We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our little suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our little suite”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My girlfriend and I just spent a very nice weekend at this hotel. We had an online deal which turned out to be great value. Our little suite was ideal for a couple. It had a full kitchen, which we like for making our own breakfast. But we chose the full hot buffet breakfast provided on our first morning and kept going back daily. The suite also had a washer and dryer which is terrific when you travel.

Personally didn't like he pillows, but you may. They were too thick for our preference. Other than that, we were extremely comfortable there. We would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: Get the suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtogotomexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    187
    123
    76
    54
See reviews for
94
288
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A 10 minute walk to the centre of town and away from the main roads this is well located hotel offers well equipped suites. Ours included a bedroom with large king bed, lounge, clothes washer and dryer and well equipped kitchen but it was oh so hot and stuffy, even with windows open and overnight outside temperatures down to zero. Unfortunately the heating was sub-floor and so even turning the thermostat to its lowest setting, the ambient heat of the room (and hotel in general) meant that it really didn't cool much at all. If you like a warm room when sleeping then ignore this but for us who are used to sleeping in an unheated bedroom, it made sleep very uncomfortable. Even the restaurant was hot!
Notwithstanding all of the above, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the service in the restaurant excellent and the rates quite reasonable. The Windtower is not technically a hotel but as well as having a number of privately owned suites, offers all of the facilities of a traditional hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have great mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

A pretty good hotel, but I'd be cautious of staying here in winter. The shower took ages (like 15 minutes) to get decently hot, and the in-room heating resulted in two bathroom tiles being warm.

The walls are quite thin so I could hear people in the next room talking pretty clearly. The bed was fine, it had a mattress topper of some kind on it so it was reasonably soft. The hot tub was out on the lawn between buildings, didn't look very inviting.

We ate at the restaurant and it was OK, the wings were very good but my chicken curry arrived without any chicken (though it was a nice vegie curry I guess). When I pointed out the lack of chicken they removed some of the cost from the bill. The free breakfast was actually pretty good, the pancakes and bacon being the highlights.

I wouldn't stay here expecting a resort experience, but for a night on the way to somewhere else it's just fine.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SashaN1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Beautiful decor:
The entire hotel has a feel of elegance and style meeting with nature. The room was cozy but stylish. Aaand our suite had a Keurig, not the usual, bitter instant coffee packets.

Breakfast:
One of the best parts of the stay was the hot breakfast buffet. There was the usual assortment of continental items. But they also had serving trays of eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browned potatoes, and crepes with a selection of toppings.

Staff was warm and helpful:
Having never been there before, we booked just a standard room. When we arrived, the front desk agent noticed our two year old and offered a complimentary upgrade to a suite, saying that it would be squishy in a standard room with a playpen. She was incredibly helpful and friendly!

Room Tip: If you are staying longer than a night, be sure to book a suite! The suites have full kitchens, inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillybean238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on thanksgiving weekend. Our room was large, bright, and comfortable. We bought a coupon for our stay and it was well worth it. The service was just fine, although we didn't ever have to ask for anything other than a few extra towels. We stayed in room 226. It was a corner room and had plenty of natural light. I have stayed at a number of other places in the area and this one was by far the best value.
The breakfast was amazing, although Monday morning they were a little slow to keep things stocked. It was however a holiday and only one girl was running the whole area.
We will be purchasing more coupons and staying here again before the deal expires!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OceanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights in September. Had no hot water from the taps the whole of the stay. Complained twice and was told it was because our room was "far away", I think by that comment the young man meant we were at the end of the line, however we were there 2 days and it never reached us! Things missing in the room, insufficient drapes so people could look into our room from the street which was annoying as we were on street level, one bedside light and mirror in lounge area was so dirty we could write in the dirt. The service at breakfast was poor,no crokery or glass ware on the last day - had to drink out of paper cups which for a three star establishment I consider very poor. Will we be back - definitely no!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canmore hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

A friend and I chose Windtower because it was the best deal we could find for when we wanted to stay in Canmore. We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful front desk clerk. Told us all about the breakfast included (which we didn't end up having) and how to get to our room. The room was small but we were fine with that since the price was so low and we only needed the room one night to sleep. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. Check out was very easy. I'd stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImAtTheBeach27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.2 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
4.6 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
1.3 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
1.4 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.5 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windtower Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windtower Lodge & Suites

Property: Windtower Lodge & Suites
Address: Wind Tower 100-160 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3E2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windtower Lodge & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Windtower Lodge & Suites Nestled in the Canadian Rockies, we are situated in Canmore, which is considered Canada's mountain playground. We offer a wide variety of adventure and leisure pursuits. The property boasts cedar, stone, and log construction. A picturesque view of the mountains can be experienced from the hotel rooms and suites. We are pleased to offer our guests the choice of staying in one of our room or suite accommodations. All accommodations are designed to provide exceptional value and optimal comfort, whether your stay is business or pleasure related. To make your stay with us that much better, we are happy to offer a variety of on-site amenities and services such as the Fitness Centre and Outdoor Whirlpool Hot Tub. It is our delight to introduce The Wandering Elk, a quaint cozy breakfast spot adjoining our main lobby. Dine with us each morning for a tasty assortment of hot and cold breakfast selections. The Wandering Elk is also open for lunch and dinner, and features a variety of fare to suit every palate! Enjoy our patio with a fabulous view of Three Sisters, Ha Ling Peak, and Rundle Range. Your Pet is Welcome Too!We wish to extend a warm welcome to you and your pet at the Windtower Lodge & Suites. As a "Pets Can Stay Certified" accommodation provider, we would like to outline our basic pet policies and services for your reference and to make your stay, and that of our other guests, comfortable and pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windtower Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windtower Lodge And Suites
Windtower Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing