We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I'll return”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We spent a week here, and what a week, The week of the great flood in Alberta. The Trans Canada Hwy. was washed out about 300 meters from the hotel. Canmore went into a 'State of Emergency' and the staff in this lovely facility was great. We were kept informed of what was happening. Service was maintained as best as possible despite several staff not being able to get in.

The room was large with a beautiful view. Some of the rooms have gas fireplaces and balconies looking towards town, others toward the Trans Canada. all with lovely views of the mountains. Included in our room was a microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge, plates & cutlery, Tasimo coffee machine. (but only 2 cup pkgs). The king size bed was great and we both sleeped better than at home, (mountain air?). Downtown Canmore is a 10 to 15 minute walk. Access to the 2'nd floor is controlled by your room key card.

As in so many hotels, the light for reading was not really good. A floor lamp by the arm chair would have been great.

Room Tip: The hotel is in the form of 2 U's. Rooms at the end of the U's and in the middle of the bas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    187
    123
    76
    54
See reviews for
94
288
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed at the Windtower Lodge for 2 nights. The good: staff attitude. Very approachable and willing to help. First night room was very hot and facing out to the highway. Asked for a room change for the second night and was accommodated without fuss. The bad: the Queen rooms are very, very small. Not even a desk to set up a laptop, The bad #2: the continental breakfast is a bad joke. If you care about getting a decent breakfast included with your room, stay somewhere else. Bad #3: Pillows were thick and rock hard. If you prefer a softer, thinner pillow, bring your own.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing the busy highway behind the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Was greeted some a pleasant young lady at the front desk. Was nice since it wasn't till 12 midnight that I arrived.
Room was clean and tidy, bed was comfortable and tv had just enough channels not to make it overwhelming.
Will stay there again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Arrived at 1250AM to try to check in early; rooms were available but was asked to wait until 230-300p. Front Desk Staff is very friendly and professional. After check in ( 245PM ) my room was clean and comfortable; great view of the mountains. Wheather was cool and raining; NO AC in room; room was somewhat stuffy but if you open all WINDOWS and BALCONY Door it is comfortable. However, during summer season i can defenently see these rooms being extremely hot WOULD NEVER book during the summer. The room is normal size ( it is not that small as others have described ) Flat 25 inch TV in room; complemetary WIFI; complementary breakfast; parking is on the street; huge balcony; spa/hot tub... Cant beat on Hotwire rate. Yet again would be safe to book during winter /spring and fall... One negative thing was that I could see from my room non front staff personnel taking breaks screaming bad words; and definetly in unifrom but not professional looking. If you have kids wouldnt recommend. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esaldana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port moody, british columbia, canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We flew into Canmore to attend a family Birthday, After researching a lot of other hotels and lodges, we chose to stay at the Windtower. Upon check-in we were warmly welcomed by the front desk staff. Our suite was really lovely; modern furnishings, gas fireplace, deck, an extremely clean and well-stocked kitchen, king-size bed that provided us with a wonderful sleep, very clean bathroom and comfortable sofa bed. There was a washer and dryer, iron and board and lots of storage for skiis or suitcases. Every room in the suite was modern and spotless! A complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast was included. We did not have breakfast at the Windtower; however, we did bring a large group of family for dinner and drinks and the meals were really good. There is a fitness centre and a hot tub on the premises. Really nice accommodation. I would certainly stay at the Windtower Lodge and Suites again.

Room Tip: One-bedroom suites are lovely, not huge, but comfortable enough Two-bedroom suites are very spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninja911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Besides having a postage stamp sized room where the only place that you could open your suitcase was on the bed, the room was excessively warm. The only way to cool the room was a ceiling fan and by opening the window (which we did not leave open during the night as we were on the first floor.
The other thing that disappointed me was their service. We headed out hiking at 9am, we came back at 6:30pm and our room had not been cleaned, the bed had not been made, in other words there was no maid service at all.
Definitely will NOT be coming back

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Tompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canmore hotels

Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We booked this accommodation via hotwire for 3 nights as a mystery 3 star hotel. Having previously stayed at other accommodation in Canmore I was relieved to find out that it wasn't situated on the railway side of the Bow Valley Trail as the trains were frequent and resulted in a mainly sleepless night. However we were unpleasantly suprised at the size of the room we were given - I had read a review saying they were small by Canadian standards - this was an understatement - the room we had was tiny compared to UK accommodation! Another unpleasant surprise was that they charged $10 per night for parking. Fortunately we were able to park on the street. The room itself was on the 2nd floor and overlooked the main entrance & restaurant as well as having other rooms directly opposite so we had to keep the curtains drawn for privacy. The worst thing about the hotel was the heat & the 'jelly' bed. The room was stiflingly hot despite having the thermostat turned down as low as it would go, window wide open & ceiling fan operating. When we mentioned this the response was that there was nothing that could be done as the hotel had floor heating which could not be switched off. As for the bed, although it felt comfortable to lie on it wobbled every time you moved and was a standard double size so it was very small when you are used to a super king size bed! Needless to say we didn't have a good night's sleep whilst staying here due to this. The 3 star touch to the room was the Keurig 'pod' coffee machine which produced decent coffee in my opinion compared to the hotel norm. Shame that you had to move it onto the floor to plug it in as there wasn't a socket where it was positioned. It was also annoying that no-one bothered to replenish the pods on a daily basis - we resorted to taking them from the lobby. On a more positive note we did enjoy the inclusive breakfast although on our last morning we went down to have breakfast at 7.15 a.m. & were told that breakfast was served from 8 a.m. Strange that the TV in the lobby said that breakfast was available from 6.45 a.m? As we needed to leave early the hotel did provide pastries for us to take with us when requested but we had been looking forward to a hot breakfast. Overall we found this hotel disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jannine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.2 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
4.6 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
1.3 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
1.4 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.5 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windtower Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windtower Lodge & Suites

Property: Windtower Lodge & Suites
Address: Wind Tower 100-160 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3E2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windtower Lodge & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Windtower Lodge & Suites Nestled in the Canadian Rockies, we are situated in Canmore, which is considered Canada's mountain playground. We offer a wide variety of adventure and leisure pursuits. The property boasts cedar, stone, and log construction. A picturesque view of the mountains can be experienced from the hotel rooms and suites. We are pleased to offer our guests the choice of staying in one of our room or suite accommodations. All accommodations are designed to provide exceptional value and optimal comfort, whether your stay is business or pleasure related. To make your stay with us that much better, we are happy to offer a variety of on-site amenities and services such as the Fitness Centre and Outdoor Whirlpool Hot Tub. It is our delight to introduce The Wandering Elk, a quaint cozy breakfast spot adjoining our main lobby. Dine with us each morning for a tasty assortment of hot and cold breakfast selections. The Wandering Elk is also open for lunch and dinner, and features a variety of fare to suit every palate! Enjoy our patio with a fabulous view of Three Sisters, Ha Ling Peak, and Rundle Range. Your Pet is Welcome Too!We wish to extend a warm welcome to you and your pet at the Windtower Lodge & Suites. As a "Pets Can Stay Certified" accommodation provider, we would like to outline our basic pet policies and services for your reference and to make your stay, and that of our other guests, comfortable and pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Windtower Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windtower Lodge And Suites
Windtower Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing