We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restful Night in Canmore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Restful Night in Canmore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

This hotel was pretty great. Located just a five minute drive from the downtown of Canmore, and only 25 minutes outside of Banff (and the price difference HUGE), we were really happy with our weekend stay here.

The hotel is laid out that the first three floors accomodate families, while the fourth floor is adults only. We stayed on the adults-only floor in a very quiet room that included a gas fireplace, king sized bed and jetted tub. After a rainy day in Banff I appreciated all three amenities!

This hotel also has a pool which was well maintained (if a few degrees cooler than I would have liked) a swirly slide (which my husband tried and loved, said it was "good and fast") and a hot tub, sauna, weight room. There were a number of kids using the pool early in the night, but when we hit it around 9pm it was quiet and we weren't disturbed.

The breakfast in the morning was a great deal, too. It was a hot continental breakfast and much better than some I have seen recently. It included all of the standards from eggs and sausage to waffles and french toast, to yogurt and museli.

Overall we were impressed with the cleanliness, quiet, and convenience to everything.

Room Tip: The adults-only floor is super quiet. We slept like logs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cartripkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    335
    70
    21
    15
See reviews for
363
343
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

The staff is very attentive to all the needs of all the guests without missing a beat. Spectacular. Marina and her counterpart (sorry I missed her name) were on shift at the same time on the 23rd. The assisted me with printing out paperwork and taking extra time to make sure I was registered on Best Westerns Accounts and helped with my Siberian Husky. They treated us like family. Very relaxing and comfortable. Please accept my sincere thanks ;) Everyone deserves a great big Thank you. The building was clean and very well laid out and the swimming facilities including the hotub very relaxing. Also had parking for my truck and car trailer. Perfect stop. Will recommend to everyone going through Canmore. Restraunts and gas station next door for easy departure with gas and food it could not be better.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomcorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chemainus, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Just a lovely place. Decor was warm and inviting. Room was beautiful with a large bathroom. The staff were eager to help in any way offering extra makeup remover towelettes for my wife. The breakfast was fantastic. A great location with views every way you look. Canmore very nice too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with the excellent performance of all the staff of the Pocaterra Inn. They really out did themselves to make our stay extremely pleasant.
The hot breakfast consisted of eggs, bacon, sausages, french toast,pancakes, bagels, danishes, fruit, yogurt, cereals and various teas, juices and of course coffee.
Really what else could you possibly ask for. Oh yes, ice tea in the afternoon with homemade cookies.
Our room was very clean and beautiful with marvellous mountain views.

All in all we would definitely stay here again and we miss the pleasant(ries) of all your staff. Congratulations on a job well done!!!!

Room Tip: I am sure every room in this hotel has a perfect view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorquayOasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Great hotel, reception was friendly and helpful.
Very easy to find and lovely view of mountains from both sides of hotel. Our room had a sofabed, coffee table and fireplace. Kitchenette area (sink, fridge and microwave) were wonderful as we were keeping bottles in there for our youngest.
Waterslide and pool area were great, and we were the only ones there on a Thurs afternoon. There is also a hot tub for the grown-ups.
Breakfast was ok, selection of pastries, cereals and limited fruit. Eggs and sausages were on the dry side, and coffee was weak. It was still good enough to get us all going for a day of hiking.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abartolescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
284 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

This is an excellent hotel, friendly reception, near to highway 1 and easy to find. Has a lift and good parking. I cannot comment on the rooms in general as I had a suite. If you can run to it great value, lounge, bedroom both with fireplaces, Large bathroom with seperate shower and additional toilet. Large balcony with stunning views. I feel all rooms will be of a very good standard. Many have small balconies. There is a large pool complex with a waterslide, gym, sauna, jacussi. However if there are children staying they will monopolise the pool with the waterslide, although the large jacussi can be a refuge! The only reasons I have not given this hotel an excellent rating is the absense of an onsite restaurant, and a poor (albeit inclusuive ) buffet breakfast with particularly poor hot food. Better to go to the family restaurant next door and pay. There are a good choise of restaurants in the town I would recommend Vic's Steakhouse in the Marriot for fine dining.

Room Tip: Get a room on the front with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leduc, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Pocatera Inn and once again, we were very satisfied. Our room was clean, spacious, with fireplace, comfy bed and pillows (lots of them)! We loved having a balcony. My suggestion would be to request a room that overlooks the front of the hotel. We noticed a lot more traffic noise this time as our room overlooked the parking lot at the back, although there was a nice view. Our grandson's hockey team also stayed here and this is a kid friendly hotel. Awesome pool area. We liked the large hot tub! Friendly and helpful staff!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Grammy929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.6 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 29 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
6.0 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.3 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.9 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
Address: 1725 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Canmore
#9 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the towering peaks of the Canadian Rockies, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is your ideal lodging choice while visiting Canmore Alberta. From the warm welcome in our lobby to our spacious guest rooms, you are sure to experience superior service while staying with us.Our hotel features tastefully decorated guest rooms with a multitude of amenities including stunning views of the surrounding Rocky Mountains, fireplaces, free high-speed wireless internet, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, and LCD TV’s. Guests can enjoy our daily complimentary hot continental breakfast and access to our business centre, fitness facility, games room and meeting rooms. In addition, our hotel features a whirlpool, steam room, sauna and indoor swimming pool with a large waterslide perfect for the whole family to enjoy.Just minutes away from Banff National Park the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is a great place to explore the Canadian Rockies, natural hot springs, lakes, glaciers, canyons, and ski resorts. When visiting Canmore Alberta, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn will make your stay feel just like home, but better. Our relaxing atmosphere, tastefully appointed rooms and friendly hospitality are the perfect complement to your visit to the Canadian Rockies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pocaterra Hotel Canmore
Best Western Canmore
Canmore Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing