We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Canmore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This was our second stay at the Pocatera Inn and once again, we were very satisfied. Our room was clean, spacious, with fireplace, comfy bed and pillows (lots of them)! We loved having a balcony. My suggestion would be to request a room that overlooks the front of the hotel. We noticed a lot more traffic noise this time as our room overlooked the parking lot at the back, although there was a nice view. Our grandson's hockey team also stayed here and this is a kid friendly hotel. Awesome pool area. We liked the large hot tub! Friendly and helpful staff!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Grammy929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Pocaterra Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

858 - 864 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed one day and night here on our way home to BC. Room was very comfortable with a fireplace in the corner of room. Great view of the 3 Sisters outside our window. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Only complaint is the swimming pool. Would be nice if they had an adult only swim time where adults only can enjoy some quiet time in the pool. Instead, this hotel had a waterside in the pool and close to 10 pm ( pool closing time) kids were STILL screaming, and I mean screaming, the whole time in the pool. Needless to say, after several trips down to pool to see if all was quiet enough,it was not. No peaceful swim that evening for us.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank km100503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Beautiful view from room and super comfy beds with wonderful pillows. My granddaughter enjoyed the waterslide and the hot tub was also nice. Continental breakfast was ok - would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We didn't have a hotel booked for the night but we ran into a bit of snow and all the hotels in Calgary were booked so we were on our way in the dark snow filled mountians. When we came upon the town of Canmore and the Best Western it was a sight to behold. The room was so comfortible and there was a nice cozy fireplace waiting for us to turn it on in the corner of the room. We noticed a pool off the lobby and a waterslide but didn't have time to use it. The staff were all very nice and the room was very clean. The view the next was awesome!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jengr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Good value, comfortable with nicely decorated room with fireplace. However, it’s not a "Plus" for some of the following reasons: poor breakfast, terrible coffee, only one elevator, old style TV and inadequate room service (for some reason they couldn’t make the bed correctly; either used wrong sheets on Queen bed or had them sideways, (my feet were never on the sheets)).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Great value for money! Includes breakfast. Although eggs are somewhat cold, you can toast them! Room are a good size and very comfy. Easy 20 minute drive to Banff. Saw Dall sheep on drive south of the town. Town is quite new and has all the amenities. Lovely view of mountains from either side of the hotel.

Room Tip: We got the CAA discount. Didn't need to use the elevators.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadameH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Pocaterra Inn in April 2012 over the Good Friday long weekend. I chose the hotel due to the waterslide pool, and its proximity to restaurants like Wendy's Tim Hortons and McDonalds on Mountain Avenue.

BW Pocaterra did not disappoint! Upon checking in, we were given a warm welcome by the guy at the Front Desk who was from Australia. Our room turned out to be a surprise as it was larger than a lot of other comparable hotels that I've stayed. It even had a fireplace and a large table for us to play games on. The view was fantastic and better than from most hotel rooms in Banff!

The kids son enjoyed the pool and the hot tub. The adults enjoyed the free hot chocolate and freshly baked cookies! After the pool, we found the games room, which had 2 big screen tvs, sofas, a ping pong table and a foosball table. There was also a gym but we didn't use it.

The breakfast buffet with hot and cold items was ok - not the best nor the worst I've had. What was nice about it though, was that it was available until 11am.

Overall a good choice for families in Canmore.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SqTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.6 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
1.5 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 28 in Canmore
982 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pocaterra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pocaterra Inn

Address: 1725 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Canmore
#9 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: £69 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pocaterra Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the towering peaks of the Canadian Rockies, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is your ideal lodging choice while visiting Canmore Alberta. From the warm welcome in our lobby to our spacious guest rooms, you are sure to experience superior service while staying with us.Our hotel features tastefully decorated guest rooms with a multitude of amenities including stunning views of the surrounding Rocky Mountains, fireplaces, free high-speed wireless internet, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, and LCD TV’s. Guests can enjoy our daily complimentary hot continental breakfast and access to our business centre, fitness facility, games room and meeting rooms. In addition, our hotel features a whirlpool, steam room, sauna and indoor swimming pool with a large waterslide perfect for the whole family to enjoy.Just minutes away from Banff National Park the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is a great place to explore the Canadian Rockies, natural hot springs, lakes, glaciers, canyons, and ski resorts. When visiting Canmore Alberta, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn will make your stay feel just like home, but better. Our relaxing atmosphere, tastefully appointed rooms and friendly hospitality are the perfect complement to your visit to the Canadian Rockies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Pocaterra Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pocaterra Hotel Canmore
Best Western Canmore
Canmore Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing