We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Cons than Pros”
Review of Mountain View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain View Inn
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Pros:
- Location

Cons:
- They make you pay a $100 deposit PER room key which they don't tell you until you check in. If you want 2 keys, it's a $200 deposit
- There is a 2 inch gap at the bottom of the door so you can hear EVERYTHING that happens in the hallway, kids running up and down the halls, people coming in at 1 am, whatever passes by you can hear it. Also, because of that gap, the room doesn't get dark. We had to put a rolled up towel on the floor to muffle the sound and block the light.
- No fridge in the room, or on the premises at all. We had a few things we needed to keep cool, and normally we found if there's no fridge/freezer in the room, there is at least one somewhere on the premises where we are able to store it. There was nothing.
- No microwave in room or anywhere in the hotel. It's understandable to not want people to cook in the room, but at least make something available to people in the lobby or a common area - especially since there is no breakfast offered.
- No breakfast.
- Absolutely NO electrical outlets in the room. Literally there was only one and that was in the bathroom for an electric razer.
- Small little TV from the 1990s
- Nothing to put your luggage on in the room, we had to keep our suitcases on the floor. No tables or luggage racks
- We were on the 2nd floor and there was no elevator. It's unpleasant to carry a heavy cooler and 2 suitcases up 2 flights of stairs and then down a long hallway.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny:)620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

I am driving behind my daughter as she is cycling for mental health awareness and suicide prevention from Vancouver to Hamilton. When we arrived at this hotel, I noticed a sign posted on the door that bikes are not allowed in the building. We explained the situation and said that she cannot afford to leave her bikes outside (1 being her main bike to do the charity ride and the other her late father's bike) Under no circumstances whatsoever would they allow us to carry the bikes to our room and claimed to have no storage. The receptionist, a young Australian lady was delightful as she tried unsuccessfully to find us another hotel. Everything else is awful from the noise in the hotel and from the street, the $100 per key room deposit, to the lack of fridge, to the lack of compassion.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was a very basic, affordable hotel which was good enough for a one/ two night stay. The things that bothered me the most were that there was no coffee machine/ coffee in the room and no refrigerator. We spent one night there on the way to Jasper National Park, and one night coming back. It was very hot the first night, and our AC was not working in the room. Since the hotel was totally booked we could not move into another room. The lady at the reception gave us 25% off the cost and supplied us with a table top fan.
If you're looking for low-cost in an expensive town, the Mountain View hotel is not bad. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank stxoneway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here two nights while exploring the Canmore/Banff area. The price was reasonable and the location is very good. The hotel itself is, as many reviewers have said, pretty basic. Our room was clean, and reasonably comfortable. The rooms are not large but ok for a couple of nights stay. There is no fridge or microwave in the room. The beds were on the firm side but we slept ok so can't really complain.There is no maid service but we were only there two nights so no big deal. There is free wifi which worked fine. The desk staff were friendly and helpful. If you're looking for luxury stay elsewhere, but if you just need a bed for a night or two then this is as good a place as any.

Room Tip: We had as second floor room near the end of the hall. Probably a good idea since sounds carry into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pottert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

1. The hallway and the room smell like food.
2. Damp carpet.
3. Dirty bed with uneven bed sheet.

4. Bad customer service! And rude!!!
5. The broken bed lamp.
6. The sticky table in the room.

Even for $99, it wasn't worth your money to stay in this kind of place. I didn't expect luxury, but dirty room is unacceptable!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

quite literally in this case. The online reviews of this hotel vary wildly, and I can understand that, as they are likely based on expectations. The price, which is uncharacteristically low for Canmore, should give you some clues; this is not the Waldorf-Astoria. The rooms are budget style (but clean), two queen beds, with basic furnishings, and no fridge, but there was an iron and ironing board, which is appropriate, because there is a lot of "self-serve" to this place. As I said, you get what you pay for.
There is no maid service during your stay, unless you pay for it. Towels can be exchanged for new ones at the front desk. If you want the beds made, it's a $10 fee. Light housekeeping is $20 per instance. A full housekeeping, including new bed linens is $50. However, if you want to do it yourself, it's free. They will provide you with everything you need, including a vacuum cleaner, if you so choose. They do reset the rooms between guests.
If you are looking for a place to stay in Canmore on a budget, or don't plan on doing much in your hotel room other than sleep (which, given the location is often the case), this place is fine. If you're expecting to spend a lot of time in your plush suite, or to be waited on hand and foot, this is not the place for you.
The staff was friendly and accommodating, and the only real piece of advice I could give to the hotel would be to be a bit more up front with how things go here. I would guess that there would be just as many potential customers that would find this style appealing and attractive (given the rates), as would be put off by it. This would likely avoid some of the negative reviews, as people would know what to expect. Given that you can stay here for half the price (or better) than any of the hotels nearby, take this place with a grain of salt. It's an average budget motel, at a discount price, in a world class destination.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HungryInTheHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is one the cheapest hotels in Canmore. So it is evident that you don't expect luxury; and we didn't!

But I have had stayed in places which were around the same price, but much better. I feel that being a budget place, doesn't mean you need to have rude staff and dirty beds.

This place mainly put me off because of the staff behaviour. There was a penalty for everything, and we had to sign in blood to agree to that.

Positives: The room had a microwave and Fridge, which greatly helped us. Wifi was just there to help us browse the local attractions.

My advice to the hotel: Cut down the so called unwanted luxuries like TV and coffee machines in the room. Stick to the basics of keeping the rooms/bathrooms clean and hiring better staff.

Note to follow travellers: Please check before you book this place. Their cancelation policy is not that great. 72hrs notice, which I believe is unreasonable.

This is the cheapest accommodation that you can get in Canmore. The alternatives are the Hostel, if you are a solo traveler. If you are just looking for a place to crash in the night, this would be it. If you want hospitality, just shell out a couple of bucks extra and look for a better hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gokul_bangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#15 of 28 in Canmore
1,000 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.2 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#20 of 28 in Canmore
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
0.1 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Address: 100 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range: £43 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mountain View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Canmore
Mountain View Inn Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing