to the CRC, just across the tracks. There are also many restaurants and bars within easy walking distance.

Reading prior reviews, railroad noise and cleanliness seemed to have been criticized and I believe these criticsms were unwarranted. Keep in mind the price, which is much more reasonable than newer properties in Canmore with different services. If travellers want 4 star, they should seek it out and pay for that luxury. These are self-catering suites at a reasonable price. Do not expect the maid in every day of your stay. Expect that you will need to clean up after yourself in the kitchen. Extra towels are available at the reception desk. Because my son has allergies and CRC does allow pets, we requested a thorough cleaning and found the suite to be clean. Regarding railroad noise: Canmore is in the Rockies and an excellent place to stay if you are wanting to do all the touristy things people do when they come to the Rockies, but mountain passes are few and far between, so where the roads go, so too do the trains. Most goods are shipped through the mountains on trains, so there will be train noise any place you stay in Canmore - really. CRC is no exception, but it's a great place to stay. We would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JDMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The room/ suite is big. The problem with this place are mainly two. First one is the location just near the railway so the noise is terrible every two hours. The other problem is toilets plumbing, probably because of the flood occurred in the area recently. I asked for a plumb to handle this myself with not much success so it was not resolved before we left.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank n699fjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed in a lower 2 bedroom unit, it was fine for the amount of time we spent in there. The unit was a bit dated and does need some updating but served us well. The main living area was dark since it is a lower unit. We found the reception very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Travel_G0ddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.8 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.5 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.8 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadian Rockies Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadian Rockies Chalets

Address: 1206 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Canmore
Price Range: £81 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadian Rockies Chalets 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Canadian Rockies Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadian Rockies Chalets Canmore
Canadian Rockies Chalets Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing