We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel for Quick Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for Quick Overnight Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We visited the Windtower Lodge after purchasing the Livingsocial deal online. For the amount that we actually paid for the lodgings and food, it was a great deal!

The rooms are in general on the small side, but you have everything that you need, and it did not feel overly cramped. I liked the location and the free appy was an added bonus of the deal.

I would say overall the only thing that I wasn't happy with was the breakfast in the morning. The only thing to choose from was bacon, eggs and hasbrowns which you could tell had not been replenished since the time they opened in the morning. I like to be able to eat fruit, yogurt or a muffin instead of having only heavy breakfast options.

The price was right though, and if the same chance came up again I would go back to the Windtower.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mshep87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    184
    122
    75
    53
See reviews for
93
283
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BKK
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The room itself is well designed and clean. However, the lobby, walkway and elevators are dated and needs some renovation. Reception is fast and straight forward but no smile from receptionist at all. Breakfast choices are enough. Bottom line, there are much better choices out there in Canmore which is loaded with hotels anyway. Tips: drive to the city center, but instead of going straight, turning right, there is a save-on-food which you can find a variety of foodies and groceries in this town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ToddBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
I appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed your expectations moving forward. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you visit the area so we may better demonstrate the quality stay you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

To be honest, I was actually quite happy with the hotel overall, until I have to deal with their Guest and Owner Relations Coordinator who is also on tripadvisor answering customer's concerns.

We arrived Canmore on Good Friday, April 18th. Windtower has a very nice underground parking. Although the spots are a bit tight, there were tons of parking spaces and we never had any trouble finding parking spots. The lobby was very spacious, and the customer service reps were very friendly, even though it was extremely busy due to the long weekend rush. Our rooms were supposed to be ready by 16:00, but we weren't able to enter our room until 16:30 because the cleaners were backed up.

As soon as we entered our suite, we did a brief walk-through to look at the kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. The suite was very spacious, with a dining table, sleeping bed, TV, fireplace...etc. As my wife was checking out the bathroom, the top decorative panel above the drawers broke, and the entire panel fell off and struck her on her toe. She was in a lot of pain, but she felt better after we put some ice over it and was able to slow down the swelling. Most of our activities were canceled that weekend, as she was having a lot of trouble walking or even putting her shoes on. We took the panel to the front desk and decided to write an email to Windtower when we returned home to bring up our concerns with their maintenance and safety inside their suites.

On April 24th, 5 days after we've returned home from Canmore, the Guest and Owner Relations Coordinator send us a survey with regards to the service we received at Windtower. After completing the survey, we decided to send an email back to Brittany to bring up our concerns. Nowhere in this email have we EVER asked for any type of refunds or accommodations as we did not intend to return to Canmore within a short period of time. We brought up our concerns in the email in regards to the broken panel incident and a few other very minor issues regarding our stay.

5 days later on April 29th, Brittany replied to our email, but instead of showing any remorse or apologizing for what had happened, she blamed my wife for breaking the panel, pushing all the responsibilities to the insurance claims, and stress that they are not willing to give us a refund or any other types of accommodation, even though we have never requested any. Some of the ridiculous comments includes:

"The issue of major concern is the allegation that after your wife had pulled off a decorative panel from the bathroom cabinet and then dropped it on her toes."

"This is a most serious allegation which necessitates a serious response."

We replied that very same day, to let Brittany know how unacceptable and upset we were with her response. All along, we just wanted to bring up the concerns that we had, and a simple "sorry", or "we would ensure this never happens again" was all we wanted to hear back. 16 days have passed, and I doubt Windtower had any plans to respond to our email. After heading to the doctor after returning home and going through X-rays, my wife has been diagnosed with a cracked toe, and she is still under treatment with her clinic as it will take time to heal up.

To be totally fair, the other staffs were very polite. The restaurant staffs were very professional, even though it was extremely busy due to the Easter rush. We have been to Canmore a couple of times, and we usually stay at Fire Mountain lodge which is just down the road from Windtower, and we decided to stay with Windtower this time because of a Groupon coupon we received as a gift.

These are obviously accidents that would not occur all the time, but we find the type of response and customer service unacceptable from their back office. We are extremely upset, and we will never recommend Windtower to any of our families or friends, and I believe the 1/5 rating is very accurate and acceptable to go along with what we had to go through and the type of service we have received.

Room Tip: The rooms were very warm, but the complex was very quite, so it was okay to leave the windows open f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank PandaSung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canmore hotels

Airdrie, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have stayed at the Windtower Lodge and Suites several times over the course of this past ski season and have enjoyed each stay thoroughly! The rooms are clean and cozy, the staff are extremely kind and courteous and the 'continental' breakfast, which is included, is actually a full breakfast of scrambled eggs, bacon, hashbrowns etc... We would stay here again and again and would strongly recommend this hotel as a place to stay when visiting the beautiful Canmore/Banff area.
I would also like to add to how hospitable the staff at the Windtower are by saying that we had a booking through livingescapes for Saturday May 10th and something came up last minute which made it impossible for us to make it to Canmore. We phoned the hotel at 10am that same day and the lady who answered the phone was MORE than accommodating and understanding and even allowed us to rebook for the following weekend free of charge. These are the things that make for a wonderful hotel experience!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karlie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
I am so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us! I will pass these comments along to our team as I know they will put a smile on everyone's faces! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swiss
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

A great place to stay to enjoy the National park of banff. It's charming, clean and quiet. A nicer alternative to large chain hotels. The staff were the most hospitable we have ever encountered at a hotel. there is underground Parking available too

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ananth68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate it very much! I will be sure to share your lovely comments with our staff! We hope to accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here with a loving social deal. The deal was great. We had an evening drink and the breakfast buffet at The Wandering Elk. Service was great. The dining area is not overly large so in the morning you may have to wait for a table. The buffet breakfast has your staple items along with bacon, sausage and scrambled eggs.
Hope to see this deal again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Small but clean/ modern room. Free awesome breakfast. Great location. Hot tub is small but clean and with a mountain view. The chicken wings at the restaurant are delicious... Next time we'll just fill up on those alone! Can't beat it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1212121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such great feedback! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.2 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
4.6 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
1.3 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
0.5 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windtower Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windtower Lodge & Suites

Property: Windtower Lodge & Suites
Address: Wind Tower 100-160 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3E2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windtower Lodge & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Windtower Lodge & Suites Nestled in the Canadian Rockies, we are situated in Canmore, which is considered Canada's mountain playground. We offer a wide variety of adventure and leisure pursuits. The property boasts cedar, stone, and log construction. A picturesque view of the mountains can be experienced from the hotel rooms and suites. We are pleased to offer our guests the choice of staying in one of our room or suite accommodations. All accommodations are designed to provide exceptional value and optimal comfort, whether your stay is business or pleasure related. To make your stay with us that much better, we are happy to offer a variety of on-site amenities and services such as the Fitness Centre and Outdoor Whirlpool Hot Tub. It is our delight to introduce The Wandering Elk, a quaint cozy breakfast spot adjoining our main lobby. Dine with us each morning for a tasty assortment of hot and cold breakfast selections. The Wandering Elk is also open for lunch and dinner, and features a variety of fare to suit every palate! Enjoy our patio with a fabulous view of Three Sisters, Ha Ling Peak, and Rundle Range. Your Pet is Welcome Too!We wish to extend a warm welcome to you and your pet at the Windtower Lodge & Suites. As a "Pets Can Stay Certified" accommodation provider, we would like to outline our basic pet policies and services for your reference and to make your stay, and that of our other guests, comfortable and pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windtower Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windtower Lodge And Suites
Windtower Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing