We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windtower Lodge & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Windtower Lodge & suites is a nice property, the suite rooms are perfect for a getaway equiped with all the comforts of home. Its within Walking distance to downtown Canmore and entertainment. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ffantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your great experience with the TripAdvisor community. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    183
    119
    72
    51
See reviews for
91
277
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Windtower is a quaint hotel in the heart of a skiing community. The staff was outgoing and friendly. The rooms were a tad smaller then American hotels, but were roomy enough to be comfortable. It had all the needed indemnities but the best part was the breakfast. It was in the dinner room, had a buffet style hot breakfast with a wait staff to care for your every need. Best part it was included in the stay. I was recommend it to a friend.

Room Tip: Since there is no air conditioning, I'd recommend a 2nd floor room away from the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

While the location was fairly good, that was about it.
There was no air conditioning in our room and all the 2 fans did was move the hot air from one corner to another.
Our room backed onto the highway, so it was almost impossible to fall asleep.
Although, even if it was quiet enough to sleep, the pillows would have prevented any possible rest.
I'm sure that I could have slept on a pillow case full of concrete and it would have been more comfortable.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow. And airconditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieGirl555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
I am sorry to learn of your recent experience. I would like to discuss this with your further and encourage you to contact me directly at admin@windtower.ca.

I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canmore hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. The location is very nice, yet not noisy. Both times we stayed at the suite with the kitchen which are very nice and roomy. Unfortunately the knife set we had in the room was beyond dull - we could not cut through an apple, let alone some carrots or trying to peel potatoes. We tried calling front desk at 8pm, no answer, called 3 times between 8 and 9pm. The kitchen appliances are nice but please check the cutlery and knifes if you're planning on preparing a dinner.
Included breakfast is great, we always left full and satisfied. The breakfast rush is a little crazy, so get out there early. Includes heated underground parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fly_Everywhere21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide some detailed feedback from your most recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are so glad you had an enjoyable experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was delicious. The hot tub closes at 10, which we found a bit early. The room was very small and there is no air conditioning, so I think in the summer months the rooms could get very warm. Overall I'd stay here again, but probably not in July or August.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Staysie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

There were so many things wrong with this place.

1. The bed is the worst I have ever slept on, anywhere in the world. The pillows are way too tall so unless your neck is 3 feet long, you have to sleep with no pillow. The mattress has the softest topping that your body has no support. I couldn't sleep in this bed.

2. There are no vents in room 207. Although the thermostat was moved to 10 degrees when we walked in, the room temperature was 30 degrees. After searching for a way to turn on the AC, we finally called front desk and they said the AC was broken and that there is no vent in our room anyway!

3. Front desk is absolutely useless. They gave another couple keys to our room 1 hour after we checked in. We were in the kitchen area and surprise!!! We had unexpected guests.

There are only 2 front desk workers during prime check in time. The front desk supervisor wouldn't engage any customers and was actually running around like a chicken with her head cut off, using front desk computers and preventing the 2nd front desk person from checking guests in.

4. Don't be fooled with the pic of the hot tub. It is tiny.

5. Our carpet had several white stains all over it. When I called front desk and said that the carpet needs to be cleaned, the response was, "don't worry about it."

Find another place to stay. I have traveled all over Europe and North America, and this is the 2nd worst hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canadatraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
I sincerely apologize for your experience with our service staff, we are very concerned and find it unacceptable with the way you were treated during your stay, as well as the breakdown of communication etiquette by our staff regarding the carpet and AC issues. Please know that we take your criticisms seriously and that the necessary departments will be spoken with. If you would like to discuss these issues further please feel free to contact me directly at admin@windtower.ca.

I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The location is good in Canmore and the outside looks nice. The price seemed great for a room and free breakfast but we did not sleep at all. We booked online and the pictures of the rooms look large with desk and seating but when we got to our room it was as big as our walk in closet. The pictures were deceiving. Their is AC in the hallway but the rooms have a fan that makes a lot of noise and no AC. The free wifi was not working in our room and all we could hear all night was the cars driving on the highway behind the hotel. The breakfast was the best part of the stay. I would pay a little extra and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Call the hotel before booking and ask about AC,breakfast, parking etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear you were disappointment during your stay. May I please request that you contact me directly at admin@windtower.ca to discuss this further?
I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.3 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
1.1 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
1.3 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.2 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windtower Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windtower Lodge & Suites

Property: Windtower Lodge & Suites
Address: Wind Tower 100-160 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3E2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windtower Lodge & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Windtower Lodge & Suites Nestled in the Canadian Rockies, we are situated in Canmore, which is considered Canada's mountain playground. We offer a wide variety of adventure and leisure pursuits. The property boasts cedar, stone, and log construction. A picturesque view of the mountains can be experienced from the hotel rooms and suites. We are pleased to offer our guests the choice of staying in one of our room or suite accommodations. All accommodations are designed to provide exceptional value and optimal comfort, whether your stay is business or pleasure related. To make your stay with us that much better, we are happy to offer a variety of on-site amenities and services such as the Fitness Centre and Outdoor Whirlpool Hot Tub. It is our delight to introduce The Wandering Elk, a quaint cozy breakfast spot adjoining our main lobby. Dine with us each morning for a tasty assortment of hot and cold breakfast selections. The Wandering Elk is also open for lunch and dinner, and features a variety of fare to suit every palate! Enjoy our patio with a fabulous view of Three Sisters, Ha Ling Peak, and Rundle Range. Your Pet is Welcome Too!We wish to extend a warm welcome to you and your pet at the Windtower Lodge & Suites. As a "Pets Can Stay Certified" accommodation provider, we would like to outline our basic pet policies and services for your reference and to make your stay, and that of our other guests, comfortable and pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Windtower Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windtower Lodge And Suites
Windtower Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing