We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst meal ever”
Review of Castillo's Gourmet - CLOSED

Castillo's Gourmet
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Burlington
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“worst meal ever”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

wow, don't even waste your time here! when I went in there, there was nobody there, no I know why! the food is horrible here! expensive and horrible!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
554 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Good healthy food, not great, but good”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This was a really nice surprise, off main street. Small patio or seating inside with large windows. Restaurant was clean. Small menu with good basic items, gluten free offerings. Service very pleasant. Tried the soft corn tortillas with chicken and guacamole. Food was good tasting. What would make the restaurant a "5" would be to flavour up the food a bit. Cilantro in the guacamole, fresh side of lime, mexican cheese in the tortillas. But when you get the bill you will see the biggest surprise. Very reasonable. Good job.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Challenger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A surprising find...”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were walking around Canmore looking for a place for dinner. Typically, I don't eat Mexican food when traveling simply because I live in Texas where there are loads of Tex-Mex and Mexican restaurants. However, I felt like something different after 7 days of eating out while in the Rockies so we decided to give this place a try. It was surprisingly good.

The restaurant is run by two people: a man from Mexico City who works in the kitchen and a woman who is Japanese who works in the front of the house. I had a margarita which was fine but not great. It was, however, made with fresh lime and not sour mix so kudos for that.

We had tacos al pastor, carnitas tacos, shrimp with avocado salsa and tortilla soup. The tacos al pastor were some of the best I've ever had. The pork tasted like it came off a trompo and they were served with pineapple like they should be. The shrimp dish was very good although it needed a bit of salt. The soup was different than other versions I've had; it was a bit creamier. It was delicious though and would be a great treat in the colder months. The carnitas taco was fine but nothing amazing.

This is authentic Mexican food and worth checking out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lauraintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“$6.95 drinks on a fun little deck on Thursday market days or warm evenings.”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Recently have just been enjoying this meeting spot for drinks and authentic Mexican food. Owner's are from Mexico are enthused and gracious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 842Paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not so great”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

A co-worker and I decided to have lunch at Castilos after hearing good things about it. Although we very much enjoyed sitting in the sun on the patio, the service and food were sub-par. First of all, the prices were almost double what the prices in their online menu read. Secondly, our waitress was very unaccommodating, and lastly, the food wasn't very exciting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castillo's Gourmet also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing