We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for Rockies touring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This is a nice clean hotel in a location that is convenient to Banff National park.
We stayed for 4 nights in July. The rooms were nicely decorated. The staff was extraordinarily helpful. We had a small balcony with a view of the surrounding mountains.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoohFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

907 - 913 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed here two nights on an extended road trip with two little kids.

Nice clean room, expanded continental breakfast, decent location. Kids loved the pool and waterside. Located just outside Banff National Park, it is just a short drive into the park. Also a short drive into the "downtown" area of Canmore where the restaraunts and shops are. Nice, helpful staff who were able to give tips about the area.

Was surprised by some of the fees on the bill. Of course the hotel can't do anything about government taxes, but undisclosed marketing fees (aka additional profit). We were in a hurry so I didn't complain about them, but was disappointed by what was otherwise a nice property.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We went down to Canmore just for the weekend to do some White water Rafting and caving. Left booking the hotel a little late and wound up in a Deluxe King Suite, which was a little more expensive then I was looking for, but the room was gorgeous. Huge ensuite bathroom with jacuzzi tub and a small balcony at the back of the hotel overlooking the mountains.Oh, and did I mention the fireplace and old fashioned high backed armchairs? Which would be so perfect for the winter. Super quiet, even though the hotel was full. AC unit was quiet as well. Breakfast in the morning was so-so, not too much choice, just your standard cereals, pancakes, eggs, sausage and toasts. The iced tea & cookies in the lobby during he afternoon were great though! Never had a chance to check out the pool, but it was usually full of families with kids.
If you're looking for things to do in Canmore, definately check out the Canadian Rockies Rafting Adventure Centre and the full day rafting trip. They bus you out to Golden, BC and let you have a go at the Kicking Horse River twice. Ask for Matt as your guide if you want to have the most fun out of any boat on the river, he's awesome.
Something a little closer to Canmore to check out would be Canmore Caverns Ltd. IF you're not claustrophobic. They don't call some of those passages "Squeezes" for nothing.

Room Tip: If you're travelling with kids, as for a room on the first floor, they're the closest to the...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank JPaczek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We went for a 3 night getaway and stayed on the fourth floor and had a fantastic room. It had a small balcony with a huge view. A spacious ensuite modern TV and decor. This hotel is spotless and probably the best value of any hotel I have ever stayed. The front desk people were friendly and helpful. The only mediocre thing would be the breakfast. You can count on the toast and sausage, but the eggs and French toast are like some sort of manufactured army surplus food that should only be served to prisoners. There is a Tim hortons just a stones throw away that you can get breakfast for about six bucks. I would definitely go back here and recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: 4th floor if you don't have kids with you, we had 412, nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This is a great place to stay a few days in the Canadian Rockies. The rooms a very comfortable. They have a pool complete with slide and hot tub. In the afternoon they have complimentary iced tea and cookies. The hotel is along the main road into town and about a 20 minute walk outside the central part of Canmore.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank rjuricich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Rooms are clean and reasonably equiped. Staff are allways helpfull. Pool keeps the kids occupied. Parking can be a bit tight. Free breakfast is more than just toast an bagel - there's bacon, sausage etc - a good spread for an inclusive breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Super nice hotel, super clean, quiet, awesome breakfast in the morning (hot - pancakes, eggs, sausage, breads, yogurt, fruit, etc)

Only real downside was they closed the pool for maintenance on the monday morning of the long weekend with the hotel full of families. there were a lot of disappointed kids - ours included.
What kind of manager would do that?

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PocaterraInn, General Manager at Best Western Pocaterra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you for your response, and I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast. As far as your pool concerns go, unfortunatley we had to close the pool for safety reasons. There was an incident earflier in the day that made us feel uneasy about having young children swimming in our pool. The water was made cloudy due to baby oil spilling into the water. We felt like it was in everyones best interest to keep everyone safe, and in this case, that meant closing down the pool for the day.
Our apologies that this incident disrupted your trip, we hope that you will join us again another time, and the pool will be ready for you and your kids enjoyment..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.5 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
1.6 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 28 in Canmore
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#12 of 28 in Canmore
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pocaterra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pocaterra Inn

Address: 1725 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Canmore
#9 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: £62 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pocaterra Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the towering peaks of the Canadian Rockies, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is your ideal lodging choice while visiting Canmore Alberta. From the warm welcome in our lobby to our spacious guest rooms, you are sure to experience superior service while staying with us.Our hotel features tastefully decorated guest rooms with a multitude of amenities including stunning views of the surrounding Rocky Mountains, fireplaces, free high-speed wireless internet, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, and LCD TV’s. Guests can enjoy our daily complimentary hot continental breakfast and access to our business centre, fitness facility, games room and meeting rooms. In addition, our hotel features a whirlpool, steam room, sauna and indoor swimming pool with a large waterslide perfect for the whole family to enjoy.Just minutes away from Banff National Park the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is a great place to explore the Canadian Rockies, natural hot springs, lakes, glaciers, canyons, and ski resorts. When visiting Canmore Alberta, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn will make your stay feel just like home, but better. Our relaxing atmosphere, tastefully appointed rooms and friendly hospitality are the perfect complement to your visit to the Canadian Rockies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Pocaterra Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pocaterra Hotel Canmore
Best Western Canmore
Canmore Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing