We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for a suite but not a place for relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canadian Rockies Chalets
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good value for a suite but not a place for relaxation”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

If you need a suite in Canmore at a reasonable rate, this will probably do. The room was ok, pretty clean. The location is convenient to the downtown, the highway and businesses along the strip. It would be nice if the 2 bedroom suites had 2 bathrooms, not just one. As many others noted, there is a lot of noise from traffic, trains, and guests. The ground floor patios, accessed from only one of the bedrooms, basically look out over a noisy street and you are 5 feet from your neighbour with no privacy screen. Not relaxing or enjoyable. The hot tub set up is not welcoming, so i didn't use it. The BBQ (one for the whole building) was crowded into one end of the passageway between suites, standing room for 1-2 chefs only. There does not seem to be a patch of outdoor common green space anywhere, the layout just seems so crowded. Management encourages you to bring out your trash and recycling (fair enough), but the recycling area was just a disorganized mess. Also wi-fi was super-slow. Like I said, if you are needing a budget suite this place will do, but next time i'll try somewhere else.

Room Tip: try and get an upper level room, avoid the ground level patios if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reginald_Chung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    69
    46
    23
    15
See reviews for
93
22
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Rented two units for family gathering. One upper and other lower unit on train side. Though they feel updated, it didnt take long to notice the poor quality of our stay. The Lower unit was musty dark and loud upper unit was hot and louder as there is no a/c so windows needed opening. Couldnt hold conversation when trains were passing by as they were too loud. Dvd or tv didnt work, screen patio door fell off on 1st opening.
I realize it is a budget hotel though I have stayed at 3 other local hotels within 20 dollars more I could recommend much higher.
Oh and did I mention you get no room service unless you ask and pay for it! Its not that much cheaper to warrant the lack of service regular hotels cost.

Good for a 1 night sleepover not much more.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canmore hotels

Kilauea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a 3 bedroom condo. It was clean and had everything we needed. It was close to many restaurants and shops. The jacuzzi is upstairs above the office with a view of the mountains. There is a pool table there too. The train goes by several times a day but it goes by every other place too.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maka_ohana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed in a three bedroom chalet closer to Bow Valley Trail. The beds were very comfortable and the place was clean. The location is great and it's a quick walk to downtown. The only downside is the trains and the traffic are very loud. I didn't notice it at bed time but traffic and trains were loud in the morning. I would definitely stay here again but next time I'll pack my ear plugs!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms will be loud. I was not on the same side as the train tracks but it was sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Macleod, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here some time back but it was the best place ever. It was just like being at home with all the conforts you need. I will go back and the price was reasonable. Look no longer, this is where you'll want to stay while in Canmore!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray0sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed in the cougar building further from the train. Loved the location, the suite was spacious and clean. Staff were helpful and courteous, nice people. We like the location, near everything in Canmore. I could hear the trains at night because it was hot and the windows were all open. I'm guessing it is not noticeable if the windows are closed. Not a big deal either way. We travelled with little kids, the kitchen and multiple bathrooms were ideal. Exactly what we expected, a nice spot to stay.

Room Tip: There is a green space either site that you could use as a bit of a play area for kids. There are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucasthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our room had three queen beds ,fireplace ,kitchen ,dining room, living room and two bathrooms for $109 , very nice also hot tub available and pool table. Biggest drawback is location , beside railway , trains every half hour. Although noticeable it was bearable ,and our group of four reported a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kal95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.8 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.5 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.7 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 29 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.1 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadian Rockies Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadian Rockies Chalets

Property: Canadian Rockies Chalets
Address: 1206 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadian Rockies Chalets 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Canadian Rockies Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadian Rockies Chalets Canmore
Canadian Rockies Chalets Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing